We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, considering the options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wetherill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wetherill Inn to your Saves list
Wetherill Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Main Street, Kayenta, AZ 86033-0175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Michigan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Acceptable, considering the options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

On the way to Monument Valley or Grand Canyon, depending on your direction, this is as good as it gets. It's a motor inn, although they do have a pool. Nice breaky included. Rooms are clean, attractive and up to date although on the small side. Quiet other than a bit of road noise in the morning only. Room comes with a fridge, TV, coffee pot, ironing board, hair dryer, lots of lights, Internet. There are only a handful of hotels in this Navajo Nation town. The price was about $90 a night so well within the range that we've generally paid on our swing of the western states. Like another reviewing noted, the parking lot is quite small and tricky to maneuver. Funny considering the town is surrounded by miles and miles and miles of open land.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    152
    135
    41
    17
See reviews for
83
196
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was your typical 1960s motel. Motel had all room doors opening to the parking lot. It was clean and comfortable with an indoor pool. The Breakfast was surprisingly good and the staff was friendly. I would stay there again if I was in the area. Close to monument Valley.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiiumaa, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was a very nice place. We were on our way from Monument Valley to Grand Canyon, so good location. It was the best price of the inns in the town. The room was very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was good, enough choice (I dont have very high expectations). The most annoying thing was the asphalt at the parking slot as there were lots of small sticky stones that got stuck at my flipflops:). Other than than it was really nice experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife Deb and I enjoyed our stay, for the most part. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, the air conditioner worked well and we didn't hear any traffic noise, so we slept well. The staff was friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. The continental breakfast didn't offer much choice, but at least the coffee was good. We had to drive across town for our meals, as there was nothing at all in walking distance. The room did have a fridge and microwave, if one were inclined to bring groceries. We went down to the heated pool to swim but it seemed the pool was heated with ice water. No swimming for us, and we're from North Dakota! We choose the motel because it was close to Monument Valley, on our way to Page, AZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wetherill Inn, a stopover on the way to Monument Valley from the Grand Canyon. Our room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The office offers a complimentary Internet terminal if you need to check your email or plan your next stop. The indoor pool was pleasant, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. Lots of choices, including a pancake machine (never seen one before). There are several rooms where you can sit and eat your breakfast, including a quiet outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enon, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First of all, Wetherill Inn is clean, and very basic, but I thought a bit pricey for what you get. I think it was part of the Navajo Tribal lands, so that could explain the price. Close to Monument Valley (well worth the trip!!). The customer service at the desk needs a lot of work. We had trouble with the air conditioner all evening, and at first the customer service at the desk said that we'd just have to tough it out. When my husband suggested a discount, she finally called the maintenance guy to take a look at it (after a second reminder call from my husband). He evidently was called from home, but was very gracious and fixed the problem. They were new air conditioners, but hadn't been set up correctly. The bed was comfortable, but they didn't seem to have king size beds, so we got a double room. We asked for a recommendation for a place to eat, and was sent to the Blue Coffee Pot Cafe. Diner type food. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

there isn't much selection in this town for lodging and this was the only place that had a room that night. the room was large are over so are family of 5 have plenty of space.

the breakfast was okay, but I elected to eat at the Amigo cafe down the road. the rest of the family ate at the motel and they didn't complain too much.

my biggest complaint was the parking. there did not seem to be enough spots available and those who arrived late, like us had a challenge in finding a place to park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wetherill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetherill Inn

Address: 1000 Main Street, Kayenta, AZ 86033-0175
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wetherill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wetherill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetherill Hotel Kayenta
Best Western Wetherill Hotel
Best Western Kayenta
Kayenta Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wetherill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.