We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic or Family Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptunes Grotto

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Neptunes Grotto
North Rand Road | Boksburg, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Boksburg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Romantic or Family Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We took the family out to eat and tried Neptune's - a little wait as the restaurant was busy but once seated this seemed to move - the food received was outstanding - no regrets - a little pricey - but what you got you did not mind paying for - Lovely place for a family get together/birthday or just a romantic night out for two

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great atmosphere and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Had a great meal and even though it was hectic busy the service was great..super value for money...will definately go back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis ababa ethiopia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visit South Africa for holidays about every two years from our base in Addis.. Always start our stay in a Bnb in Benoni. On this year's holiday this was the only restaurant we visited twice !!
The food is great, prices good and the waitrons are very anxious to please especially as they are working on a tips only basis. Not the place to go if you want luxury seats and furniture but great [place for a meal and wine at a very good price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overdue Review - Outstanding! Seating can do with an "Up-grade" though...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This review has been a long time in coming so let’s get to it!

We’ve been to Neptune’s Grotto quite a few times and every-time, the service was consistently good, the food was great and the smiles were ever-present. I’ve just not really been blown away by this eatery – until last week, that is!

We ordered the following:
Trinchado (Steak Strips) Starter & Garlic Mushrooms to start.
For the main course, we ordered the Fettuccini Alfredo & the 300g Garlic and Mushroom Fillet.

Our waitron was George!

Comments:

The Garlic Mushrooms were piping hot and the sauce (almost a Marinara? Sauce) was utterly delicious with just the right amount of garlic! Downside? More mushrooms and sauce please?  The Trinchado steak was a little bland, (even for me) and could do with a touch more flavour. The gravy was a little on the watery side and the portion size could be improved upon but generally, it wasn’t too bad at all.

The Fettuccini Alfredo was very tasty and prepared in just the right way. As I consider myself to be a “somewhat fussy” Alfredo eater, this dish is superb! The balance of the ingredients was spot-on! (In my opinion, there has only been one other restaurant that has perfected this recipe but sadly, because of declining service levels, we have decided against giving them our patronage any longer.) To be honest, I haven’t even bothered to rate it on this site – it’s just not worth it anymore.

Anyhow, back to Neptune’s Grotto.

The 300g Fillet was done exactly to order – Medium Rare. The chips were great. The Garlic and Mushroom sauce was excellent with quite an overload of mushrooms! Keep it up – the secret to any good Mushroom Sauce is not to skimp on the mushrooms! Well done.

Our waitron’s name was George and he was a complete darling! Thank you George, for the superb service, the great smile and the accommodating attitude. George is truly an asset to Neptune’s!! Keep him at all costs!

********** But *********

One of the only downsides to this eatery is the seating – It’s just not comfortable and conducive to even think about “over-staying” one’s welcome. I understand that, as a restaurant owner, one would want to maximise the patron “Roll-in, Roll-out” but please do have a look at improving this type of seating arrangement? Although the seating is well padded, the benches are narrow and not too user friendly. There is simply no option for the patron to move closer to or away from the table when eating. The angle at which the back-rests are made, is also not optimal.

We look forward to some seating improvements as well as to the continued consumption of your dishes!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

liked the food however did not like the off center stairs leading to the top. But then again what can one do about such a building

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptunes Grotto also viewed

Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Neptunes Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptunes Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.