We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a seat with a view...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Time Taverna

Big Time Taverna
10 Mayotte Circle, Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
27 0 42 294-1309
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Washington, DC area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Get a seat with a view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Food was better than we expected, and the location is great. Enjoyed it totally and completely... including a bottle of really good red and a cigar during the sunset between apps and mains (a rare treat). Really cool restaurant, although not cheap.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pricey but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stopped for lunch and found a beautiful setting on the canals. Makes you feel like you are in Greece. Our waiter was not great and the food was slow with foccacia coming after main meal. It was tasty but very expensive. Ask for the pizza menu as well which we only discovered as we left and buying ice- cream as a take away is half the price of the menu.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetaverna, Owner at Big Time Taverna, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out in writing a review.

There is always room for improvement. And we will continue raising our standards high in giving you quality and value for money.

In response to being a bit pricey. St Francis Bay is a seasonal destination. Dec- April. We have various specials going on in our Winter months.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any queries.

Thank you.
Peri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quirky venue, good food, eccentric owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were recommended the Big Time Taverna and the food, wine and location did not disappoint - all excellent and good value with very attentive service in a lovely canal side location. We met the expat Greek owner who is one of a kind, not afraid to volunteer his somewhat right-of-centre views on everything from employment policy to personal security and the European economy.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, SA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A friend said he would drive 100km to this restaurant - not 100, but 60”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Esceptional Greek food. Great Atmosphere. Definitely recommend if you are in the area. Definitely worth going to from J Bay. Not cheap food and the only beer they do is Peroni, but the food more than makes up.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A passionatly run restaurant that offers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

A passionatly run restaurant that offers fantastic views overlooking the St Francis canals. The food is sublime.
The outdoor deck is a fabulous place to eat, and you can have a swim in the eye level pool while enjoying pre-meal drinks.
All in all a great place to eat. You will pay for the privalage though, the food is quite pricey, drinks more so.
Well worth it!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Time Taverna also viewed

Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Big Time Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Time Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.