We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Save
You added Amanzi Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Clervaux
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Most wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at Amanzi Guesthouse for over a week. And it was not my first time. Simply because it's the best Guesthouse I have ever seen. Pam is amazing! The staff is very friendly, it is very clean and the cottages and/or appartements are wonderful! The garden and pool just invites you to use them, and during nice warm summer evenings you can sit outside and enjoy. I will go back in November and will definitly go back to Amanzi's Guesthouse (again) cause it's like going home!!!
Thanx Pam and staff, for making my trips to Jo'burg so special!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review - and you know that we also feel that Amanzi is your South African home! You are always welcome here! Look forward to sharing a glass of wine and a braaivleis (barbeque!) with you again in November. Warm regards from Pam and her friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
13
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at Amanzi for just over a week and as a return visitor I am still surprised to see that Pam and her staff continuously work hard to make every stay even more perfect than the last one.

Everything is well maintained and very clean. It feels like coming home whenever I am in Joburg. What I really love about the place is that even though there are several guests staying you still have lots of privacy and space.

I would highly recommend Amanzi Guest House to everyone who stays in Joburg for a few days (or longer)!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Your comments are so appreciated and you are always so welcome in your South African home!
It is really encouraging that you recognize that we value our guests comfort and work hard as a team to keep improving facilities.
Warm wishes from Pam and her team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Amanzi for two weeks, over the Christmas period with our two grandchildren. We had a lovely two bedroom cottage at the bottom of the garden, which was just perfect for us.

Pam and her staff were so welcoming and helpful, it was so refreshing to find accomodation with this sort of service at such a reasonable price.

Being from the UK, this was our first experience of having Christmas in a warmer climate. Pam made sure we and the other guests, had a lovely Christmas breakfast together and New Years Eve invited us along with her to a friends house so we were not alone.

We cannot speak highly enough about our stay at Amanzi, perfect place to stay we certainly will return whenever we get the chance.

Many thanks, for helping to make our stay in Johannesburg such a happy and memorable one.

Jo, Mike, Courts and Kanye

Room Tip: Amanzi has various types to suit most needs, plus one and two bed cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you so much Jo, Mike and family for your glowing report. We loved having you stay at Amanzi and look forward to a return visit. Warmly from Pam and the Amanzi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in Amanzi the week before Christmas 2011. Homely and clean accommodation and friendly hospitality. Good value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Hi Mark D
Thank you for your positive remarks and comments on the location - so glad you felt that you were in a "luxury garden cottage" - have also had comments that people feel they are in a tree house when they look out of their windows straight into the trees from upstairs! Best wishes to you and your wife from Pam and the team at Amanzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

i stayed here with my wife. the place is in an excellent location, close to all the restaurants and shopping centres. The facilities were excellent, clean and new. It's very private and set in lovely gardens, you wake up to a orchestra of bird songs every day.

Pam who runs the place is an excellent host and ensure anything you need is provided, otherwise she leaves you in peace, this is like having your own luxury garden cottage in the heart of johannesburg.

I've stayed at many places in Johannesburg and can confidently say this offers the best value for money and lovely experience, second to none.

Room Tip: large garden cottage is idea for small families otherwise the studio room my wife and i shared was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing compliments about my guest house, the staff and the decor.
My staff and i are really concerned about our guests comfort and so we are delighted you enjoyed the stay with us, and look forward to a return visit! warm wishes from Pam and her staff at Amanzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarst, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Amanzi for 5 weeks and really enjoyed the apartment, the neighbourhood, the hospitality. The apartment has been tidy and clean all the time, the team is perfectly nice and supportive. I would stay at the Amanzi again - no doubt!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
We at Amanzi also enjoyed your 5 week stay with us! So delighted you too (as well as a few other guests relocating to SA) have chosen to live in the area and wishing you all the best for 2012! Pam and the team at Amanzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

If you are looking for a charming, quiet, quality guest house in Johannesburg, Amanzi is it. The garden is pleasantly natural with trees and shrubs, the rooms/apartments large, well-lit and clean, the staff and owner friendly and gracious. The breakfast is very good--fresh fruit, fresh juice, excellent bread, good yogurt, nicely done eggs, tasty tomato and a few other choices. I found the place peaceful and relaxing. You need a car to access it and the internet goes out at times but I understand that is a common problem in South Africa. On the whole, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw were very good. The rooms have a kitchenette.The guest house also has cottages a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments on Amanzi - and that you found it peaceful, quiet and relaxing - many people are surprised at these words to describe Johannesburg! And thank you for your breakfast remarks - I really try to provide healthy fresh delicious fruit and food!
Hope to see you back at Amanzi this year! Sincerely Pam and the team at Amanzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast/Guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Internet access, Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden.Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy,restaurant, - Minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanzi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.