We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Guest House to your Saves list
Sandals Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Spent two nights at Sandals. Very relaxing place to stay as we made our way along the Garden route. Owners and staff were very helpful in ensuring we made the most of the town and environs.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
On behalf of myself and my staff, we thank you for taking the time to review us online. WE are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes for a happy and healthy festive season ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    49
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
108
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The guesthouse is small and managed by the owner family and thus has a very personal touch. The rooms offer a lot of space. They are all different. I stayed in all 3 rooms on the upper floor just under the reet roof. The garden, terrace and pool invite to relax. Breakfast offers a good variety. The guesthouse is very well located, close to the beach, shopping, excursion possibilities.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your time taken to review Sandals GH.
My staff and I value the feedback - the praise and encouragement - for our service and hard work.
We do hope to see you all back in St Francis Bay one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the moment my husband & I walked in, we were immediately welcomed by friendly & proffessional staff. Our room was spacious, clean & had everything we needed to be comfortable & felt like we were at home. The variety of the breakfast was amazing & we could not help but to try a different dish every morning. We would defintely stay at Sandals again, as it was so much more than what we expected. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Sandals for our honeymoon during our September 2010 trip out to SA. We stayed at several guest houses on our trip. St Francis Bay was one of my favorite stops. I loved the quaint town, canals & thatched roof homes. Sandals Guest House was a very unique experice. The owners/staff were very friendly giving us helpful tips during our stay in St Francis (places to eat, places to check out, must see places in St Francis, etc). The staff was very accommodating & the breakfast was the best breakfast we had in SA. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here & would love to one day come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
To our Sept '10 Honeymooners,

Thank you very much for your time taken to review Sandals GH. It always means so much to my staff and to me to receive the praise, encouragement and kind words for our service and hard work.
We sincerely hope to see you back in St Francis Bay one day in the future. Best wishes from all at Sandals GH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I was on holiday with my daughter who is 13. This guest house is a very lovely one 2 story thatched roof building. The room was spacious with double and single bed. It was very clean and comfortable. A bathroom had a bath and a shower with fresh towels every day, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion and candles. The bedroom has a patio door to a terrace which has the outside shower. It was well sheltered. When you are in the outside shower you may be lucky to be seen by the Vervet monkey, who is also the local residence – not at the guest house of course. It was so silent that you could hear it apart from the sounds of birds and sea. The room had coffee and tea making facility. In the main area of the building had the guest sitting room very nicely decorated with locally produced ornaments and framed photos of animal and people instead of pictures bought at the supermarket - very well put together it does look as on the main web-side. If you have any problems staff is always very helpful and polite. It was better than 4 star hotel in Florida my daughter could confirm this. And, I was glad to find out that this guest house had a laundry service as well which does not cost an arm and a leg.

It is excellent location; small town with shopping area, restaurant, pharmacy, beauty/hairdressers, internet/tech shop, supermarket and everything you may need. It is 2 min from the beach. St Francis Bay and especially Sandals guest house is a very good base for making day trips to do the following; a) Seaview part which is in the direction of Port Elizabeth to play with 3 months and 1 year old lions, b) Elephant park, Monkey Land, Zip-wiring over a goarch, tree canapy hopping, bungee jumping walk with elephants and walk with birds on your shoulder at the Birds of Eden. All these are in the opposite direction to Port Elizabeth off N2 near Crag.

It is a civilised place with fantastic scenery, good food and fresh food and good wines. I wish I could stay there longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Having read all the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were really looking forward to our stay at Sandals but we were very disappointed. Firstly the welcome was non existent. The owners were not to be seen and there was a young caretaker who let us in. I understand the 'rustic' look but this was just old and in need of a serious upgrade. There was nobody on site after 6pm and we were very unsure of the security. I found it impossible to lock the sliding glass door which is the only way in. The breakfast was most disappointing and the whole experience is a million miles from Lairds Lodge where we stayed the night before however it has the same star rating and is amazingly enough slightly cheaper than Sandals.
On the plus side, St Francis bay is lovely and the beach excellent, however if this is really number one in the bay, what must the others be like?

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

A quiet, familiar place with charming rooms and beautiful staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.