We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gecko Ridge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gecko Ridge Guest House
Save
You added Gecko Ridge Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Rex Avenue | Bassonia, Johannesburg 2061, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
somerset uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This review is long overdue but I still wanted to write it. We had one night in Gecko Ridge Lodge on our way to Kruger. We wanted to pack a good days sightseeing in as well as a good nights sleep. We were not disappointed. We turned up very early from our overnight flight and Sandy welcomed us into the Lodge with hot beverages and a warm welcome. We said we wanted to go sightseeing and she arranged a local driver and taxi to take us around the sights dropping us off at the Apartheid museum late afternoon. When we came out Sandy was waiting to take us back to the lodge. Good local steakhouse just down the road at the local shopping centre. Excellent breakfast, very comfortable room and an extremely hospitable host. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

You can rest assured you are secure and will be taken extraordinary care of by Sandy. Sandy went above and beyond any expectations--making reservations and driving us to restaurants (she recommended--which were excellent by the way!) each evening and picking us up when we were finished. She helped us set up our driver for the four days we got to spend at Gecko Ridge; and she provided a folder with write ups on many places to see and things to do. She even made tee times for us to golf and took us to the course. Sandy fixed wonderful breakfasts for us at times convenient for our day plans. She was always available if we had concerns (helped us with our converter/adapter plugs) or questions of any kind; but she was never intrusive. A superb hostess and charming place to stay amidst wonderful gardens in a delightful safe and secure setting. I would recommend Gecko Ridge highly; and if ever I get a chance to go to Joberg again, I would return to this cozy little home away from home!

Room Tip: The cottage...it is a little house all by itself...just a stroll down a garden path!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We started our trip being picked up at the airport by Craig who is frequently hired by Sandy at Gecko Ridge to collect her guests. We had arranged everything for our stay with Sandy well before we arrived, including a very nice home cooked dinner with wine upon our arrival. The place is excellent, we stayed in one of the private cabins that had a nice deck with views above the city. The grounds are beautiful with a pool and gardens. Sandy is more than willing to organize transportation and any trips. We did a guided tour around Soweto that was awesome. Sandy also drove us down the hill and into town for an excellent meal and came to pick us up when we were done. Sandy is very knowledgeable and helpful and assisted us get organized to the BazBus. We stayed here at the start and then came back at the end of our trip. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Only got to spend a very short night at Gecko Ridge, but we were extremely impressed. Will definitely go back if the opportunity presents itself!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Gecko Ridge was a real gem of a find for my partner and I as we traveled to SA this year for the World Cup. Aside from being in a quiet and easily accessible place in Jo'burg, Sandy's (the owner) service was superb... and we were quite a handful as guests! She came out of her way to help us in difficult situations and we will forever remember her warmth, kindness, willfulness and resourcefulness! She has a unique touch which makes guests feel at home. I really never felt like this was a paid guest house.... just felt like I was staying at a friend's! Also great amenities nearby and breakfasts at Gecko are healthy and delicious. Overall, a wonderful stay and I will definitely go back the next time
I am in SA.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The place is amazing, the host is very welcoming and the view from the cottage is breathtaking. We had a wonderful stay,one of the best weekends we will ever have. It brought us closer than ever. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Gecko Ridge. Comfortable rooms and living space. Beautiful outdoor area that included a bar, grill and pool. Breakfast each day was included and was delicious. Sandy, the proprietor, provided us with transportation (both her services and taxi recommendations) during our time in Jo'Burg. She was knowledgeable about restaurants and what to do while in town. My husband and I traveled with another couple and felt at home here. Thank you, Sandy! It was a pleasure meeting you!

Sincerely,
The Bauers and The Bonners

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Lugano Guesthouse
Villa Lugano Guesthouse
#33 of 260 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#5 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
8.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Ridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Ridge Guest House

Address: 6 Rex Avenue | Bassonia, Johannesburg 2061, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gecko Ridge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko Ridge Guest House is nestled in the lush hills of the exclusive suburb of Bassonia, in Johannesburg. A welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city for both business or leisure traveler, with relaxed hospitality. Three stylish bedrooms in the main house and a gorgeous self-catering cottage make up the accommodation of this privately owned guesthouse. Easy access to major highways, Soweto, Gold Reef City, Soccer City and Ellis Park, cricket grounds, shopping malls, banks, restaurants, golf courses. Breakfast included. Tours and transport happily arranged. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gecko Ridge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.