We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stop over between George and East London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dune Ridge Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dune Ridge Country House to your Saves list
Dune Ridge Country House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   cnr R330 and Tarragona Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect stop over between George and East London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful Country House in a lovely setting. The rooms are large and airy, spacious private veranda's overlooking a lovely garden are cool and inviting. The staff are friendly, attentive and take time to explain the services available, the areas sites and information on where to eat. The welcoming homemade lemonade was refreshing on a hot humid day. The breakfast was excellent and full of nice surprises, something a little different from the normal B&B breakfast. We'll worth a visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
32
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

On our 4th trip to the Garden Route, our expectations were high. Sarah and her team exceeded all expectations in every area, especially the dinners. We are 'guided by Greenwood' and Sarah has all the things they like and none of the things they don't. Please note, Dune Ridge is not listed. Jake, the puppy was such a delight - hurry up and visit before he grows up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear James and Lindsey

Thank you for the wonderful review about the guesthouse and staff!!! They are all absolutely beaming.

Little Jake is well..getting naughtier by the day but still incredibly cute. He seems to think that all our guests are going to take him for walks now after the long trek to the reserve that he joined you on. He soon returns when he realises they only going to the swimming pool or to their rooms.

It was so lovely hosting you in our special place and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Keep Well

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our first stop on the garden route, travelling straight from Port Elizabeth airport, which is an easy drive.
Its a beautiful spot and the hosts are charming and attentive.
Rooms are huge and open onto the gardens.
Breakfast was the best on our tour with amazing attention to detail in the cooking.
We were lucky enough to eat dinner and it was a superb standard.
Also enjoyed lying in the peaceful sunshine by the pool.
Loved the 'Splattered Toad' wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you're visiting St Francis and would like a unique Spa experience, book a massage at Dune Ridge - the outside room is glorious and if you're lucky enough to have Saria as your therapist, you'll have a world-class massage. Definitely worth heading back to St Francis for!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of our Spa. The Bush Spa really is a very special and unique experience. Possibly since you are out in the middle of the bush only surrounded by nature, and the sounds of the birds.

I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your treatments with us and hopefully on your return to St Francis you will try our Moonlight Massage which is very similar to your other treatments only done in the evening so you literally have your massage under the stars with only the sounds of the nightjars and the smell of the sea breeze coming in over the dunes..this is a very magical experience.

Keep Well and we looking forward to having you join us again in the near future.

Keep Well

Sarah and Saria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

we spent 2 Comfortable quiet nights with the family away from all the crowds. Afternoon scones were delicious served at the pool. Staff not very engaging in conversation. Rooms comfortable but could have air conditioning especially for the price the Lodge charges. Rooms beautifully decorated and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Many thanks for the review and it is always good to get different guests perspectives of what we do, our service and the overall impression of the staff.

Summer in St Francis Bay has been an exceptional one..a summer like no other year in fact..we normally have a very temperate climate ranging between 25 C and 28 C in Dec/Jan.. We also pride ourselves in that we practice Fair Trade principles. Our aim is to minimize our footprint as much as possible and to care for the environment -due to these two very important factors we have not installed air conditioning into our rooms and have rather gone for the more eco-friendly option and utilized ceiling fans which would normally have sufficed for our Mediterranean climate.

The Dune Ridge Staff have only ever received fantastic reviews for their attention to detail and willingness in general to tend to our guests needs..and to literally lay out the red carpet for them. English is a second language for all my staff and my more recently employed ladies are not as confident yet to engage in a full conversation with guests, its not to say they dont try. My staff however always have the best intentions and guests needs at heart.

I really hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at Dune Ridge in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Don't be concerned enjoy the moment Sarah (proprietor) and her team are great. If you are of a complaining nature take a forensic team with you, cause in our opinion there is nothing to complain about. Book the evening meal it is also great. Sorry to disappoint the moaners.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear James and Penny

Thank you so much for the fantastic review!!

Its always great to have people that love what we love..

We hope that you had a safe trip back and that you will return in the near future

Take Care

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. We really enjoyed it and will definitely come back. The rooms are luxurious with the best quality linens and toiletries. Sarah and Precious are excellent at taking care of the guests. We even had a braai/barbecue laid on which we enjoyed with the other guests. It's quiet and peaceful and away from the busy parts of St Francis Bay especially during the busy season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review!

Its always good to get feedback from guests about the guesthouse and the staff..to improve on what we have been doing.

We hope you are both well and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Keep Well

Sarah and the Dune Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dune Ridge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Ridge Country House

Address: cnr R330 and Tarragona Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Ridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an extraordinary location on the outskirts of the picturesque village of St Francis Bay, this country house epitomises tranquility. This intimate family run guest house surrounded by rich coastal fynbos, an abundance of birdlife and large gardens typifies comfort and charm without compromising service or attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Dune Ridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dune Ridge Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.