We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands at St Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands at St Francis to your Saves list
The Sands at St Francis
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Welcome was friendly. Room had amazing view. Outside balcony had a hot tub but it was not turned on! Unfortunately awful weather dampened our experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Sands was a great place to stay with incredible views. One of the nicest rooms we had and best location in all St. Francis. You can walk right down to a beautiful beach. The rooms were clean and spacious with a lovely beach feel for decor. The staff and service was over the top amazing. Paul was very nice and helpful, and Rudy and Lin made our stay very special. Their friendliness and hospitality was so great, that we decided to stay at two of their other hotels (Pumba Private Game Reserve and The Beach in PE, which are both highly recommended). They even wash your car before you leave! We couldn't believe it. This hotel group has the best service and was the best experience we had. It was a great ending to our five weeks in SA.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiejoshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

They say 5 stars, yes thanks to the setting right on the beach. The room, food, staff etc. is not worth 1 star. Very disappointing. I sure hope you will make a plan towards the tariffs you want to ask, very expensive for no value of money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centrino583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, had a 'so called" luxury room. There was absolutley no privacy on the suite patio, guests waking right passed your suite with full view into our room. The room decor was DEFINITELY NOT 5 star. None of the channels on TV worked, no signal. We asked reception(Paul) about the problem, not helpful at all. The breakfast was mediocre, something you would find at a 3 star guesthouse, Not a so called 5 star. No privacy between the bedroom and bathroom at all, which is really not appealing, just some cheap wooden blinds to seperate. The shower floor looks like it has not been scrubbed clean in ages. ALL IN ALL VERY DISSAAPOINTING! I will NOT go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twix gatwick and heathrow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We intended The Sands to be a 3 night full stop after a hectic Jan and Feb and flying from UK to Joberg on to Port Liz, and quite a drive. We arrived to this fabulous view of the ocean and steps down to the firmest sandy beach to walk on ever. Which we did everyday. We did very little else.
Very comfy room, cool pool, breakfast on the first floor in the sun, one dinner in (7/10), another at the Greek (3/10 : interesting to see the canal area, poor attention, overpriced)
and an excellent one at 5 Elements (9/10)

Room Tip: ground floor far left or right
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3bagsfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We used The Sands as a 1 night stop over on our way to a game reserve east of Port Elizabeth. We had a luxury room which as a bedroom was excellent but then it had on 'open plan' bathroom where you could sit on the loo and look at a wonderfully uninterupted view of the ocean (not even by a glass window!). The small pool area was adequate as was the small lounge. The dining room no doubt had glorious views but the windows were covered in either salt spray or condensation and opening the doors was difficult in view of the wind.
The 'gourmet' dinner was a pretty bland experience. We ordered 1 bottle of wine (there were 4 of us) which the waiter couldn't understand as people who usely eat there apparently have 2 bottles each!
Breakfast was unexciting with the order for cooked breakfasts not being taken until we had finished our cereals/yoghurts or whatever and by which time the tea/coffee was cold. While we were not in a mad rush breakfast did take a long time.
Another reviewer made reference to the 'team' or lack of it. We couldn't agree more. The place just lacks 'soul' which is a pity as the location is simply stunning and the potential is amazing. Maybe they work on the principle that visitors only stay there once so why bother staffing it properly.
The owners should take a look at The Hideaway in Swellendam to see what service and attention to detail is all about.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

very sweet lodge directly located at the beach. most if not all rooms have direct view over the bay and are big, well furnished and have luxurious en suite bathrooms. we really enjoyed in our stay there and the private atmosphere.
the dinner however, was not overwhelming. try the "Five Elements" instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid_On_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.1 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
11.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Oyster Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#7 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#5 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#6 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at St Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at St Francis

Address: 8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at St Francis 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A footstep away from the beach, a few minutes from the bustling village center and home to world class watersports and activities! This luxurious African beach house, located in the picturesque seaside village of St. Francis Bay, offers five spacious en-suite bedrooms, all with uninterrupted views of the majestic Indian Ocean and endless stretches of pristine coastline. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and offer 5 star luxury, opening onto private decks or balcony with stunning views of the beach and infinity pool. The honeymoon suite offers an extra outdoor shower and Jacuzzi hot tub on its deck, from where spectacular sunsets can be enjoyed. The glass-fronted Octagon Restaurant has a thatched roof, central fireplace and surrounding timber deck, providing a breathtaking 270 degree panoramic view of the bay. The Octagon serves breakfast, light lunches and a la carte dinners. St Francis Bay is situated close to the Eastern Cape's many malaria-free game reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Sands at St Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing