We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than anticipated...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kayenta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hampton Inn Kayenta to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Kayenta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Certificate of Excellence
san jose, ca
2 reviews
“So much better than anticipated...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect having never been up this way.
We were visiting Monument Valley in July, so our hotel choices were few and I'm so glad this was one of them. The decor is really nice (reminded me of Tamaya in Albuquerque). The staff was really nice and helpful. The breakfast was delicious (best bacon ever), hot and plentiful. They have washers and dryers, a nice pool and bbq area. They're near gas stations, grocery store, restaurants. The wifi worked great, the room was very nice and we were able to check in pretty late. The drive to Monument Valley was beautiful and only about 20 minutes away. The only issue I might mention is that behind the hotel is an open space where people perhaps between homes seemed to congregate, as did several dogs. We did come in contact with a couple of them who were in need of some funds. They were nice and not pushy. Just putting it out there, this is on the reservation.
All in all I would absolutely stay here again. Check on some of the booking sites early on. I got a really good deal compared to others, but the cancellation window is 72 hours (they are connected to the Utah Park Service). Not easy to change arrival and departure without incurring serious fees.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side (?) face a flashing Burger King sign, but the curtains block this out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Middelharnis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We slept here during our road trip in west USA.
Hotel is about half an hour drive from Monument Valley.
Hotelrooms are good and clean. The restaurant is good, they serve Navajo food, which tastes delicious! You should really try fry bread :)
Also breakfast was good. A Navajo told about his experience in World War two.
Make sure you book a room in advance, the hotel was full when we came here in September 2012, even as other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in advance, the hotel was full when we came here in September 2012, even a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice gift shop, Informative staff, nice clean property. I was driving all day from Southern AZ and tired. I stopped in to this location and was very happy with my experience. I will stay here again on my way back through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,063 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This Hampton Inn is quite old fashioned and need some updates (only 1 elevator f.e.). The carpet in the room looked old as well and was not very clean.
Bad smell in the room because of cleaning products.
A/C was noisy as well.

But the king bed was very comfortable and we had a good night sleep.
The free breakfast was good but as Hampton Inn standards, nothing great. The wifi worked properly.
Staff was courteous but that's it.

I would also mention that the pool wasn't very clean and there was no shower (or you must indicate it). Too few sunchair as well.
Hotel situation is good if visiting Monument Valley. Restaurant choice very limited in the aera. BK is not so good.

For the price paid, I expected much more and next time, I'll surely stay at the View Hotel as you don't have the 20 miles trip to see the park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had intended to travel to Flagstaff, AZ, however car problems caused us to stay overnight in Kayenta. We were greeted by a very friendly & helpful staff member, who helped us find a mechanic that drove out to the hotel. Beautiful lobby and furnishings in the room as well. Very good complimentary breakfast. Also enjoyed dinner in their restaurant the night before.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank vbmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night after visiting Monument Valley because we couldn't book the view hotel. This hotel was clean and comfortable, good location for us going down to the Navajo national monument next day. The staff was also kind and breakfast was good. We carried a lot of food we wanted to keep in the fridge for the night, and that was the only thing we couldn't do at this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ryua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We read the reviews and were surprised they were either very good, or very bad. Usually suspicious when the reviews are polarized that way.We simply walked in, asked for a room, and everything after that was top notch. The receptionist was very helpful, and all staff were gracious and accommodating. The facility is well appointed, well maintained, and clean. The rooms were very nice at a good price ($149 for 2 queen size, nice bathroom.) We had no issue with the restaurant, and the staff made it clear they had a rush around 7:30 to 9:00. Keep that in mind, and you'll know what to expect. The store is not always open, but the hours are posted. We will certainly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kayenta
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing