We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milkwood Country Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Milkwood Country Cottage to your Saves list
Milkwood Country Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   137 St Francis Drive, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Milkwood Cottage and Lorraine was very welcoming. Our comfortable room led out into the beautiful garden with loungers and a pool. The breakfast was delicious and it was interesting to talk to Lorraine and her husband about our next stop at Pumba Game Reserve. Lorraine suggested we went to Cape St Francis, just 10 minutes away, and we had an amazing few hours walking round the cape, watching the huge waves crashing against the rocks and generally just chilling out. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison25, Owner at Milkwood Country Cottage, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Good morning

So glad you enjoyed your visit at Milkwood Country Cottage. The visit to Cape St Francis is a must when staying here.

Trust that your game sighting were fantastic at Pumba.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Loraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice guesthouse in St. Francis. Bay. Restaurants within walking distances, nice breakfast, but the rooms would need a slight modernisation. Shower with no shower curtain, so the floor was very wet afterwards. We saw the host only when she handed over the bill and then she disappeared again. Everything else was done by the household-help – which she did good, but not what I expect from a rather small guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison25, Owner at Milkwood Country Cottage, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Good morning

Thank you for your input - we appreciate it. If you do look at our other reviews you will notice that we are very much part of the running of our business - it is not always possible to be here all the time. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Lorraine made me feel very welcome and at home. The breakfast, hospitality, warmth, cleanliness and friendliness was a real treat. The rooms were so cosy and furnished so tastefully. Thank you so much. The location was an added bonus. Will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Milkwood for 5 nights. Received a very warm welcome from Loraine who went out of her way to make our stay a good one. Our room, which had a comfortable kingsize bed, had doors leading out onto a lovely garden with pool - and a golf course just beyond.
Our delicious breakfasts were served in a most delightful setting in the thatched dining room.
We would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while driving the Garden Route and found the location was perfect, our rooms were homely and comfortable and our hosts were hospitable, charming and very kind. I would recommend packing extra mosquito repellent, but definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendock Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at milkwood for two nights, From the moment we arrived to when we left our host went out of there way to make us welcome.It was spotlessly clean and quality furniture,the food ,location and the hosts were perfect a real home from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison25, Owner at Milkwood Country Cottage, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
It was our pleasure to host you and we hope that when you visit SA again you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a cosey B&B in a beautiful small town, comprised mainly of thatched houses. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. Breakfast is tasty and of a good quality. The garden at the back is on the edge of the golf course and is a pleasant place to sit out. We just stayed one night here.

Room Tip: There is a pizza restaurant a short distance away. It is good quality and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milkwood Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Country Cottage

Address: 137 St Francis Drive, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Country Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milkwood Country Cottage has unique charm and is situated in a village like no other St Francis Bay, gateway to the famed Garden Route, 1 hour away from Port Elizabeth. It is here you will come to enjoy time to yourself, time to unwind and rejuvenate. It’s here that time itself seems to take it’s pace from the lazy river meandering slowly into the Indian Ocean. You’re in a place of beauty, natural splendour and charm. From the moment you arrive at Milkwood Country Cottage you’ll experience the meaning of a “true holiday”. You will carry with you fond memories and experiences of Milkwood and the St Francis Bay area for many years to come. This is our personal promise to all our guests. Milkwood is the perfect place from which to enjoy the many activities in St Francis Bay. Golf (literally on our doorstep) – 5 paces takes you onto the 15th fairway – to the wide range of water sports, horse riding, hiking and cycling to more relaxing pastimes like lazing at the pool, sunbathing or walking on our pristine beaches – you’ll never run out of things to do. Within 3 – 5 minutes you can walk to the club house, the beach, shops, restaurants and coffee shops. St Francis Bay together with Milkwood Country Cottage offers the fortunate few a delightful escape from the pressures of daily life. Here among the graceful thatch roof homes next to the waters edge, is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Once this lifestyle has been experienced, it becomes a precious memory to cherish again and again.AccommodationOur four rooms are individually decorated and all en-suite, to meet the various needs of all our guests. Each of the four bedrooms have a private entrances leading onto the patio/pool area, they are equipped with colour TV, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and affords views onto the picturesque golf course. It is here that you will experience tranquillity, warm hospitality and time to unwind and rejuvenate. Laze along our sparkling pool and be enthralled by breath taking sunsets from your patio.You are in a place of beauty natural splendour and charm.Wake up to glorious mornings with the sound of birds in our well established gardenFor the golf enthusiast golf packages can be arranged at the Links and St Francis Bay Golf Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Milkwood Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milkwood Country Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.