We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kayenta Monument Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Kayenta Monument Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction US Highways 160 & 163, P.O. Box 307, Kayenta, AZ 86033 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kayenta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“clean, comfortable rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. They were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was not rude. There is 50% unemployment on the Navajo reservation and the staff may be depressed, more than rude. That was my impression. Still, they were polite, if somewhat reserved. Lots of stray dogs throughout the town, friendly, waiting for a handout. Sad as well. As for the person who said the hotel was "in the middle of nowhere" well, duh...of course it is..that's why you went there, supposedly..to be in the middle of nowhere and see nature at its finest. And Monument Valley is beautiful. Right up the street from the hotel is a fast food restaurant and there is an exhibit there about the Navajo Code Talkers of WW2. The owner of the restaurant is the son of one of the code talkers. It seemed to me inappropriate to have the exhibit in a fast food restaurant, but when I thought about it I realized that there really wasn't any other place for the exhibit and it would maximize the number of people who would actually see it. And he doesn't charge to see any of the photos and objects. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    230
    271
    118
    72
See reviews for
172
308
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a trip to Monument Valley since it was only 30 miles away. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable but I think the 2 double beds in the main room were closer to a 1 1/2 bed. We booked a 2 room suite so our son had the extra small bedroom.
No continental breakfast was provided. Theirs is $10.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vriezenveen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Avoid staying in Kayenta if you possibly can!
The 3 motels we could find there are all ridiculous priced, profiting of course from the neighbourhood of monument valley.
We got a rebate at Holiday Inn, but it came from our own wallet, as we found out the next morning. We found out we had to pay for breakfast, which was not very special.
Without rebate , breakfast is included, with rebate you pay for breakfast.
so in the end you pay more. The motel was a little scruffy, tired too.
The wild dogs in the grounds are probably not their fault, but it did not help the atmosphere of decay.
It was the most expensive of all the motels we visited in the last four weeks, but it surely was not one of the best.
In contrast we had very, very nice stay in the Palm Springs holiday inn, so it is not the brand as such that sucks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kayenta hotels

Berlin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

its not the cheapest, but it feels good. comfortable rooms, nice dinner, all how it should be. its near monument valley, an astonishingly beautiful place - especially AFTER sunset. again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed in this hotel and were very pleased with it. Kayenta does not have a lot of choices for eating so the hotel restaurant was very useful. Dinner and breakfast were great. For dinner we had a local favorite dish which was excellent.

We stayed in the El Captain (sp?) suite which was really nice. it had the best bed and space during our 12 day vacation.

Beware there is no alcohol served in the Indian reservation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed there for just a night. Our rooms were not in the two-storeyed buildings but those on the sides. So there were no rooms upstairs and we didnt have the sound problem with the neighboring rooms. The rooms were nice especially the beds were soft and cosy. The bathroom were small. The service was good. Want to mention the restaurent specially as it was too good. We loved the food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Agree with many of the previous reviews, room fine except for that plastic sofa and the holes in the wall where something had been unscrewed and taken down. The pool was out of use for which various reasons were given including an earlier sandstorm. Didn't seem to know if it would open again that season, but it was full and being serviced when we left. We did manage to get a free breakfast in lieu of the pool facility. Contrary to the previous review, we had excellent meals in the restaurant, waited on by very pleasant staff - not something very common in this part of the country! The frajitas served sizzling hot on a skillet were really good and highly recommended. If you order the carrot cake, only ask for one. The piece is both huge and delicious.

The pack(s) of wild dogs hanging around the hotel are rather offputting but don't appear to be dangerous.
The ranger (only) led hike to Betatakin puebloan cliff dwelling in the Navajo National Monument is highly recommended.
Navajo National Monument and the guided ranger hike to the Betatakin pueblo site is highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kayenta Monument Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayenta Monument Valley Inn

Address: Junction US Highways 160 & 163, P.O. Box 307, Kayenta, AZ 86033 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kayenta)
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayenta Monument Valley Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kayenta Monument Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayenta Monument Valley Hotel Kayenta
Holiday Inn Kayenta
Kayenta Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayenta Monument Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;