We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting up close and personal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cheetah Experience

Cheetah Experience
1 Maluti Avenue | Bainsvlei, Bloemfontein, South Africa
+27 72 905 3457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 attractions in Bloemfontein
Type: Tours, Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are all about wild cats for big cat lovers. If you are looking for a jaw dropping, hands on and heart warming experience, then Cheetah Experience is a must. Here we conserve endangered species, with a special focus on the conservation and breeding of the cheetah. Other species include lions, leopards, servals, caracals and wolves.Tour times are as follows:Tuesday - Sunday: 11am, 12pm,2pm, 3pmModay: ClosedWe do tours for children (under 12) on Saturdays and Sundays at 10am.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Getting up close and personal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great way to relax as well as do your bit for the sanctuary. By visiting you support a good cause and get to know the stories behind these animals, cared for by dedicated people and making a difference. The experience to walk with the cheetahs is amazing. Dress casually as you are allowed to cuddle the baby lions or leopard, and get really close to the lion and cheetahs, stroking them. Great adventure for kids too, they are allowed under adult supervision. Bathroom facilities on site as well as curio shop (do buy the t-shirt) and refreshments for sale at the kiosk. it is advised to phone in advance and confirm feeding times of animals. It is one of my favourite places to visit, as animals come and go after rehab, and orphans are released to other sanctuaries, there is always new and interesting animals to watch. you may also "adopt" a baby lion, leopard or cheetah and name it, doing your bit to support African wildlife.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“As close as you can get !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A wonderful encounter with wild animals at close range under supervision of knowledgable and passionate guides !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheetah Experence - Great Morning Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Located about 10km north west of Bloemfontein, Cheetah Experence is a wonderful way to spend a morning with the family. The Experence aims to educate the general public concerning the plight of Africa's endangered big cats and is children friendly. On the premises are Cheetah's, Leopards, Lions, Rooikats and Wolves etc.... Limited interaction between visitors and the wild animals is allowed (rubbing, touching etc) in a controlled and danger free environment... little children must be under constant parental supervision.. as the cats see them as potential prey... My daughter who is 3 years and 7 months old accompanied us and enjoyed herself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience of a lifetime - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Where else in the world can you get up close and personal to some of the most amazing endangered species that Africa has to offer. Cheetah Experience is a home from home for me, having volunteered here 3 times in the past 2 years. As a volunteer, we undertake general animal welfare duties such as cleaning, preparing food and feeding. The balance of work and free time is perfect, with many hours being spent with our favourite animals: lying in the sun having a snooze or reading a book with a leopard or cheetah on your lap is quite something!

As a visitor, you are taken on a guided tour of just over an hour by one of the volunteers. You learn interesting facts and information about each of our animal species and the project's mission, with opportunities to interact with many of the animals along the way. There are plenty of chances to get amazing photos which your friends will not believe their eyes when they see them! Our cats love people and crave the attention and love that we give back. The animals you will see on your tour include: cheetahs, leopards, lions, servals, caracals, wolves and meerkats - so the variety is great!

With regard to the people at Cheetah Experience, they are as much of the reason that I return as the animals themselves are. Never before have I come across people who have so much faith, hope, love and dedication to these animals and the survival of their species. The bonds they have with them is indescribable and inspiring; as a volunteer you are welcomed into their home, their heart, and their family. Life long friends have been made for sure!

Cheetah Experience is a must-see for anyone visiting South Africa or Bloemfontein - do not miss out!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had the oppurtunity to volunteer at this amazing facility and it's one of the best places in the world. Visitors can get interaction with some of the animals as well so it really is an experience, not just a normal guided tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheetah Experience also viewed

 
Bloemfontein, Free State
Bloemfontein, Free State
 

Been to Cheetah Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheetah Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cheetah Experience to your Saves list