We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reuben Heflin

Reuben Heflin
Hwy 160, Kayenta, AZ 86033
(928) 697-3170‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Kayenta
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This restaurant is located in the Hampton Inn. We had the Wednesday lamb shank special, which was outstanding. The Navaho flat bread with honey is a good choice, either as an appetizer or as desert. The servings were very generous. Somewhat surprising given the limited number of alternative choices, the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    13
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Burger King is Next Door”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just average size burger for $10; fries not available due
to fryer out-of order but a small baked potato was the
substitute. Menu seems ambitious as it does have
lots of choices that go well into the $20's; there are daily
specials. Lovely setting in the lobby/breakfast area of the
Hampton Inn; friendly waiter; manager promptly took care
of improperly prepared dish (not the burger but a soup entrée)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Kayenta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the only place for better dining options in Kayenta. Reuben Heflin, inside the Hampton Inn, is a pleasant oasis from the fast food and Mexican cafes in the area. I had the special, steamed herb-rubbed salmon on a bed of prima vera tossed noodles and sauté fresh veggies. The entree was perfect and just what I needed after a beautiful day hiking in Monument Valley.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne. Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only late night choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got in to town around 9pm and all of the other restaurants had already closed. We checked this place out and it was a great choice. The Navajo Taco is very good and the price is reasonable. The restaurant is inside the Holiday Inn but has its own unique look and feel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was staying at the Hampton Inn so it was easy to go here for dinner. I wish I'd gone to Burger King next door. My partner ordered the All American Burger which has chilli on top. I ordered something that was supposed to feature "shaved beef and fried onions" in a sandwich. After a very long wait our food arrived. Mine was was not as described in the menu. It was thick cut beef (not shaved), no onions to be seen, and covered in mushrooms, green peppers and (I think) cheese. It was cold. When I complained to the "maitre d' " she said something like "I don't know what to tell you... it's the right sandwich but the wrong toppings". Hmm. I promptly told her I wanted something else - so I too ordered the burger. 10 minutes after my parter finished eating, my burger showed up. It was mediocre. Again, I wish I'd gone to Burger King.

Our server was really friendly and nice though so she still got a good tip. If you like a drink beware: the Navajo reservation is dry, so they don't serve alcohol anywhere. Bring your own and have it in your room. The restaurant were nice enough to lend us a corkscrew so that we could open a bottle of wine to have after dinner in our room.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben Heflin also viewed

 

Been to Reuben Heflin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reuben Heflin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.