We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Bloemfontein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Bloemfontein to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 Nelson Mandela Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A nice 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights for business with 3 colleagues and we had booked 3 rooms.

On arrival at the hotel we were 3 hours before normal check-in time and our rooms were not ready, however the hotel reception and room staff prioritised our rooms and within 30 minutes they were ready. This was greatly appreciated after 15+ hours of travel.

The reception staff were all very polite and efficient, the hotel lobby is smart and clean and the porters were helpful and prompt to deliver luggage to our rooms.

We had all asked for double beds but for whatever reason, only one bed was a double with two rooms having twin beds (which could not be pushed together). This is the only real gripe I have about the hotel, they could of apologised or explained this as we checked in.

The rooms were clean, as we'd arrived in Winter they were absolutely freezing but the porter explained and set up the aircon to warm the room.

The rooms were functional, with a small desk / wardrobe / TV + table / hair dryer and a safe in the wardrobe. I didn't use the safe as when tested it appeared to react very slowly and I didn't want to take the risk of waiting to get it reset to use. It might have been a tired battery but I didn't report it and thus can not complain about it.

My room was at the end of a corridor and very quiet, all floors were carpeted.

There was a good choice for breakfast including the egg station, the coffee wasn't to my personal preference but plenty of other drinks available. I did not eat in the restaurant so can not comment other than it looked very presentable.

All the staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and efficient. Location was good, taxi's numerous and we used to eat down in the Waterfront and wonder up through some local bars.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of a corridor and very quiet, a colleague had a room mid-corridor (which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
7
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doornpoort, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Food was excellent!! Staff more than friendly!! Management is far above the best! Ideal place for a king an queen to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel shocked me as it is an exact replica of Protea Hotel Nelspruit! Perhaps there was a buy one design get one free deal!

Anyway the reception staff was great (Dallas and Puseletso). Sadly attention to detail must be reinforced as I was booked into a paraplegic room and only after the thoughtful porter said he though i should see the bathroom before I unpack did we realize this. I then had to shlep all the way back to reception and get the correct room, view of the CAR PARK but functional. The breakfast was standard with an egg station too. Bloemfontein Taxis drove me all around wherever I needed to go as well!

Food wise everyone ranted and raved about New York Restaurant when I arrived it was clearly on a bad day. I sat down, was the only one is the restaurant at that time, the waiter brought me Rose instead of Riesling which i had to correct. GET IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME! Then I told the waitress to tel lthe waiter to tell the chef to surprise me with a main. Well surprise he did, horribly average fish, rice, chips and veg and for the first time in my life ate CHEWY fish??!!! So much for that then. A huge disappointment. I then went to Avanti at the "waterfront" for dinner and was blown away by the service, attention to detail and care by all. A much better deal and at half the price of New York!

Room Tip: Not facing or near the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Like the enthusiasm of the Manageress to serve, so is the staff. You feel as though you are at home. My son and daughter in law were booked in and both are vegetarian. In their words "we did not see so many veg dishes before". Because they only arrived at 3h00 they were allowed a late check out. the hotel is well situated and offers all the comforts that a traveller may require. Especially notable is the praiseworthy staff service and the Manager's commitment to guest satisfaction

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed a night on business here. Rooms are large and clean. Bed is comfortable with good linen.

Breakfast is good with a wide variety and staff are helpful and friendly. Just the things you need when on business.

Hotel is located on main road and within walking distance of Mimosa Mall. Also directly opposite main entrance to Univerity of Free State.

There are several hotels in the area, so price wise the hotel is slightly above average, though by not much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel is great for a business trip. The hotel is in walking distance from our office in Bloemfontein, so very conveniently located and easy to find. The service at the hotel is fantastic; my room was very clean, a good size and comfortable and the food of good quality. I had a very enjoyable stay, mostly beacuse of the fantastic service of the hotel staff. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Bloemfontein!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Protea Hotels are always a safe bet and the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is no exception. Immaculately clean, crisp linen, good food. We had a family unit (2 x double beds) - enough space for 2 x adults and 2 x young children. Will always consider any Protea Hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Bloemfontein

Address: 202 Nelson Mandela Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Bloemfontein 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein - A Touch of Class in the Heart of the Free State. The modern 4-Star Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is set in secure landscaped gardens and situated on Nelson Mandela Drive, in the heart of Bloemfontein's Business District. After a strenuous day at the office, arrive back at the hotel and make your way to the swimming pool and terrace. Order a drink from the bar, relax and embrace this ideal setting in the City of Roses. Now that the scene has been set, enjoy a magnificent evening in the Amoretta Restaurant before turning in for the night to one of our luxurious bedrooms, offering crisp linen and separate bathroom and shower. Sleep in and take advantage of the easy access to national roads, the CBD, University of Bloemfontein and close proximity to the airport. The Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is an ideal venue for the overnight traveller and corporate executive alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Bloemfontein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.