We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a n overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   912 Nelson Mandela Drive | Southernwood, Mthatha 5100, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mthatha
Uvongo, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect for a n overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a surprise to find this hotel (like a motel) in Mthatha. The service is very friendly, the location safe, also for the cars. The rooms are okay, shower/toilette are clean. Right opposite you find Mike's kitchen restaurant. There you can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet. For your trip in or from the Eastern Cape we recommend this hotel for a stopover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
10
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I found the hotel to be clean. The staff were warm and receptive. It was value for money. The location was convenient as I had to go to the nearby township for a funeral. I had a choice of 2 restaurants for my meals , which are situated nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Receptionist rude. Included breakfast not asking what time we are leaving for our 10 drive back home. Asked for refund that was not even an option. Curtains falling appart. Table dirty, still sticky from last nights visitors. Suppose its the best hotel in Mthatha.... this is nothing more than a F1.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I knew the old Savoy Hotel in Mthatha which was a dive. When partner said he'd booked us at the Savoy i was apprehensive. Surprise was , this is the NEW Savoy and it was quite pleasant and its good value for money.
Its a motel type hotel and can be classified as 3 star. It is clean, comfortable, new and security is pretty good. All rooms airconditioned with flat screen TV with satellite channels , tea and coffee making facilities, ie all the utility things one needs. bring your own adapter for the 2 pin to charge your phones and tablets. And ther is a Spar supermarket, ATMs and fast food outlets close by.

Room Tip: If you have luggage , ask for a ground floor room so you have to lug your bags up the stairs. Oh, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewingar
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The room was compact, clean and neat - with a sprig of rosemary on the bed and a fabulous hot shower with good pressure. Nothing fancy but all we needed. Although busy, our room was quiet and despite jet lag we slept well. Close by was Mike's Kitchen for dinner - try the spare ribs - and wifi was available too. We had a little difficulty with transport to and from the airport but were saved by the kind and efficient assistant manager Joanne who whisked us off to the airport providing interesting and lively conversation all the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was my first visit to Mthata and I was fortunate in the location of the hotel. It is located in a shopping precint and you are within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Safe parking was provided

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Savoy recently and were pleasantly surprised. Staff was incredibly friendly, service was superb and often go for extra mile! We had a room with balcony, room was spotless, comfortable, nice and very cosy. The bed in our room was super comfy, it’s the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We had a wonderful stay here and could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Group Sales Manager at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you had a "really great experience" I have to agree, I too think that our beds are extremly comfortable. Please visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Address: 912 Nelson Mandela Drive | Southernwood, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mthatha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is just what you’ve been looking for in the city of Mthatha! The hotel is conveniently situated on Nelson Mandela Drive in Mthatha, boasting 101 luxury, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms.Guests are offered peace of mind with 24 hour security and secure parking. Guests also have access to two national restaurants and – of course – our world-class conferencing facilities.It’s no wonder Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is everyone’s preferred choice in Mthatha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.