We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Wanderers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Wanderers to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Wanderers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Have stayed at the Protea Wanderers on 3 occasions (1 night, 1 night, 3 nights). On all occasions found the rooms clean, staff very helpful, food and drink excellent.
I have stayed in both the standard and deluxe rooms and the only real difference is that the standard rooms are a little on the small size and the deluxe rooms are very large.
The food and drink in the restaurant and bars is very good, and the food / wine menus are extensive. Probably my one complaint would be that the breakfast is a bit over priced.
The complex feels very secure and at no time did I feel wary of Johannesburg’s crime reputation.
The pool area is nicely presented, but the pool doesn’t seem to get much sun and on two of the times that I stayed here was pretty cold to use.
The location is slightly out of the way and unless you are in town for the cricket (which is 300 yards away) you will need to use taxis or a hire car. But it is only 10 minutes or so in a car from Santon for shopping and nightlife.
We got a really good deal (GBP 40 for a twin room) per night and at that price the hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    111
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
49
29
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Provided you have the use of a car, and have business in the Northern suburbs of Johannesburg, this is the perfect location for a business trip. Close to the freeway, in a quiet area but close to several shopping centers and a few private gyms (there is none in the hotel). The room is large enough for one person with a week's clothing with a nice desk area for working. The beds are great and the rooms are clean enough. I've stayed here many times and have never had a bad bathroom, in fact they are one of the highlights. Showers with enough headroom for tall people and nice toiletries so you can lighten your luggage if you are happy with generic hotel lotions. Breakfast is fine but I usually go elsewhere for supper before coming back to the hotel. I would not stay here without a car or for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised, not knowing what ot expect in Johannesburg. This hotel was more than decent. Great location and the rooms were well appointed and the staff
friendly and effecient.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

You will not find a better hotel for the money. It's located between Sandton and Rosebank and is close to everything. The rooms are nice, the people too and they have a nice room service menu. I've stayed here twice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We booked the Protea Wanderers hotel as we were visiting Johannesburg to watch England take on South Africa at Cricket in he Wanderers stadium. This hotel is just up the hill from the ground, less than a 5 minute walk and the area is quite safe.

We checked in a little early, but no problems as a room was ready for us. Slightly slow to acknowledge I was wating to check-in, but once I'd managed to attract the attention of a receptionist things were fine.

The rooms themselves are modern and very clean, we had a Twin which was a good size, the bathroom was also bright, modern and clean.

The hotel has an outdoor pool which we didn't try as it poured down with rain for the 3 days we were there (Not good cricket weather!) and the car park is large and very secure.

I gave 4 stars for location, as we primarily wanted to be near to the cricket ground, but it's also a short drive to Sandton if you want to go shopping/eating there.

Recommended for Cricket fans, the only negative is that I'd like the reception staff to be a little more responsive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Protea Wanderers Hotel in September, 2009 and were very impressed with the staff, the service, the rooms and the meals.

All staff were very friendly, always smiling and helpful, and our room was beyond our expectations; extremely spacious with quality décor and furnishings.

We had our meals at the hotel and the food and menu choices were excellent. You can choose to have your meal in the main dining room or on the terrace by the pool, or if you prefer, you can choose from the light meals/snacks menu in the bar area.

We had 3 nights of luxury at a very reasonable price (AUD $118 per night which included a sumptuous buffet breakfast) booked through one of the online accommodation sites

The location, as the name implies is in the Wanderers area, secure in the grounds of the Wanderers Club and close to the cricket ground.

We were advised by the reception staff that it would be safe for us to take the 10-15 minute walk to the local shopping centre, but not to venture any further on foot. We were also told not to leave the grounds at night. This was fine by us as the hotel is very comfortable, in a lovely setting, and in the evening it was enjoyable to have a drink in the bar.

Use of the internet was very expensive (approx AUD $10 for 30 minutes), however we wanted to let family and friends know that we had arrived safely so we had no choice but to pay for it. Much to our disappointment, we found out several days later that our emails did not reach their destinations. It seems they were never sent.

Internet aside, we would highly recommend the Protea Wanderers Hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in the Johannesburg area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Actually, we did not stay at this hotel, but still would not advise anybody to book it.

We have booked a room in it via one of the internet sites at the beginning of August.

Although it was noticed in reservation conditions that the credit card number that we have provided for guarantee cannot be used by the hotel as mode of payment, the hotel has charged us immediately one-night stay.

Few days later our plans have changed and on Aug 7 we have canceled this reservation. According to the conditions stated in the reservation we could do it without any penalties till 18:00 10/08/09.

2 months have passed since that time but this famous one-night charge (which is more than 100 euro) still is not refunded. We know that web-site company has reminded several times about this situation to the hotel - no reaction.

We are travelling quite a lot and it is the first time that we have faced the hotel that does not respect reservation conditions.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Wanderers

Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our GUEST'S room every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Wanderers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.