We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Franklin View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Franklin View Guest House to your Saves list
Franklin View Guest House
9E Innes avenue | Waverley, Bloemfontein 9301 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 117 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Review of Franklin View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The accomdation was exceptionally comfortable, the owners very professional and welcoming and the staff are wonderfully friendly.The breakfast the next morning was delicious, it was lovely having coffee on tap and tasty fresh fruit salad. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
58
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been travelling to Bloemfontein at least every second since mid 2012. I have never been to a more beatiful place than Franklin View. Gustav, the owner and his wife are the friendliest guesthouse owners i have ever met, this is one of the things that has caused me to go back to Franklin time and again..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very welcoming and extremely helpful.Beautiful view from bedroom. Delicious breakfast. The owners bend over backwards. I highly recommend this guest house. My number 1 accommodation for bloemfontein, by far!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

At R750 a night for a double room I found this to be average at best. It was clean yet the rooms were quite cramped. The shower door could only open partially as it was blocked by the basin and the bathroom had no door so it wasn't really private. The breakfast was well-presented yet quite small for the price you pay. The guesthouse parking and general access is horrendous as it is located against a steep cliff. It is definitely not an option with anybody who is differently abled. The view does not make up for the steep charge and meager breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustav S, Owner at Franklin View Guest House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We have 9 rooms.
2 Deluxe rooms (55sq.m),6 Luxury rooms(35sq.m) and 1 smaller standard rooms(17sq.m) available.
We have changed the reviewed room 7 from a standard double room to a standard single room with a queen size bed and open plan bathroom.
We are located on the northern slope of Naval Hill. Our driveway has a traffic light that regulates the traffic.
The guesthouse is easy accessible with a normal 2X4 vehicle regarding the steep driveway.
Please view the photo gallery regarding the available parking.
Please view the reviews regarding the breakfasts.
See Booking.com reviews as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

In Waverly, quiet and friendly B&B. A 65 Zar ride into the town center.
There is an honesty bar and good breakfast.
Clean rooms and comfortable. The ones at the front have great views.
Owners polite and friendly and make certain you are leckker like a crackker!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleay Island, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The Franklin view is an amazing place to stay in Bloem. From the moment we arrived Gustav made us feel at home. After showing us in he explained his house to us (where to grab a drink from the pool etc) anf then took us to our room. Wow is the first thing that came to mind. Set on the side of the hill the views north are wonderful. He also had a cab ready for us as we were off to the rugby that afternoon. Breakfast was cooked to order the next morning and was also a treat.
When next in Bloem I will have no hesitation in staying at the Franklin View again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Although we stayed in Bloemfontein just for a stop over, Franklin view is a very nice welcoming place to spent a couple of nights.

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and have an excellent view on parts of the city. Breakfast was very nice. We arrived quite late and didn't have time to buy some drinks, but luckily the place had a big fridge where we could get soft drinks and beers.

During our stay we had to seek medical assistance and the staff was extremely helpful in getting us an appointment at the local GP.

We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franklin View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin View Guest House

Address: 9E Innes avenue | Waverley, Bloemfontein 9301 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin View is an up market Guesthouse situated on the Northern slopes of Naval Hill (The highest house on the Northern slopes) with a magnificent view over the suburb of Waverley with its beautiful trees of purple, orange and green during daytime and an ocean of flickering lights at night.The rustic atmosphere of yellow wood and leather in the spacious living area gives you a warm feeling of comfort.Enjoy a misty morning breakfast in the company of awakening birds.Each of the luxurious rooms with its panoramic view opens on a balcony.We are easy accessible from the N1 and only 5 minutes away from city centre and +-10 minutes from the airport.• Franklin View boasts the best view situated on the northern slopes of Naval Hill • The decor in Franklin View is rustic with an emphasis on yellow wood and leather • Luxurious en- suite rooms with DSTV • Splash pool and braai area • Your hosts Marietjie and Gustav Swanepoel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Franklin View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.