We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service has slackened” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Wanderers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Wanderers to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Wanderers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Service has slackened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The levels of service that I've been accustomed to while staying in this hotel over the past 9 years has been great, apart from this particular stay. Somewhat disappointing. The check-in service was slow due to their not having the correct billing details, albeit that I'm a regular guest. The service at dinner was terrible, slow and an overall lack of interest from the waitress who served us. I've never experienced such poor service from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear GusBehn,

Thank you for taking the time to discuss your experience during your recent stay with us. And once again, please accept my sincere apologies.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong!
I assure you, your comments have been taken to heart and I am pleased that this experience has not deterred you from using our hotel again.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Wanderers in September!

Kind regards

Carolyn and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    112
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
20
50
29
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night at the end of a touring holiday of South Africa before flying back to the UK. The hotel is beautifully set in grounds with the bowling green and the Wanderers sports club on site. This is really interesting to stroll through as a sports fan and has some nice bars and restaurants including a lovely pizzeria.

The hotel itself is excellent with lovely, well furnished and comfortable rooms. The service is also excellent and the staff are friendly. Our tour manager managed to secure our rooms until 4 pm (we were on a 8.20 pm flight back to London) which made the last day so much more relaxing and easier. The hotel is famous for their apples and they are very tasty and you are given a complimentary one on a daily basis!

The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice. The service was also excellent here. I had room service which was tasty and promptly delivered for a good price.

The location of the hotel seemed safe and it was a short drive from Sandton. Would highly recommend for any business or leisure traveler staying in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

While this hotel has all the amenities that a business traveller can ask for, it is really nothing special. The service is mediocre and check in/check out was slow.

The rooms are compact but have everything that one could want including a window that can open which is nice. The bathroom looked like it needs a bit of a makeover but it is clean with a good shower and plenty of hot water.

The standout point for this hotel is the breakfast spread which was superb including a good selection of fresh fruit. The pastries are excellent.

The hotel is quite well situated in the Rosebank area and there are lots of restaurants close by and lots of parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear PeterGrobler,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I pleased to hear that you found our rooms well appointed.

The hotel is ideally located with Sandton, Rosebank and the Melrose Arch precinct only minutes away. The hotel offers complimentary parking to all of our GUESTS.

Our apologies for the slow check-in and check-out process, we will certainly look in to this.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast spread, especially the pastries!

We hope to have the pleasure in hosting you again!

Kind regards

Carolyn and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuja
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Was at Protea wanderers with three other colleagues between the 7th-17th July 2013. We made our booking online Nigeria. Unfortunately upon arrival early Sunday morning only two rooms were vacant for early check in. I therefore had to wait in the Lobby till around 12noon for other guests to check out. But the reception manager, Mbala was kind enough to provide some S/African delicacies (meat, fruits and sweets) in my room to make up for the inconveniences of my stay in the lobby. She was a great host through out our stay.
They have beautiful spacious rooms with comfortable chairs and desk. Of course I never missed their apple juice which I take every evening during my Iftar (Muslim breakfast during Ramadan) through out the days I fast there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear SharfAbuja,

What a great review! It pleases us to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

Our TEAM loves to engage with GUESTS and are motivated to provide the best GUEST service. I know Mabli will be thrilled when I share your comments with her.

It was great having you with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Carolyn and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I always stay here when on business in Jo'burg. Close to the Gautrain, to Sandton and Illovo restaurants- very convenient. The hotel is clean and modern- like the styling in the bedrooms; the clean lines and the unfussy interiors. The way the desk is situated makes working easier with a comfy office chair. Bathrooms have great glass cubicle showers and baths - no clinging plastic shower curtains. Breakfast is a good spread. Oh- and the juicy red apple in your room is a nice quirky touch!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Ziggidurbs,

WOW! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Your description of some of our unique selling points was summed up beautifully and you didn’t forget our apples!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘Johannesburg home’ soon!

Kind regards

Carolyn and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Booked the Protea Hotel Wanderers for a one day stop in Johannesburg. Our flight arrived at 530 am and we arrived at the hotel at 645 fully expecting to wait in the lobby until our tour picked us up at 9. Instead they allowed us to checkin super early. The rooms are amazing, with the comfiest beds I have slept in in a while. The area seems safe and the restaurant was amazing. Staff were super friendly aswell so it was a great experience. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Manda2053,

It was our privilege to host you at the Protea Hotel Wanderers and we love the ‘5 out of 5’ rating you gave us.
It is pleasing to hear that we were able to assist with an early check-in and that you had a good rest on our comfy beds.
Overall it is great to hear that our aim of providing the best GUEST service is being achieved and that your experience with us was enjoyed.

Until next time, wishing you safe travels!

Kind regards

Carolyn and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first stay. The Wanderers was close to Wits University where I was attending a conference. The room was well equipped and clean, although a little smaller than I expected. Free wifi was a plus. The restaurant served us an excellent dinner at a fair price. The moring breakfast options of cold or hot buffet got our day off to a good startA bonus was being so close to the Wanderers Club.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear EBRCantonNY,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

The hotel has a number of different room types, which vary in size. You mentioned that this was your first stay with us, perhaps on your next stay you should try one of our deluxe rooms. I believe that this will provide you with the space that you require.

The Food and Beverage TEAM will be delighted with your comments on dinner and the breakfast buffet, which is available daily.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Wanderers!

Kind regards

Carolyn and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Wanderers

Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our GUEST'S room every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Wanderers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.