We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is at the Burger King next door to Hampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navaho Code Talkers Exhibit

Navaho Code Talkers Exhibit
253 Peabody, Kayenta, AZ
928-697-3534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Kayenta
Attraction details
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“this is at the Burger King next door to Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

it's very interesting to know how they helped the U.S. in WWII, not a lot of artifacts but interesting information

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Didn't even know this was here until we drove by and it was advertised. It made our decision as to where breakfast was going to be the next morning. Thank you!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful display and don't miss the weaving display.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stopped at Burger King to get a cold beverage and found wonderful treasures. This Navajo Code Talkers display is the length of a wall and has double decker display cabinets on all four sides. This display was assembled by the son of King Mike Sr., one of the Navajo Code Talkers. There are photos, letters, newspaper and magazine articles, pieces of memorabilia (guns, helmets, ribbons, items used by the soldiers in war) and the list goes on. Everything displayed is authentic and meant to educate people and acknowledge and honor those who fought. We also enjoyed the Navajo Code Talker doll that is still in the original box. In one section of this 4 sided display, is a computer that people can use (great for when away from home computer.)
Then as we went to the restroom we were impressed to see a weaving display that spanned the length of the hall. It had a small weaving display in the center, with entire rest of the display showing how the locals made the different color yarn. They labeled a sample plant and put a sample dyed piece of yarn. There are hundreds of different plants with the corresponding dyed pieces of yarn; incredible! In addition,to these fabulous displays, one can find more just outside and to the back of the Burger King. There is an actual Hogan to go into and there is a Sweat Lodge and an additional building that has a lot of WWII memorabilia, including posters, swords, photos, etc. This is definitely Not To Be Missed and worth the time to stop.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well done exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I went through this exhibit not really knowing what to expect. Full of information. I learned a lot about the culture in a small amount of time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“TRULY unexpected Burger King Bonus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well, the owner DOES have a family connection with the Code Talkers, but still...a fascinating insight into a little-known aspect of WWII...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navaho Code Talkers Exhibit also viewed

 

Been to Navaho Code Talkers Exhibit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navaho Code Talkers Exhibit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.