We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodations but very pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kayenta

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Kayenta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kayenta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x HHonors Points Package
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good accommodations but very pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights as explored monument valley and Navajo nation. Very nice facility with friendly staff, expansive gift shop, and good breakfast. All good things didn't outweigh cost - most expensive accommodations we encountered in tour of Arizona and Utah.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    383
    103
    29
    21
See reviews for
215
389
37
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeputyDan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Comments:
I really liked the decor.
The breakfast was a step above most Hampton Inns.
Very good location (for this area)
Very polite and helpful employees.
Only one washer/dryer for the entire facility
Room was dark.
Hall ways were very warm. The temperature was over 100 while we were in the area and the hall ways were not climate controlled.
The HVAC would not keep up with the heat - out room with the HVAC at full throttle was probable 76-78 degree.
The hotel also has a restaurant. Many times when arriving late and are staying at a hotel we will order delivery and eat in the common area (we always clean up after ourselves) but this is not an option here.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

nice location to visit monument valley. nobody at front desks told us that there was complimentary coffee available. when i asked how to get back to las vegas by car, the front desk said that i do not know,,, it is helpless unfortunately

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were touring in the west and found that we'd be in the Monument Valley area on the Friday after July 4th. The only fairly decent hotel according to the reviews was this one, so we booked it, though it cost near two hundred bucks with taxes. The staff were wonderful, they couldn't have been more efficient and helpful. The room was to the usual standard for a Hampton Inn, but the construction of the building seems to have let them down. We heard banging and thumping sounds from upper floors as if they were right next to us. The air conditioning unit was noisy and marginally effective. But that's all it takes to make a good hotel in to a poor experience. As usual the free breakfast is worth what you pay for it. The Burger King next door is a lot better option for breakfast. What was offered here was the standard cheap hotel free breakfast of sausage patties you wouldn't buy which seemed to have been steamed, reconstituted 'scrambled egg' which was indistinguishable from suspiciously colored textured something or other, and potatoes which seemed to have been fried then steamed until they were falling to pieces. Not very nice when you spend a couple of hundred bucks on the room. But in the middle of the desert where else are you going to go? Back to Durango? On to Flagstaff? It's better than a flop house, so see if you can get an upstairs room and go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I don't visit Kayenta too often but, on the four occasions I have stayed here over 9 years I have found it to be a great hotel. It is a cut above the average Hampton Inn because the management obviously takes great care and pride in maintaining the property and the service at the highest possible level. As a part of the Navajo nation there is an appropriate level of local flavor in the restaurant menu, the gift shop and the overall ambiance of the hotel. The blending of local culture with the efficient functioning of a hotel is perfect.

The rooms are always spotless, quiet and everything functions well. The restaurant has an extensive menu of dinner items and provides an excellent (included) breakfast in the morning.

They always seem to be full so I had to pay full rate (something I rarely do) but, in this case, I think it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Like most Hampton Inns, we found this place to be fulfilling our expectations. Rooms were clean and adequately sized. Good location for Monument Valley or if you’d like to do the hike to Betatakin (which you should btw). Although I realize this is a quite remote location I still thought the rate of 200+ USD to be quite expensive for what you’re getting. A fridge and room safe would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Kayenta Hampton Inn is truly a gem within a stone throw of Monument Valley. The quality of the accommodation is superb, and the welcome is warm. The front desk is quick and efficient, the rooms clean, and the restaurant prompt. We truly enjoyed resting our weary bodies there after the long ride from Phoenix.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite - Kayenta is in the Navajo Nation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kayenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.