We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Impangele

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benoni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Impangele
8 The Drive | Westdene, Benoni 1501, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 Benoni B&B and Inns
roma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfull place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This B&B is simply wonderfull.
The room is perfect, spacious and very nice. All is over-cleanead, the owner is carefull and the breakfast very good.
The BB is located in a very safe area, behind a lake with many birds and just 15-minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGSA, Owner at Impangele, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Simostuta: Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, much appreciated. Hope you had a great time at Vic Falls, hope to see you again next time you travel to South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not only is this a wonderful place to stay, but nothing beats being met at the airport in JHB by a new friend! Walter is a wonderful host and provides helpful answers to all your questions. Our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the self service bar after dinner. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGSA, Owner at Impangele, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Maddon: So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the meals and your stay at Impangele, much appreciated. It is always great to get feedback from great guests such as yourselves! I hope to see you again during your next visit to Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We received a warm welcome from Walter, our host. This is the perfect place to stay after arriving at the Joburg airport or the night before flying out. The whole house is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Walter is so helpful and accommodating. This place is a real find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGSA, Owner at Impangele, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear SS1172: Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at IMPANGELE, thank you very much. Like you, I check out tripadvisor before I make any decisions on where to stay and feedback from fellow travellers is always so important. Hope to see you again when you return to South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After two action packed weeks chasing wildlife across South Africa, Impangele was the perfect place to unwind for a couple of days before flying home.

Walter and his staff could not do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Advice and recommendations on where to eat were freely given. Nothing was too much trouble.

Don't let a fear of dogs put you off. My partner is not a dog lover but became very fond of the six well behaved Ridgebacks that reside at Impangele. I would have taken them all home if I could.

The luxurious house is situated in a safe, gated community and is easy to find from the highway. We will definitely return on our next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGSA, Owner at Impangele, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at IMPANGELE, looking forward to seeing you here again soon! And yes, I am very happy that my little doggies behave, at least most of the time, haha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The recent 5-star reviews of this accommodation say it all. Walter is warm, welcoming and a perfect host - his home likewise an ideal place to unwind after a flight to, or transit through, Jo'burg. Nothing is too much trouble for Walter, who freely imparts his wealth of local knowledge, from restaurants, to the best butchers in town (!). Although this year's plans meant only an overnight stay, we now know exactly where to come to on our next trip. You definitely need two or more days to soak up the tranquility of the nearby Bird Sanctuary, or simply to marvel at the architectural excesses of the Benoni community. An absolutely brilliant B&B in a perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGSA, Owner at Impangele, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Vestysoffagain: Thank you so much for your review, happy to hear you enjoyed your short stay (plus the meat for the butcher, haha!). Yes, you are right, the bird sanctuary is a great place, over 235 bird varieties, and sightseeing in Johannesburg is quite interesting too. Hope to see you again next time you travel to South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent three nights at Impangele after a long flight from the uk. Although late at night we had a fairly straightforward drive and Walter kindly waited for our arrival. Our room was comfortable and well sized, with a great choice for breakfast. I enjoyed a few runs around the perimeter of the bird sanctuary measuring 1.5 miles, and again Walter kindly let us walk Pemba and Geza, who drew admiring glances and comments from the other dog walkers and pedestrians alike. The dogs were impeccably behaved, so no worries if you are not a dog person.

Walter helped us every day with our planning and restaurant recommendations, and we would have no hesitation in staying again in such a beattiful location without even looking elsewhere.

Thanks again Walter, we had a fantastic stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erbil, Iraq
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed at Impangele numerous times enroute from work in Nigeria to and from Australia. Enjoy Walter's hospitality in his beautiful home overlooking the Bird Park. Love his breakfasts, the dogs and the cosy little bar and terrace overlooking his garden. Walter is also a wealth of information on day trips and activities in Jo'burg. Just wish we could spend a restful week relaxing there.
Jan and Tony ( Aussies)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Impangele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele

Address: 8 The Drive | Westdene, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse 15 min from Johannesburg International airport. Quiet and safe environment next to a small lake, with over 200 bird varieties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Impangele Benoni, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impangele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Impangele to your Saves list