We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No glitz, no glamour just a clean and peaceful place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kayenta Monument Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Kayenta Monument Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction US Highways 160 & 163, P.O. Box 307, Kayenta, AZ 86033 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kayenta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
London, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No glitz, no glamour just a clean and peaceful place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

As with so many others, we stayed during a trip to Monument Valley. Our two nights were restful and without incident. Upon our arrival, we were told that the king rooms that we had booked were changed to doubles. The reason for this, which we were grateful for, was that those rooms were being recarpeted and they did not want us to be disturbed by the workman. After that, check-in was a breeze.

In general, the room was very clean--probably the most important thing--and the furnishings in good condition. The bathroom could do with some updating. The free wi-fi was a delight. Overall, I think that when one considers that this hotel was probably built in the 1970s (the buidlings are a bit dreary) it has held up quite well.

On our view of the value, I put it at three because we had a corporate discount. From what I have seen on the Holiday Inn website without the discount the rooms are a little pricey. But, having looked at other hotels in the area the rack rate seems to be average.

Others have pointed out that there are a lot of stray dogs in the area. Whilst this is not false we only saw a couple.

In short, I would not discourge a traveller from staying at this hotel. It does or is what it says on the tin, and what one should expect from a hotel in such a small town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    214
    244
    106
    67
See reviews for
151
283
27
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We were on a roadtrip and booked the hotel a day before we went to Kayenta. Because of this we didn't have a voucher printed out. We hadn't had any problems with other hotels so we thought it wouldn't be. Well coming to the hotel the lady behind the desk was not verry welkoming and kinda complaint we didn't have a vouchure. But we got our rooms. The rooms it self were oke, nothing wrong with it. For diner we went to the hotel restaurant cause there wasn't much ells in the neighborhood. The service was oke, but the food was really bad! The next day we wanted to check out and we got a bill. While we had already payed online. Which we were sure of! The lady didn't do anything to check it out againd. And she was just plain rude. In the end we had payed twice! Not a good thing and the service and people were just plain rude!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I stayed here with my family a couples summers ago but never got around to writing a review. I'm taking the time now to warn fellow travelers NOT to stay here. In the course of a week, we drove from Phoenix, to Sedona, to Monument Valley, to Zion National Park, to Las Vegas, needless to say, we were tired. The first thing you'll notice is all the stray dogs roaming around. It absolutely broke my heart, so much so, we stopped at a local store to pick up dog food to feed the animals. I was unaware when we first arrived at the Holiday Inn that the dogs were stray so I asked the woman in the gift store whose dogs they were. She snapped my head off and told me in a condescending voice that they were strays when I merely wanted permission to give them a bowl of water.

The room they gave us reeked of cigarette smoke so we changed rooms. The next one wasn't any better. The sheets were dirty and felt like I was sleeping in a hospital bed. The staff is as cordial as they have to be but definitely are not warm and friendly. That being said, I understand how many tourists are probably inconsiderate to those in the Navajo community, especially when towns like Kayenta suffer from poverty. It's a really unfortunate predicament but our trip was definitely soured by our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010 via mobile

Stood in line for 20 minutes to check in with a reservation reserved a non-smoking king room. Upon check in found out no more king only 2 beds smoking. My confirmation did NOT mean crap. Evening manager was totally clueless of his duty. GM next morning rude as ever could care less to my complaints. The only one to acknowledge my disappionts was the nice front desk girl "Tilda" who took it upon herself to buy us breakfast. This made up for the 2 rude encounters.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Most people on here complain about the price of this hotel. Yes it is expensive, but in a part of the world where there is minimal competition I'm not sure what people expect. The price is well worth it when you consider that Monument Valley is 25 mins away and you would probably only spend 1/2 nights here anyway.

Good points:
Good location for getting to Monument Valley.
The rooms were really good, very clean, large and comfortable.
Free internet in lobby.

Bad points:
Waiters/waitresses are hopeless in the restaurant
No alcohol (suggest you stock up the boot of your car before you come here)

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I rested well and enjoyed the serenity of the area. The food was good in the hotel and I thought the rates were very good. Free wifi in my room helped my work since I was there on business.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

The family room was a good size and the pool was clean. Disappointing evening meal though.

Easy to get to Monument valley.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kayenta Monument Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayenta Monument Valley Inn

Address: Junction US Highways 160 & 163, P.O. Box 307, Kayenta, AZ 86033 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kayenta)
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayenta Monument Valley Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kayenta Monument Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayenta Monument Valley Hotel Kayenta
Holiday Inn Kayenta
Kayenta Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayenta Monument Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.