We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright but location lets it down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Accoustix Backpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Accoustix Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Accoustix Backpackers Hostel
Accoustix Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Accoustix Backpackers Hostel
477 Jan Smuts Avenue, Johannesburg 2194, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Alright but location lets it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout stay and the hostel itself is generally clean, free access to internet (via computer). Stayed in double room which was nice and even though on front of property was not noisy. The only let down with this place is the location, not in terms of safety (we wandered around the local area and never felt unsafe) but in terms of things to do. Most attractions are in the South side and the taxi costs a fair chunk to get down their if you haven't got your own car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

First things first- they seem to be ONLY concerned with collecting the money upon your arrival, and then you should go fend for yourself. Ok- you want to get really tight on budget when you select a backpackers place- but then at least give the amenities that are included- the breakfast is over and is insufficient (when you know 25 people are staying there)- you can't even provide basic breads and milk to 25 people!!
Next- the premises are hardly cleaned. The intrenet wasn't working when we went- and anything you asked the guy at the "help" desk- he would guide you to the nearest place where to get it for a charge.
1 advantage- this place is bang on a main avenue, so getting transport is easy. However there is a scramble for everything here- provided it's available!
So, avoid if you can, the backbackers hostei I visited in Capetown was so much better and hence reinforced my belief that the backpackers are bad when you make them bad!!

Room Tip: Try and take the rooms, rather than the dorms- his place is quiter only then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

After reading some reviews I regretted booking my stay here but decided to go ahead having read horrible reviews of places before and finding the place perfectly alright. However all previous reviews were correct, this place is horrible.

Stayed here for three nights and dreaded going back to the hostel every night. Staff were unhelpful, the area did not feel safe, the rooms were freezing. There was no heating in the rooms and I was staying during winter where it got to around 2-4 degrees at night. The windows provided no insulation and I ended up sleeping in the bedding provided, my sleeping bag and additional layers. The room was also dirty and upon packing I found a cockroach under my bed, in ways I was thankful I found this upon leaving but the thought of what else I could of been sleeping with was not comforting. There was nowhere close to eat at night and so had to order in a take away pizza, not what you want to be doing when you want to experience the true South Africa.

I have nothing good to say about this place, I felt unsafe, it was dirty and with unelpful staff. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

It was a great place to stay for my last 2 days in South Africa. Beautiful place with very friendly people

Room Tip: They must ask for Room G
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed in a private room during World Cup.

Booking: The staff was nearly impossible to reach by email and sent me answers to other people's questions. They made us prepay by wire transfer as they don't accept credit card but couldn't confirm the booking despite 5+ emails.

Staff: The reasons for the booking problems became clear as the staff is virtually unhelpful in person too. We asked for a taxi, they directed us to their in-house shuttle, we asked for a taxi again and the staff said "...if you dont use our shuttle, we dont know the number for any taxis"

Rooms: Dirty and small even by hostel standards

Area: Nothing within walking distance. Nothing within short taxi ride. You will spend a lot of money on cabs if you stay here ie $50 USD each way

Positives: we changed our reservation and left early for safari. They refunded 50% despite a policy saying "no refunds"

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The area surrounding the hostel is not very safe at night and there is no where to eat nearby. If you don't have a car make sure you stock up on food before it goes dark. There is a petrol station across the road with a limited range (crisps, water etc.). The airport pick up was quoted as R100 on the hostel's web site but they wanted a shocking R250 per person one way (the room cost less than this for 2).

The hostel was noisy but this was probably due to the world cup being on and the hostel being very full. The area around the pool was nice and they had a fire pit to sit round and chat. If your coming in the winter make sure you have something warm to sleep in as we were freezing. Finally, the internet was very expensive and we did not see any internet cafes around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

worst backpackers ive stayed in. dirty beds, noisy, long term people living there, not safe, on a busy road with nothing around it, not safe to walk around at night, get stared and shouted at during the day in surounding area, blood all over toliet seat, only one toliet with a seat. showers have glass doors so everyone can see you naked.

not a nice place for the first night in SA

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Accoustix Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accoustix Backpackers Hostel

Address: 477 Jan Smuts Avenue, Johannesburg 2194, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 66 Specialty lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accoustix Lodge is the best Budget International Accommodation in Johannesburg. We are comfortable, clean and safe, and offer a Tour Booking and Information Centre. We are situated centrally between Rosebank, Sandton & Randburg and walking distance from the Healing School. We have linen, Internet, backpacker and hostel facilities & shuttle services. We offer small and large group, short and long term solutions. We are on Bus & Baz Bus Route, near Mini Bus & Taxi Rank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Accoustix Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accoustix Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.