We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Silhouette Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benoni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
African Silhouette Guesthouse
Save
You added African Silhouette Guesthouse to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   119 Karee Avenue | Marister, Benoni 11623, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Benoni B&B and Inns
Houston
1 review
“Truly exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

As someone who stays in hotels over 200 nights a year, this place was hands down better than anywhere I've stayed. Susan was unbelievably accomadating. The room was spotless. The beds were extremely comfortable with a down comforter and pillows. The shower in the garden was priceless! The transportation to/from the airport was very fair and easy to set up. Nothing negative at all to say about this place. We truly enjoyed the short time we were there! We will be back to South Africa, especially Jo'burg, simply to stay here for some extended time again! It truly was a slice of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

On visiting south Africa with my young family we happened upon this small piece of tranquility.... Susan ("Sue Sun", for us "pomies") who is the owner, manager and general great person, brought such a warm and personal touch to our stay.
The room we stayed in had a large and very comfortable double bed, & as we have 2 young boys (4 & 5), Susan gave us the option of fold away beds or a single bed to share. We took the single bed option & it worked a treat.

The room itself makes you feel as if you are in the real Africa, but with the modern twist. It has a corner bath (ample room for two) and one of the most unique showers I have ever came across. The shower is ajoined to your room with an outdoor secret garden feeling, having your early morning shower alfresco was just the tonic for the start of your day.

The grounds of the guesthouse are nothing short of idyllic, the pool is a refreshing welcome to any hot day and is fashioned in a natural way, with calming waterfall. There is a huge pond with gold fish, which kept the boys amused for hours. There is a trampoline again a great touch for the younger generation. Susan & her family have livestock in the shape of horses, rabbits, goats and problies one of the biggest yet friendliest dogs I've ever seen.

There is a purpose made enclosure for BBQ ("Brai" in S.A. language) and this is where I cooked the biggest steak I have ever seen in my days, it was nearly one whole side of a cow.

The general feeling I got from the African Silhouette Guesthouse, was that of warmth & being made welcome. Even though we have 2 young children (noisy & energetic), this did not detract from the peace and tranquility that this guest house has in abundance.

All in all, we were sorry to leave & we will definately visit again, even if we are in transit to further destinations. It gave us a welcomed break and regenerated us for further travels.

Thank you, Susan, Tony & your blessed family for a great stay. You are always in our thoughts........

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I enjoyed a wonderful stay at African Silhouette guest house. Susan was the most welcoming host one could imagine and made me stay thoroughly enjoyable. The guest house is situated in a nice quiet area of Johannesburg and is the perfect place to relax and I couldn’t help but be impressed with well appointed rooms, magnificent gardens (and adjoining farm), tasty and filling meals and great all round atmosphere.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend the venue to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Totally recommend this lodge. Great hospitality and excellent food and service from Susan & her family throughout my stay. Susan provided me with a 'meet and greet' to/from the airport and made me delicious breakfasts and dinners. I was truthfully sad to leave here. I stayed here for a couple of days prior to doing a FGASA (Field Guide Association of South Africa) course in the Kruger National Park in october 2009. I was amazed with the wildlife here such as beauitiful birds and insects the garden attracts. It is a 'heavenly' stopover in South Africa.
Regards, Mark from Dublin, Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

if ur looking for the comfort of home and the luxury of a hotel this quaint guesthouse is amazing just 15 minutes from or tambo int airport ,,then this is what i highly recommend!!!!!the lady is very friendly and serves an amazing breakfast shes very friendly sunny natured and helpful,,,,i loved every day i spent at this guesthouse!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

When we arrived, we were very tired after a long flight but Susan was so kind and friendly we relaxed right away. The location is perfect with the peaceful surrounding countryside with birdlife in profusion in the extensive gardens. A quirky reception leads through to a quiet shady courtyard with access to the rooms which are unique. The large comfy bed guaranteed a great sleep and the lovely outside garden shower was something new for us!
Breakfast was special with lots of attention to detail as well as a good variety of choice. We spent 3 nights and would love to have stayed longer. Susan puts lots of effort into all aspects of her B&B to make sure you have a great stay. We wish her well and hope to see her on our next visit to SA.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

My Dad's 60th birthday bash was a spectacular success from crisis management and arranging tents at the last minute for keeping the rain away to the caterers willingness to bake bread-pudding as special order for my Dad. The venue, food and accomodation was great and everybody enjoyed themselves fully.
The parking space is somewhat limited so rather drive in groups than in seperate cars for groups larger than 30. Not for a party till early morning hours, you will have to keep it a quiet one after midnight as the music and noise needs to be down by then.
Thanks Susan for a great success!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Silhouette Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Silhouette Guesthouse

Address: 119 Karee Avenue | Marister, Benoni 11623, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — African Silhouette Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secure Area, surrounded by electric fence. Country in the city - guinea fowls, Egyptian geese, variety of birds attracted to the dam that is on the property. Reading rooms created by plants in the garden, rock pool for swimming, horses on site. A guesthouse with a warm, friendly and peaceful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the city, only minutes from the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
African Silhouette Guesthouse Benoni, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Silhouette Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.