We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best free breakfast ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wetherill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Wetherill Inn to your Saves list
Wetherill Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 163, Kayenta, AZ 86033-0175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
INDEPENDENCE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best free breakfast ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Beautiful little motel -- seemed brand-new. Comfy bed, good water pressure, fridge in room, microwave available by ice machine. But what really stood out was the breakfast -- they had this terrific pancake machine that made 2 delicious pancakes in about 1 minute. Told my husband -- I want one of those machines! Also fruit cocktail, standard selection of rolls/bagels/breads, biscuits & gravy (didn't taste, but it looked great). PLUS both regular & decaf coffee and hazelnut creamer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    123
    120
    38
    15
See reviews for
72
169
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After reading the reviews prior to this I can empathize with many. We were referred here by Gouldings Lodge, closer to Monument Valley, as Gouldings did not have space for our group. None of our group of 25 complained to me about the rooms, and a few enjoyed the pool, but my room seemed dark and tired. There was a mini-refrigerator in the rooms and a wide screen TV. Free continental breakfast. It's not walking distance to anywhere, but there is practically no "Where" there. The only reason I can see to stay in Kayenta is its proximity to Monument Valley. It's a 5 minute drive from this 2 story motel to anywhere in town. They recommended and made reservations for us at the Blue Coffee Pot, which is probably the best place in town to eat. The gift shop is superb! And we had no problems with any of the staff, in fact they were very helpful about the dinner reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as there may be diesel vehicles in the adjacent parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed in Kayenta a couple of times, but at the Hampton Inn which was full on this trip, so we stayed at Wetherills. The room was tired looking and dark, and the walls and floors were not sound proofed at all. It was noisy. The wireless connection was just about useless. My major complaint was that we called on the road and made a reservation and paid for it with our credit card. It was apparently their last available room. It was not until after we left that I discovered that they had not honored the rate that they had quoted us on the phone. It was only 10 dollars or so higher, but seems pretty shady to me. Next time I will keep driving if the Hampton is full. Very poor value for the money, about 135 dollars with tax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kayenta hotels

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wow! The kindness of the Navajo is unbelievable and I love even more their business sense. This Inn is very conveniently located, very clean, spacious and has a great, friendly and helpful staff and a laundry facility on site! They sell laundry soap so don't sweat it, you don't have to bring anything with you, it's all there. Very nice indoor pool as well. Definitely a place I would stay again. If you wish to eat at a local restaurant you HAVE to go to the restaurant of the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Compared with other chain motels around the U.S. countryside the rates in kayenta are higher in general. You pay for the location near monument valley, not for a fancy motel. knowing this the wetherill inn is a good choice. It was clean and tidy. Nevertheless the village itself is a mess. Lots of slags hanging around and nothing to do, except for the monument valley. Again: considering all this we would stay there again for one night, pretty much because monument valley is just a 30 minutes ride from there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a typical American motel-style hotel with large bedrooms and views out over the car park. The room was clean although dark, with very noisy air con and toilet. For one night it was fine but I wouldn't want to stay much longer as for the money (we paid $149 on the door), it wasn't great. Breakfast pretty basic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Kayenta is a small town.This motel is on the main street. The room is big and beds are comfort. We enjoyd the breakfast they offered. The AC is very loud and we have to use our luggage to build up a wall to block out the fan as it directly blow the bed. It offers what we need as tourist just stayed for one night but it is over priced for the old motel.

Room Tip: We stayd on the 2nd floor, it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wetherill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetherill Inn

Address: Highway 163, Kayenta, AZ 86033-0175
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wetherill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wetherill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetherill Hotel Kayenta
Best Western Wetherill Hotel
Best Western Kayenta
Kayenta Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wetherill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.