We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Outlook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Outlook Lodge to your Saves list
Outlook Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Ambleside | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Benoni B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed for one night in transit. The hotel (B&B) does not look anything like it's website. The price quoted was per person not per room (although not stated when booked), so it was very over priced for the quality of room and breakfast. My advice - stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    33
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
51
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed at Outlook Lodge for three nights in August while we travelled to Kruger on a safari (arranged through Outlook) and to Victoria Falls. The lodge is in a large house in an upscale gated neighborhhod in Benoni, on the airport side of J'Burg. The location is quiet and very convenient for getting into and out of town.

The rooms are decent and while we were there they were in the process of installing new carpeting. The only two complaints about the room itself was that the showerhead was on a hose and did not fit correctly into it's "holder" so you could not use it as a regular showerhead, and the sink faucet was very loose. Otherwise the room was nice. Quite a bit of sound does travel between rooms so light sleepers may have difficulty.

The staff was very available and willing to arrange anything needed, even rides to restaurants or calls for food delivery. Two problems did occur. Upon arrival to the airport no one was there to pick us up - the explanation was that another couple had arrived early and they thought our flight was late, although we found out later that the couple had been on our plane. We had also booked a safari, but somehow they had not actually scheduled it for us. They did work hard to make sure one was arranged that night, but it does make one question whether their level or organization matches their level of service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I had an overnight in Jo'burg before continuing onward, and was looking for lodging that was close to the airport (but not ON airport). Outlook Lodge was great - I was picked up at international arrivals by driver, we were able to stop at an ATM outside of the airport; they offered to get take-away food for me that evening (but I just went to bed).
Room was huge, comfy, and so welcoming! Had a separate bath and shower area that could've hosted a square dance; as well as a sitting room in addition to the big bed.
Breakfast the next morning was so tasty - I can't remember having a better breakfast of eggs, mushroom, tomato, and bacon, as well as yogurt and fresh meat/cheeses. They were very accommodating to all requests.
Free use of their internet for 15 mins; longer incurs a fee of R30 per 1/2 hr.
Francois and staff were wonderful - definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I picked this because it looked quaint and I needed a night to rest before catching my morning flight for my Safari. After 24 hours of flights, I was hopeful but a bit nervous. Upon arrival at the Lodge, I knew I made a perfect choice. The manicured beauty of the gardens, the home feel and the welcoming of Robert was a gift for a weary traveler. I was immediately welcomed and even though it was after his evening pick-up of local cuisine, he made sure I could order what I wanted. I learned they he provided a complimentary pick-up from the airport which would have been greatly appreciated as finding a cabbie at a rate I felt comfortable was awkward.

The rooms were perfect - each unique, clean and unpretentious. After a long soak in the deep tub, I had a great nights rest. Robert personally drove me to the small plane terminal and made sure I was checked in properly before departing. Here I learned that he is a wildlife expert and will lead a trip to Kruger if requested. I plan to return next year and he will be my guide. The grounds impeccable, the service amazing for small estate based inn. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

We debated staying at the Intercontinental at the airport or here...the 1st night we had to spend near the JNB airport we stayed at the Outlook...nice looking house from the exterior but the rooms are quite drab and the bathroom was very dated. We dealt with it given the hour and the early flight we had in the morning. The night before returning to the US, we stayed at the Intercontinental and loved it. As other posters have said, the IC is your only choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
590 helpful votes 590 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Outlook Lodge for a total of three nights in August ‘08 – two nights before our Kruger safari and one night afterwards. We recommend both the lodge and Outlook Safaris.

The lodge is an attractive remodeled mansion in an upscale neighborhood on the east side of Johannesburg, only about 10 minutes from the airport. Staff pickup at the airport is included in the price, though there was some misunderstanding about the hours that this service was provided (we weren’t told about any restrictions when we booked, but were informed it was only between 7 am and 7 pm when we transferred early on our departure – best to check if there is a possibility yours falls outside this range). This was quickly sorted out when we objected, however.

The lodge has just four rooms (several more are being added in an annex), so it is a very friendly and intimate place. Leanne, the lodge manager, was very helpful and efficient. For example, she drove us to an excellent Indonesian restaurant for dinner, and also back to the airport to retrieve our lost luggage when it arrived a day late.

I believe we had the “honeymoon” suite. It was huge, with a sleeping area, a dressing area, and a large bathroom with double sink, separate shower and tub, and plenty of counterspace. The king bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast room is a bright and pleasant area that opens onto an outdoor deck, though it was too cold during our stay to use this. The breakfast was ample and included fresh fruit, cereals, juice, and hot egg dishes on request. Lunch and dinner aren’t served in the Lodge, but the staff can arrange for delivery from local restaurants or for transportation to them.

Staying at the Lodge and taking the Outlook Safari to Kruger was especially convenient and seamless. We enjoyed our 4-day safari very much, particularly because our guide, Wilhelm, was excellent. In summary, we recommend Outlook Lodge, especially if you are using Johannesburg as a transit point for a safari or for going elsewhere in southern Africa.

  • Liked — Location, Service, Price
  • Disliked — TV Reception
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

From our airport pickup to our drop off we were really looked after. the lodge is in a lovely location and we were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Leanne and the rest of the team couldn't have done more for us. They arranged a guide to take us to the apartheid museum (a great place to spend an afternoon) and recommended a good restaurant for our evening meal. Our night there was only a stopover but it felt very much part of our holiday. We would definitely stay there again (and hopefully will get to hear Roxy the parrot speak next time!)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge

Address: 1 Ambleside | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Benoni, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.