We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not to their usual standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kayenta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Kayenta to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Kayenta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Bay Area, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OK, but not to their usual standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were touring in the west and found that we'd be in the Monument Valley area on the Friday after July 4th. The only fairly decent hotel according to the reviews was this one, so we booked it, though it cost near two hundred bucks with taxes. The staff were wonderful, they couldn't have been more efficient and helpful. The room was to the usual standard for a Hampton Inn, but the construction of the building seems to have let them down. We heard banging and thumping sounds from upper floors as if they were right next to us. The air conditioning unit was noisy and marginally effective. But that's all it takes to make a good hotel in to a poor experience. As usual the free breakfast is worth what you pay for it. The Burger King next door is a lot better option for breakfast. What was offered here was the standard cheap hotel free breakfast of sausage patties you wouldn't buy which seemed to have been steamed, reconstituted 'scrambled egg' which was indistinguishable from suspiciously colored textured something or other, and potatoes which seemed to have been fried then steamed until they were falling to pieces. Not very nice when you spend a couple of hundred bucks on the room. But in the middle of the desert where else are you going to go? Back to Durango? On to Flagstaff? It's better than a flop house, so see if you can get an upstairs room and go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    420
    130
    30
    23
See reviews for
258
458
40
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I don't visit Kayenta too often but, on the four occasions I have stayed here over 9 years I have found it to be a great hotel. It is a cut above the average Hampton Inn because the management obviously takes great care and pride in maintaining the property and the service at the highest possible level. As a part of the Navajo nation there is an appropriate level of local flavor in the restaurant menu, the gift shop and the overall ambiance of the hotel. The blending of local culture with the efficient functioning of a hotel is perfect.

The rooms are always spotless, quiet and everything functions well. The restaurant has an extensive menu of dinner items and provides an excellent (included) breakfast in the morning.

They always seem to be full so I had to pay full rate (something I rarely do) but, in this case, I think it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Like most Hampton Inns, we found this place to be fulfilling our expectations. Rooms were clean and adequately sized. Good location for Monument Valley or if you’d like to do the hike to Betatakin (which you should btw). Although I realize this is a quite remote location I still thought the rate of 200+ USD to be quite expensive for what you’re getting. A fridge and room safe would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Kayenta Hampton Inn is truly a gem within a stone throw of Monument Valley. The quality of the accommodation is superb, and the welcome is warm. The front desk is quick and efficient, the rooms clean, and the restaurant prompt. We truly enjoyed resting our weary bodies there after the long ride from Phoenix.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite - Kayenta is in the Navajo Nation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is at the intersection of Routes 191 and 160 next to a Burger King. GPS is not helpful since there are no street addresses on the Navaho reservation.

The rooms are nice and modern with a nice restaurant and gift shop. The staff is nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersham, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful decor, superior hospitality, clean and spotless.
An oasis in the dry and dusty region. Everyone working here just beams with obvious enjoyment. Great breakfast included. Lovely restaurant. Couldn't be more pleased. I just wish other chain hotels would do as nice a job.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopped here for a night when visting Monument Valley. We only booked here as there was little available at the accommodation in Monument Valley and what was available was outrageously expensive. So we stopped here and I'm glad we did. The rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable,the staff very friendly and there's plenty of parking. The restaurant also serves dinner which was very nice and the breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kayenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.