We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well-priced hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premiere Classe Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Premiere Classe Suites to your Saves list
Premiere Classe Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Corlett Drive | Melrose North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offers
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, well-priced hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After a long-haul flight from New Zealand, I wanted a cheap but secure hotel to stay in to relax in before my bus to Botswana the next day. This hotel had great reviews on tripadvisor and so I decided to stay here. They were able to organise an airport transfer for me and staff were incredibly friendly when I arrived. My room was very clean and spacious; I had requested a one bedroom apartment but was given a two bedroom apartment with two ensuite bathrooms for no extra cost! The location was perfect, only 5 mins walk from Melrose Arch and was able to safely walk there alone to get dinner. Beds were really comfortable, staff were friendly and knowledgeable and overall this place was a real find considering how cheap it was. No real amentities as such but down the road there was a gym. I only wish I could have stayed longer! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premeire_Classe, General Manager at Premiere Classe Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We at Premiere Classe appreciate this great review, as many travellers rely on Trip Advisor for honest and up to date reviews for when they are making their decision of where to stay. We sincerely hope you will visit us if you return to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
16
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, which is perfect for when one is new to Johannesburg. The receptionists are super friendly and are always willing to lend a helping hand. The only improvement that can be made is the carpets in the corridors as well as the bedrooms. As a person who suffers from allergies, it does tend to make them act up. Overall a good, value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premeire_Classe, General Manager at Premiere Classe Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to let you know that we are in the final phase of our refurbishments and the carpets will be replaced on Monday 10th June, so please pop in and see
the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great Staff. Affordable accommodation that is well worth the money considering its centrally located position with easy access to Sandton and the M1. And also easy route through to the airport. Would reccommend anyone looking to stay for business in Northern Suburbs of Johanneburg

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had an excellent experience making the booking, very quick responses to our email queries (many queries being our first visit to South Africa).
Our airport pick up was organised though it would be nice to have a more professional taxi service sub contracted by the hotel.
We were warmly welcomed, given the privilege of an early check in at no extra cost. It was a really cold day and would have been nice to have a welcome hot cup of tea/ coffee during check in.
The apartment was nice, we enjoyed the kitchen and living room space. We were three ladies and competed for the single couch in the living room. It was however very nice to socialise in the evenings.
The bedrooms were nice and clean, warm because of the carpets and excellent modern heating system.
The bathrooms may require a bit of work - not enough ventilation and the bedroom became a bit stuffy after anyone had a shower.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone. The staff at the reception were very kind and helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical Barnsley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good place to stay, the receptionist was incredibly helpful and could not do enough for us. The location was excellent for where we wanted to be (and the Wanderers!). Value for money was good, parking was secure, only problem was workman starting work at 7am... but that should be finished by now. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The guy at the reception is good. Generally, its cool but there can be more improvement, especially in the customer service section. Will recommend more DSTV channels and a fitness center. The price is okay so I would like to stay much more times in there. I can heartfully recommend this hotel to any visitor to Jo'burg

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premeire_Classe, Manager at Premiere Classe Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Dele,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We have a pre- selected TV channel bouquet, which we like to think covers a broad section of viewership. We are within walking distance of 2 popular fitness centres, and can arrange temporary membership should you so wish. please contact reception staff on your return and the will be happy to oblige.

Regards
Belinda
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I just stayed for a week at Premiere Classe Suite Hotel.
The Pros:
-Location (easy to find, close to a lot of amenities)
-Nice to have a kitchen (no stove) to cook
-Cheaper than most other places in the area
-Staff was incredibly nice!

The Cons:
-Right on a busy road and could not sleep because of traffic noise
-Although this place in non-smoking people were smoking over my entire stay which made our room smell awful
-NOTHING fancy, hallways are drab and out-dated, carpets are dirty, pillows were terrible, tv got very limited channels

I would recommend this place if you don't want anything fancy, you just need a place to sleep and eat. If you are looking for a relaxing get-a-way this is NOT the place for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room as far away from the main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premeire_Classe, Manager at Premiere Classe Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, as I am sure you were aware we are in the process of renovating our Hotel.

The apartment that you stayed in during your stay, is one of the newly renovated ones, we do supply a 2 plate hob, and a microwave, we have done away with the oven as we are striving to reduce our carbon footprint.

The carpets will replaced at the end of the renovations, as I am sure you will appreciate we cannot replace them whilst we are still busy renovating.

Unfortunately traffic noise is not something we can change, although I firmly believe that being so VERY centrally located outweighs the small amount of traffic noise.

I hope you will give Premiere Classe another try on your return to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premiere Classe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Suites

Address: 62 Corlett Drive | Melrose North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premiere Classe Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and two bedroom furnished self catering apartments, serviced daily, MNET TV and 10 DSTV channels, free wireless internet, telephone, reception area, covered parking. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton Gautrain Stations and shopping malls.With easy access to the M1 motorway which leads to various areas in and around Johanneburg. Walking distance to Melrose Arch Mall and The Wanderers Cricket Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premiere Classe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premiere Classe Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.