We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay with children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandriver Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandriver Lodge to your Saves list
Sandriver Lodge
cnr St Francis Bay & Anne Ave, Saint Francis Bay, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Omer, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our family (2 adults with 4 children) stayed at the sandriver lodge for two nights on our trip from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. Anneke, the owner was welcoming and our self catering unit was well equipped and nicely decorated. the location was perfect with walking distance to a super market, the beach and some fine restaurants. They have a great garden which our kids enjoyed playing at . WIFI available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for three nights in March 2012 as friends of ours were getting married in the area.
First and foremost the breakfast was amazing, 3 choices each morning, cooked to order (the omlette was amazing and Anneke noticed that I had removed the tomatoes the first time I ordered it so the next morning remembered and asked me if I wanted it without) - those kind of personel touches are just great. Marc was very hospitable and spent time each morning chatting to provide insight on the local area with tips on South African culture and what to expect.
The room we had was just excellent - so large and spacious and clean with a well equipped kitchen. Oddly my world adaptor didn't work with the plugs in South Africa but when we mentioned it at breakfast Marc offered the use of an adaptor that worked.
The location is fab, within walking distance is a shopping center with a Spar and a few restaurants (Barrons is a good choice). There is also a beach within an easy walk away - probably under 10 minutes. Within a short driving distance of several other great locations on the coast and again Marc is happy to point you in the direction of places to visit.
All in all a wonderful experience and would definately recommed to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Marc and Anneke were lovely B&B hosts. We cannot thank them enough for a lovely stay. Their helpful local information, banter, breakfast and hospitality were right on the spot (plus a loan of a power adapter and hair dryer).

The rooms are rustic, roomy, quiet, cute and clean - exactly as advertised, so we were not disappointed. What more can you ask for when leisurely roaming the Eastern Cape countryside and beaches. The lifestyle is not a city lifestyle and the Sandriver is not a 5 star hotel - which is good as that would ruin a lovely seaside B&B and totally miss the point. So sit back and relax - enjoy the hospitality and seaside settings (and make sure you have breakfast - that beats a 5 star hotel breakfast). Take a 5 minute walk to the beack or the shops across the roads. The other guests staying looked just as happy as we were, and rightly too. Lovely place. Lovely people. Thank you Marc and Anneke.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Sandriver Lodge is well located and excellent value for money. The owners were extremely hospitable and the room was very comfortable. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed in Sandriver Lodge for a night in January and really loved it. The rooms are really big and spacious and very comfortable. The owners are lovely lovely people, very friendly and helpful. Don’t miss breakfast – its great!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, South
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Staying at Sandriver Lodge is always like home from home. Comfortably,spacious rooms and a good breakfast. The management, Marc and Anneke, and their staff are always friendly, helpful and make one feel at home. Walking distance to the village with lovely shops and also walking distance to the beach, only ten minutes to the lighthouse and port for more entertainment or a bite to eat. Love going there.

Room Tip: If looking for self-catering, rooms have what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

To escape the city as a Business person, found this lovely lodge near to the beach where i could relax and and unwind. Very good rates. Lovely clean and organised rooms, close to all amenaties so what a pleasure it was to walk everywhere and be able to find what i needed. The hosts are very welcoming and really go the EXTRA mile for the guests. With a awesome fish braai at the lapa and really generous breakfasts. I loved this place so much that i now frequent there with my family.What a great place for kids! with so much for them to do and so safe. They loved the boogie boarding and fishing on the river.

SEE YOU AGAIN REAL SOON - JANINE ELS

Room Tip: i prefer the Self catering which is awesome. There are upstairs units with part views and the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandriver Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandriver Lodge

Address: cnr St Francis Bay & Anne Ave, Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated with a tiled roof, we have gone back to the “beginning” of St Francis Bay with the rustic feel of fisherman cottages. Copper pipes are exposed against bagged white walls, with sea shells in the plaster, concrete floors and the relaxed feel of St Francis Bay. Sandriver Lodge offers uniquely styled and set up accommodation to suit many different needs. Accommodation for one, a family, self catering or perhaps more cosy & private with breakfast in bed...we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandriver Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandriver Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.