We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel location, good service, but misses some service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1613, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel location, good service, but misses some service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here due to the airport location which is also conveniently located to the Gautrain. Restaurant service was very good and prices were reasonable. The rooms were clean. ONly downside is that they charge for internet so you have to constantly log in or separately buy internet service-not what you would expect/need for business. Also, my luggage was lost the first day and they charged for simple extras like a razor and toothbrush(again not expensive, but most places provide these s a service). Also, when asking directions they were not clear so I went to the nearby Intercontinental Hotel to find what I needed. Overall a good hotel at a reasonable price, but may consider other places next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    100
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
24
50
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed there for a night for a transfer and again in the round trip and its the best location for that. Nice friendly people and a nice clean room. Not noisy as expected in a airport. Great value for your money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were delayed for 2 days - 15 + 6 June - in Johannesburg Airport as a result of BA cancelling 2 flights back to London due to electrical problems on our aircraft.

As a result we had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at the City Lodge.

This review is more of a thank you to the staff who looked after us and made us so welcomed.

City Lodge is just a pedestrian bridge across from the Airport and the Hotel sits above a multi storey car park.

I have forgotten which room we stayed in but it looked back to the airport. The room had a comfy bed which was much appreciated after being herded around the airport for 4 hours by BA staff, a large flat screen TV and a well appointed bathroom. Strangely enough we had the same room following the second BA cancellation and it is if the Hotel knew that we would be back. I wonder who told them!

Breakfast was extensive with eggs cooked to order, hot and cold meats and cheeses, pastries as well as fruit juices. Just enough to set us up for more delays and frustrations provided by BA.

We ate lunch in the restaurant rather than at the fast food outlets in the airport. It was a tasty well priced and a much more relaxed affair and as a result very enjoyable.

We were allowed to stay in our rooms until 15.00 so we had somewhere to retreat to whilst waiting for the yet to be delayed flight home.

All in all this was a good place to be stranded at as it was close to the airport which could be reached on foot rather than the many other unlucky ones who ended being bussed from off airport locations.

Even if you are not stranded by BA this is a good and well located hotel for an overnight stop and if we come back to Jo'burg the City Lodge will be our first choice for an overnight stop.

Again many thanks for taking us in and looking after us so well. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It was our pleasure to be of assistance during a tricky time for you - hope to see you again in the not too distant future (but maybe without the flight delays!!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night at the beginning of August. It is great as a transit hotel as it located at the end of the airport terminal building. In fact it is about a 10 minute walk from the arrivals hall.

The room was large and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was ginormous. There is one very large restaurant here and the menu was very disappointing. That said the food was ok. Breakfast is buffet style and has everything that you could want for. Prices were a little higher than other hotels that we had stayed in.

Very functional and you can't really go wrong here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Last minute change of plan. Were able to walk through airport to hotel. Clean, comfortable accommodation. Chambermaids always most helpful and porters. Great breakfast. Good nights sleep before sorting out delayed trip next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your review - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ended up staying here for two nights thanks to BA cancelling our flight two nights in a row! Faced with a long line of disgruntled passengers at almost midnight the staff worked really quickly to sort out rooms and were extremely professional. The room was clean and spacious with good soundproofing. The breakfast buffet was fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your review - we are chuffed that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel isn't to be confused with the City Lodge at O.R. Tambo airport. The latter, because of it's closer proximity to the airport, is more expensive, but it may be worth paying the extra to avoid having to catch a shuttle.

In fact that would probably be my only gripe - the hotel charges for its shuttle (R62 pp one way). In fact, if there is more than one of you, it is cheaper to catch a taxi (R100-120, one way).

Other than that, the hotel is good. It was quiet, even though my room faced outwards. The design is standard for City Lodge Hotels, but the room is large, and there is both a shower and bath. Breakfasts are great - a real sumptious spread ( again standard across CLH).

The hotel doesn't have much more than a snack bar, so if you want to eat something more substantial, you'd have to use Mr Delivery. (This is perhaps another reason for staying at the O.R. Tambo venue, where you can eat in the airport.)

Reception staff were efficient and reasonably efficient, though they did slip up in not having recorded that prior to arrival I'd ordered a non-smoking room (wasn't a problem, as we were given ones), and they also neglected to request the taxi we'd ordered the next morning. Still, if you are looking for a quickie place near the airport, I'd give it a thumbs-up.

Room Tip: Apparently non-smoking are better, even if you are smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your review - we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1613, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.