We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near Monument Valley.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kayenta

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Kayenta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kayenta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2x HHonors Points Package
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
Springfield, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near Monument Valley.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There are not many choices in Kayenta if you want to stay close to Monument Valley. The room offered comfortable bed, very clean with mini frig. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We had a late night pizza from the restaurant that was quite good. The gift shop is lovely with many authentic Native American items. Don't miss the Navajo Code Talker exhibit at the nearby Burger King. The exhibit is thoughtfully assembled and a tribute to these heroes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    372
    103
    28
    19
See reviews for
224
397
37
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a two night stay here booked as part of a recent trip. When we arrived we were very impressed with the hotel interior. We were checked in by a lady who seemed not to understand the use of 'Please' or 'Thank You' until she noticed that we were members of the Hilton Honors club and then reeled off a plainly false polite welcome to her 'returning guests'. Yawn!! We were informed at checkin that the outdoor pool was closed for season Grrr... It was 82 degrees outside, we were hot, bothered and exhausted and apparently the pool had been closed for Winter!

Once in our room, which was very nice, we discovered that our remote controller for the TV was not working. I rang down to reception and was told that I should bring it down to them and they would change the batteries! Hmmmm..... So it seems that it was too much effort to pop a replacement one up to our room, or even send someone up to replace the batteries for us! Never mind, I went down to reception and waited in line for my turn to be served and then waited patiently while batteries were changed and then went back to my room. A minor issue, I here you say, but I felt for the money we were paying, a faulty controller should not have been my problem to fix!

Went spent a very comfortable first night and the hotel room and facilities were great. The breakfast area was tastefully laid out and the food was fine.

Our biggest problem with our stay here was not anything that the hotel could influence. We had booked these two nights so that we could visit Monument Valley. So although we were largely unconcerned by exactly where in Kayenta we were staying, the area surrounding the hotel was unpleasant. There were stray dogs roaming the area (more than a dozen that we spotted). These dogs would follow you around if they thought you had food on you. The area was also rife with beggars 'working the tourists'. We watched them pleading with the visitors leaving the Burger King next door for money for food. When they were sucessful they would thank the 'victim', walk though the main entrance of the building and straight out of the rear door. Wait a few minutes for the donor to leave and then return to the front door to catch the next sucker leaving. I understand that the hotel cannot influence this environment in any way, but as a visitor to the hotel, you should be aware that this goes on.

We checked out a day early. Partly because we felt uncomfortable in the area around the hotel and partly because we found that for 60% of the cost of a room at the Hampton Inn, we could spend a night at The View Hotel actually inside the Navajo Tribal Park, watching the sun set over the valley from our balcony.

This hotel has some customer service issues it needs to address, but is OK if you are just passing through. However, it not work for us as a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kayenta, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am very sorry about the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. You are a valued Hilton Honors guest and we certainly do not want you to stay with one of our competitors. Unfortunately, we can not do anything about the animals that roam the Navajo Indiana Reservation because of the open range policy in this region. However, I can guarantee that you will experience outstanding customer service if you are willing to give us a second chance. It would be our pleasure to have you come stay with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were a little concerned as to what we would get in such a small town but boy were we pleasantly surprised. This hotel is a real treat - one of the best on our 3 week 15 hotel tour of the four corner states! The rooms and lobby are decorated in a very upscale Navajo style and look beautiful and the lobby even has a feature fireplace. plus there is magical background music and 24hr tea and coffee. The rooms are fantastic - large, clean and beautifully decorated with lovely artwork on the walls. The pool is a good size, nicely enclosed and private and the water is toasty warm. There is also a really nice patio area where you can take your breakfast or just hang out. The breakfast is included in the price and varied and good. The restaurant is also beautifully decorated and the service was good. we all loved our dinners and there was choice of Indian or AMerican dishes - I would highly recommend the green chilli stew. We thought the staff were great in general - if a little shy. But when we broke thorugh our waitress' shyness she was really lovely. We loved the View hotel in Monument valley - it is a difficult choice which to stay in - both are great

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Being B&B folks ourselves, we try to avoid chain hotels when traveling. However, Kayenta, Arizona does not offer many options for lodging. Boy, were we in for a surprise! After reading Tripadvisor reviews, we decided on this hotel and could not possibly have done any better -- even in a city. This is an upscale Hampton Inn at regular Hampton Inn prices. Situated in the Navajo Nation, the folks here are most nice and accommodating. The hotel layout is unlike other Hamptons; we were told there is only one other such Hampton Inn and it is in Europe. The lobby was seasonally decorated for the fall and was complete with live native music in the evening. There is a fireplace in the lobby and kiva-type fireplaces on the patio. Though I missed him, there was even a Navajo Code Talker mingling with guests at breakfast in the lobby, an awesome glimpse into our history and the bravery of a discriminated yet heroic people. Breakfast was your better-than-average continental hotel breakfast fare. The hotel gift shop offers many tempting trinkets and finds, primarily from local craftsmen. The hotel is directly next door to the local Code Talker museum, which lies just next door to the local Burger King that also houses wonderful displays as a tribute to the owner's father, a Code Talker, too. Just beyond that is the local eatery, the Blue Coffee Pot -- all of which is in walking distance. Should you find yourself visiting the Monument Valley area in Arizona, you must include Kayenta and the Hampton Inn there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaikou, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Driving to Kayenta,Az. Off season we didn't think we would have any problems finding a place to Stay,we got one of the last rooms that evening an paid a lot more than a Hampton Inn should charge,if the resturant is closed your committed to a Sonics or a gas station for snacks.If you can better to continue to Monument Valley if you can get a room.Call Ahead

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided to book on line for fear the rate would double upon arrival (per reviewers) without a reservation. At check in we approached a Native at the front desk who was polite - I noticed that most of the Navajo people are a bit standoffish - but NOT rude. You won't find broad, fake, Disney white smiles here. Maybe due to the prohibition of alcohol ;) Which leads me to point out - it's illegal to bring alcohol (we found out quickly) and you cannot purchase any - at the restaurant they offer NA wine/beer.

The restaurant is more like a glorified cafeteria inside the lobby. But, they have a nice selection of meal choices (salmon, steak, etc) and Navajo fried bread (delicious). The lobby and gift shop is finely appointed in Navajo decor. When we arrived a fireplace had a healthy fire roaring and the beautiful native flute music played in the background.

The patio area was relaxing with lots of tables with appointed umbrellas. There is an issue with wild/stray dogs who will beg for food when out on the patio area (but they're friendly).

Overall it was a very nice stay and would recommend it (beautiful drive to and from Aspen and Scottsdale) .

Room Tip: Ask for room toward back for easy entrance - elevator is extremely slow - perhaps a first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wanted to spend the night but took forever to get served and the lady at the front desk would not match the web page price. Stayed else where where the frront desk was warm and helpful. Since then stayed at 2 other Hampton Inns and totally impressed with rooms and staff

Room Tip: Beats me, I tried and was rejected
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionna d d, Manager at Hampton Inn Kayenta, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I have read your complaint and i apologozie for not meeting your expectations when you visited us in November. The Manager on Duty should have explained to you that it is NOT Hilton policy to "MATCH' 3rd party websit pricing. The discounts that are available to guest are through AAA or AARP only. We also offer government / military discounts during our low season only.
I hope that this clarifies things for you and i hope that if you are in our area again that you would stop in and stay with us. We would love having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kayenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.