We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kayenta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hampton Inn Kayenta to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Kayenta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Despite this property's location near the main drag, my room was very quiet. The king bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. I travel extensively across the Navajo Nation for business and I know the options are limited as far as accommodations in most rez towns, but as far as Kayenta/Monument Valley goes, this is your best bet. The buffet breakfast was quite good and staff made sure all choices were well stocked and fresh. All staff, from the front desk to housekeeping and restaurant, were courteous and helpful.

My only complaint is the overpowering scent of the fabric softener or detergent used on the bedding. I am not especially sensitive and use scented fabric softener on my own laundry at home, but the strong perfumed scent on the bedsheets was too much. I got a headache and my throat was burning. I slept with the covers no higher than my waist. I can only imagine the difficulty this would pose for travelers with allergies or sensitivities. I would suggest that management consider reevaluating their laundry supplies. A powerful perfume odor does not equate to clean - in fact sometimes it causes one to wonder if it's covering something else up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    447
    140
    31
    24
See reviews for
272
491
49
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel is very convenient to Monument Valley. Night manager was very helpful in getting us checked in and informing us that they followed daylight savings time on the Navajo reservation. He also gave us tips on how to tour Monument Valley with our own car. Hotel was clean and comfortable and the lobby was quite relaxing with the fireplace. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There are few places to stay near Kayenta, and the Hampton Inn is your best bet. Typical chain hotel, reasonably clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. The hotel was a bit expensive for what it is, but if this location is what you need, this is your place. We wanted to explore Navajo National Monument early in the morning without a long drive, and the Hampton Inn Kayenta was the best choice - worked out very well. No problem staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There aren't many places to stay in Kayenta, and the Hampton Inn is the best. It's a short drive to Monument Valley and much less expensive than the hotel in the park.

Hampton Inn is clean and convenient. The rate includes breakfast, which is pretty good. There is a gift shop in the lobby as well as a restaurant. We had dinner at the restaurant and were pleased with the quality of the food and service. The area was comfortable, with a working fireplace. During our meal, we saw many locals and their families eating there, most of them dressed in native costume and speaking the Navajo language. That's quite an endorsement!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Made a very last minute reservation without seeing reviews so did not have high expectations. What a great hotel. Staff all dressed in Navajo fashion were VERY friendly and accommodating. Hotel is fresh and clean. The interior design and appointments are very nice and reflect the heritage of the Navajo Nation. Restaurant was a wonderful surprise - many interesting options and selected Navajo Tacos in the spirit of the place - the tacos were quality - the fry bread was the best we had ever experienced. Quite frankly we will craft future travel plans to spend the night in Kayenta as we annually travel to Phoenix. Great job folks - see you again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived very late and were already checked in by the night manager, made it quick and simple. Great hotel, very nice and the complimentary breakfast is always a big plus. We will definitely stay here again when traveling through this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, WIsconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Southwest geography and Navajo culture are reflected throughout this great hotel. The lobby is warm and welcoming. The room decor is great, the bedding exceptionally nice and a note on our bed let us know that even the duvet covers are changed for each guest. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kayenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.