We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride The Sands, St. Francis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride The Sands, St. Francis to your Saves list
African Pride The Sands, St. Francis
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Welcome was friendly. Room had amazing view. Outside balcony had a hot tub but it was not turned on! Unfortunately awful weather dampened our experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    17
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Sands was a great place to stay with incredible views. One of the nicest rooms we had and best location in all St. Francis. You can walk right down to a beautiful beach. The rooms were clean and spacious with a lovely beach feel for decor. The staff and service was over the top amazing. Paul was very nice and helpful, and Rudy and Lin made our stay very special. Their friendliness and hospitality was so great, that we decided to stay at two of their other hotels (Pumba Private Game Reserve and The Beach in PE, which are both highly recommended). They even wash your car before you leave! We couldn't believe it. This hotel group has the best service and was the best experience we had. It was a great ending to our five weeks in SA.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

They say 5 stars, yes thanks to the setting right on the beach. The room, food, staff etc. is not worth 1 star. Very disappointing. I sure hope you will make a plan towards the tariffs you want to ask, very expensive for no value of money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, had a 'so called" luxury room. There was absolutley no privacy on the suite patio, guests waking right passed your suite with full view into our room. The room decor was DEFINITELY NOT 5 star. None of the channels on TV worked, no signal. We asked reception(Paul) about the problem, not helpful at all. The breakfast was mediocre, something you would find at a 3 star guesthouse, Not a so called 5 star. No privacy between the bedroom and bathroom at all, which is really not appealing, just some cheap wooden blinds to seperate. The shower floor looks like it has not been scrubbed clean in ages. ALL IN ALL VERY DISSAAPOINTING! I will NOT go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twix gatwick and heathrow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We intended The Sands to be a 3 night full stop after a hectic Jan and Feb and flying from UK to Joberg on to Port Liz, and quite a drive. We arrived to this fabulous view of the ocean and steps down to the firmest sandy beach to walk on ever. Which we did everyday. We did very little else.
Very comfy room, cool pool, breakfast on the first floor in the sun, one dinner in (7/10), another at the Greek (3/10 : interesting to see the canal area, poor attention, overpriced)
and an excellent one at 5 Elements (9/10)

Room Tip: ground floor far left or right
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We used The Sands as a 1 night stop over on our way to a game reserve east of Port Elizabeth. We had a luxury room which as a bedroom was excellent but then it had on 'open plan' bathroom where you could sit on the loo and look at a wonderfully uninterupted view of the ocean (not even by a glass window!). The small pool area was adequate as was the small lounge. The dining room no doubt had glorious views but the windows were covered in either salt spray or condensation and opening the doors was difficult in view of the wind.
The 'gourmet' dinner was a pretty bland experience. We ordered 1 bottle of wine (there were 4 of us) which the waiter couldn't understand as people who usely eat there apparently have 2 bottles each!
Breakfast was unexciting with the order for cooked breakfasts not being taken until we had finished our cereals/yoghurts or whatever and by which time the tea/coffee was cold. While we were not in a mad rush breakfast did take a long time.
Another reviewer made reference to the 'team' or lack of it. We couldn't agree more. The place just lacks 'soul' which is a pity as the location is simply stunning and the potential is amazing. Maybe they work on the principle that visitors only stay there once so why bother staffing it properly.
The owners should take a look at The Hideaway in Swellendam to see what service and attention to detail is all about.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

very sweet lodge directly located at the beach. most if not all rooms have direct view over the bay and are big, well furnished and have luxurious en suite bathrooms. we really enjoyed in our stay there and the private atmosphere.
the dinner however, was not overwhelming. try the "Five Elements" instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride The Sands, St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride The Sands, St. Francis

Address: 8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride The Sands, St. Francis 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ocean's edge, African Pride The Sands at St. Francis is an impressive white walled thatched roof homestead with sweeping views of the sun-drenched beach and glistening sea. If that’s not enough to relax you, the informal atmosphere and African beach style décor will definitely do the trick. Make yourself at home in one of our spacious bedrooms, which offer luxury style and each open onto a private deck offering breathtaking views of the magnificent, unspoilt sand below. Enjoy the comforts of air-conditioning, mini bar fridge, tea and coffee tray, hairdryer, television and safe. Generous classic bathrooms offer terry towel robes, separate showers, Jacuzzi bath tubs and bidets as standard features, while some rooms also provide an outside shower and Jacuzzi on their timber deck. The Octagonal glass fronted restaurant, with its central fireplace and cocktail bar, invites you to delight in the panoramic views from its 300 degree vantage point. Generous breakfasts, light lunches and gourmet dinners are served with flair and the Director's Cellar offers a superb selection of estate wines. Soak up the summer sun on one of the secluded pool decks, relax in the steam room or enjoy a refreshing Jacuzzi. Beauty treatments and massage therapies available on request. Nearby activities include lighthouse and port tours, coastal country and beach walks, deep sea fishing, paddle-skiing, golf, tennis, horse riding and canal cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your African Pride The Sands, St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Saint Francis Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride The Sands, St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.