We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful warm place to stay at SA, Mrs. Pam the owner is a fantastic person..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Save
You added Amanzi Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 234 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Merida, Mexico
1 review
“a wonderful warm place to stay at SA, Mrs. Pam the owner is a fantastic person..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

I just stayed there 4 the World Cup, the location is great, the cottages are outstanding, each and every request were inmediatly satisfied by Mrs. Pam (the owner) and the kindness of her, make AMANZI the best option 2 stay down at SA..

i highly recomend this Guest House!..

MIGUEL TENREIRO (Mérida, MÉXICO).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for your warm words and I so enjoyed having the Mexicans stay at Amanzi! What a pity
that Mexico did not make the semi finals! Best wishes to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
13
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I am an expat who travels in and out of Johannesburg quite often and have stayed in many hotels and guesthouses throughout the area. This is by far the best one I have found and it is recognized as such by many expats. The service, amnesties and rooms are impeccable. Pam, the owner, is kind, friendly and knowledgeable about the area as well as places and events to catch while in Johannesburg. The location itself is a few minutes from Sandton and right next to Hyde Park mall. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Your review of Amanzi Guest House is so appreciated as an expat who travels fairly regularly to Johannesburg. Look forward to welcoming you back! Warmly from Amanzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Amanzi Guest House and its staff are making the extra effort to make sure your stay is just nothing short of perfect. That service starts even before you are there! Thinking ahead and being flexible with checkin times and late arrivals. Pam; the owner is really doing everything in her power to make your stay as comfortable as possible! The rest of her staff are also very friendly and it shows that they enjoy their jobs.

The cottage we stayed in is equiped with everything you can think of, fully equiped kitchen, even heating; which was (unortunately) quite welcome in the evenings as it was a bit cold. The bathroom is also very nice with separate shower and bath and the two bedrooms (of which we only used one) are roomy and have very good beds! A big plus!

Location can be described in one word: Paradise! After you come through the gate it all looks very nice, lots of trees, flowers and plants, privacy for everyone and a nice swimmingpool in the garden. It is conveniently close to Rosebank and Sandton which are both not more than 10-15 minutes away by car.

The breakfast which is included is very nice and the place has Wireless internet connection everywhere which is a big plus so you still get to check emails and look up places to go in Johannesburg.

What we liked best was the whole 'feeling at home' experience that Pam and her staff have given us, definately a big YES to anyone considering a stay in a guest house instead of one of those fancy hotels in Sandton. You get a lot more personal attention and privacy for less money!

What we didn't like?? That we had to go home again!

Next time in Johannesburg will be with Pam for sure!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for your warm and comprehensive review on Amanzi Guest House - your compliments on our service are encouraging, as you are so right, we do try our very best to give our guests a home from home experience with added spoiling touches. Thanks for adding the photos, which I think are very helpful for fellow travellers. Look forward to your next visit! Warmly from us all at Amanzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I booked a 7 night stay at Amanzi, which I eagerly extended to 12 a few days after I arrived. The guesthouse has apartments decorated in an urban chic, and stone cottages in what I would call a sophisticated country style. The apartments are an open plan with kitchenette, dining table for 2, a desk, seating area (2 wingback chairs) with widescreen TV, and a very comfortable queen size bed. There was a well-designed spacious shower in my bath, but no tub. Water is solar heated, so no service delivery issues for hot showers!

For my extension, I moved to a cottage. While it had much more to offer (actual rooms, full kitchen, larger dining area and separate bedroom), I missed the "loft" feel of the apartments as a single traveler. The apartments also had better cross ventilations since they have windows on all sides, but the cottage was still wonderfully comfortable.

The neighboring guest and I discussed that we had some of the deepest sleep ever at Amanzi - partly due to high altitude, to be sure - but also due to the comfort of the place.

The grounds are like a mini-park or natural garden. The breakfast patio looks onto a wooded section with a gurgling stream. The back of the property has a decent sized pool and lawn for relaxing. Plenty of parking. Birds galore.

Breakfast included healthy bread products, a delicious spread of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice, and muesli. If desired, an English breakfast could be quickly prepared to order. Indeed, the kitchen seems to be the heart of Pam's morning, and guests are just as quick to enter through her open kitchen door and chat as go around to the main entry for a more "posh" experience.

The neighborhood felt very comfortable. Hyde Park Mall with a great book store, coffee shops, cinema, and many eateries is a strenuous (high altitude, remember?) but convenient 10 minute walk. Good news, it's down hill on the way back. There is a good neighborhood grocery (Spar) in walking distance as well as a deli that prepares wonderful meals to go that just need heating. Since each unit has full cooking facilities, these were great to purchase and easy to prepare.

There are several neighborhood restaurants and pubs that the locals dine at, as well as a Steers at a corner shopping center.

It is impossible to separate Amanzi from the personality of its owner/operator Pam K. Pam is very energetic, welcoming, and became the standard of South African hospitality to me as the first person I met after coming from the US. She takes a sincere interest in each guest and is a good source of information for the art and culture scene. She knows many gallery owners, and works with women artists in a township, so has a diverse range of experience to draw from. It is clear that the property is shaped by her artistic eye. Pam's staff also reflect her professionalism, reliability, and helpfulness.

Pam did go on vacation for the last few nights of my stay, but had friends come in and oversee the operation in her absence. They were every bit as helpful and friendly, and nothing missed a beat.

I look forward to returning for another part of my trip, and can highly recommend Amanzi.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review of not only Amanzi Guest House and what we offer, but your experience of the area. I am sure your comments will be encouraging to other travellers who may have heard so much bad press about Johannesburg. Warm regards from Amanzi Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

I stayed at the Amanzi for a 3 month period, and enjoyed every moment. It is very reasonable, the location is perfect (near Sandton, Melrose, Hyde Park and Rosebank), the rooms are lovely and the breakfast's make weight gain compulsory. Best of all is Pam, the owner, whose personal touches and loving nature truly makes people from home for home. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Pam's guest house makes for a better home away from home than home. For a start, there's Pam - who leaves you feeling at home without that all too often intrusive an effort to do so.

And the rooms. Which are open and spacious, bright but cool, and each in its own right original, comfortable. Plainly, thoughtfully decorated without being excessively so. Thoroughly well-equipped and totally functional.

I haven't come across anything remotely as good in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in December 2009 when we were in Johannesburg for a mix of business and pleasure. We chose Amanzi for it's great location and contemporary looking style and it was just as good if not better than the pictures showed. Set in a beautiful garden where the bird life makes you think you are in the bush not in suburbia this guest house was perfect for us. We stayed in one of the apartments which had a comfortable bed, a cosy couch, table and chairs a kitchenette and nice little balcony. Much larger than your standard hotel room and much more comfortable at a great price. The free wifi internet connection worked perfectly in the room and shops, restaurants, theatres and bars are a short walk or drive away. Pamela, the owner was an excellent host who helped us with everything we needed to know and even dropped us off and picked us up from a nearby restaurant one evening. We highly recommend Amanzi guest house.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast/Guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Internet access, Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden.Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy,restaurant, - Minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanzi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.