We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home and at your office at the same time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of President Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added President Lodge to your Saves list
President Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 President Road | Eastleigh, Edenvale, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Feel at home and at your office at the same time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This lodge is very convenienty located for buisiness travel due to its proximity to the airport and to main transport network (keeping in mind that Johannesburg is a horizontal city and that distances are big). It is run in a very efficient and friendly manner.
I travelled there with a group of 11 Brazilians, who are among the most demanding travelers I know, especially as far as service is concerned, and they loved it. We found that Janet and Elaine, the co-owners were always available to help us organizing our trip and making our stay pleasant. We were made felt at home yet could benefit from the board room for our meetings. Dinner is also very tasty and reasonably priced. It is a good option, as long as you are ready to give 1 day's notice for it to be prepared. The only improvement we'd suggest is a free internet connection, and if this is not economically sustainable, at least one that is not limited in traffic and that is faster that the current one. Also, I believe that this would be a good option for a family holiday: rooms are big and comfortable, the place is very quiet and kids can play around in the pool (watch one for very small ones though, as it is not fenced off, and make sure you get a front yard room that is further away from it)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
42
9
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My significant other and I had to overnight in Jo'burg while waiting to fly out the next morning. The accommodations and hospitality were exactly what we wanted/needed. Unlike a hotel, the owner was waiting for us and welcomed us immediately. Within minutes of arriving, we were checked in and had been shown to our very comfortable and quiet room. No fuss. Room was well appointed and the setting overall was much more personal, quiet, and enjoyable than any hotel you could find near the airport. We had to fly out early the next morning, but the owner (Janette) got there early and made us a delightful and quick breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

we needed an overnight stop in Johannesburg close to the airport before flying on to Namibia. found on Trip advisor, the President Lodge filled the bill well.

we were collected in the morning from the airport by Janette herself and whisked safely to shady restful areas beside the pool to rest for the day. we were upgraded to the honeymoon suites with a large bed and bathroom. excellent home cooked supper and pudding ended a peaceful layover in style.

with two way transfer, hotel, meal and wine costing under £150 a far better experience than airport hotels

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

What a great find this turned out to be, good location close to the airport.
The rooms where spotlessly clean and the service was first class.
The breakfast was made to order and delicious with a good choice of things to eat.
The owner and her staff where a great help with noting been to much trouble.
I will definatly use them again on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Highly recommend President Lodge as a suitable retreat from the traffic and hustle of Joburg. Wonderful hospitality, and friendly service. We were collected from the airport and enjoyed our stay after the long flight from Australia. Spacious clean rooms and charming hosts. Very good value

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here one night with my 2 kids while en route to Cape Town. Great service and reliable airport pick up. Friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. My wife also stayed here a week later to join us and also had a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, BC
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at President Lodge for one night as we had a layover before catching a flight to Victoria Falls. Elaine and her husband met us at J'Burg airport, even though our flight was delayed and we arrived at 2 AM. Breakfast was excellent, and our stay all too short, before we were again off to the airport. The staff for all very friendly and helpul and we will certainly stay there again if we are back in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to President Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Lodge

Address: 9 President Road | Eastleigh, Edenvale, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
President Lodge is an up market guest house only 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. This modern lodge welcomes corporate clients, overseas guests and visitors seeking affordable luxury accommodation in a tranquil setting close to Johannesburg. We offer eight elegant en-suite rooms, each individually decorated with attention to detail and a personal touch. All rooms have private entrances, mini bars, air-conditioning, DSTV, Wi-Fi Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and safes. There is secure parking for all our guests.Full English or Continental breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room or in a more relaxed atmosphere around the pool. We also offer gourmet dinners on prior arrangement.President Lodge offers an executive air-conditioned conference room set up in a boardroom style. The Boardroom can accommodate groups of up to 10 delegates and is fully equipped with an electronic data projector, a screen and a white board or flip chart.The swimming pool and entertainment area create a tranquil atmosphere to relax after a long flight or a day at work.Our staff’s commitment to service excellence makes our establishment the perfect accommodation for business people who need to be close to the major business areas around Johannesburg and the airport, as well as for overseas and local travelers who would like to stay a little longer.Airport transfers and day trips are arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your President Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage President Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.