We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, grim staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anasazi Inn at Tsegi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kayenta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anasazi Inn at Tsegi
Save
You added Anasazi Inn at Tsegi to your Saves list
P.O.Box 1543, Highway 160, 10 Miles West Of Kayenta, Kayenta, AZ 86033   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, grim staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The room was clean, and neat. The room's dark interior paneling and hanging pictures were very dated. Although the Inn is right on the highway there was zero road noise in the night - no traffic at all. I slept like a rock. Beautiful dark skies as well. There was no cell phone service and the TV reception was largly snowy - we turned it off immediately. I liked the remote feel to the place but I feel that it was WAY overpriced ($107/night). There was no breakfast included although there is a good cafe on site with standard options as well as Navajo options. We tried the fry bread because of reviews but it is just that - fried bread - and if you are not accustomed to fried foods it just makes your stomach hurt. The beef was not very good. I would have a hamburger next time. The staff did not seem very happy to be there, downright cranky. I can't criticize that - I might not like it either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    31
    14
    38
See reviews for
19
39
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillette
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My wife called all other hotels in the area and were informed they were full, but this place had an opening for $71. We thought "why not", the reviews looked ok. It turned out to be one of the more depressing places I've ever stayed. The building seems to be a modular type trailer that has been converted into rooms. Our room had an odor, the television was from the 80's, and the bathroom floor sagged when I walked on it. To top it all off, we woke up in the morning and had no water. None....not even drops. So, we could not shower, wash up, or even use toilet facilites. Looking back, it would have been better (and cheaper) to sleep in our truck for the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kayenta hotels

Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you have to stay there than is o.k. for one night
Motel is run by Native Americans , sits on pretty well traveled road
We stayed there because of scarcity of the hotels in this area in 2008
This was only place with rooms available
As far as grounds nothing to impress
The whole area looks depressed
Staff is very friendly and serves good breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed there for one night and really appreciate the ambiance in this motel. The room was clean and we had a really nice view on the mountain. Outside of the motel was very quiet but the walls are very thin so we could hear our noisy room neighboors!! The breakfast was one of the best breakfast we had during our trip and the staff was really pleasant. We would definitely come back here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/a
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

if you think you might be staying in kayenta PLEASE make reservations at Hampton Inn! then you wont have to stay at Anasazi inn. it is wretched! Kayenta has a couple other lodges but like Hampton, they fill up fast.
Anasazi inn has lots of rooms and you will have to end up staying there if other hotels fill up. There is no pool, wifi, complementary bagel.
The rooms are SO EXPENSIVE!!!! And the queen size are not queen size beds. they are double beds. and the mattress is ancient and hard and saggy.
The air smells really pretty outside cuz it is in nature. Smells really crisp and clear.
eat dinner before you come. we couldnt wait until we got out of town to eat though.
there is only one cafe and you can buy and egg sandwich for 8 bucks. it tasted good.
The lady who sold us the room said that check out was at 11 but it was really at 10 so we got a call waking us at 10:05 asking us when we were leaving.

it was sad. we had to pay a lot of money and we hardly slept cuz the bad little mattress.
there were roaches on the floor and in the corners.

There is nothing to do in Anasazi. it is ten miles from Kayenta and it is where you will end up if you dont just go online and make reservations in town!!!

Room Tip: Im am thinking Hampton inn would be the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a million miles from typical bland hotel chains, and if that's the sort of place you like, you're probably better of avoiding The Anesazi Inn. If you like a bit of character, this is ok for one night, perhaps two. Rooms are functional and old fashioned. Food in the diner is hearty rather than a gourmet experience, but it looks like something out of history - the Fonz and Richie could walk through that door any time !

Not perfect, but it felt good to patronise the local community for once rather than the global multiples. it could be improved, but it would be a shame to turn it into an ICH or BW clone. 

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our stay at the inn was unexpectedly a pleasure. At first, we were leery, but very quickly, we grew to truly appreciate the inn, the restaurant, and the service. If one wants a nice multistoried hotel, this is not for you. If you want perfection, this is not for you. For those that can appreciate great food and the back drop of a mesa, with older but still nice lodging, than this is a must stay! The inn provides a nice place to base yourself, for trips to the neighboring sights and scenic tours.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anasazi Inn at Tsegi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anasazi Inn at Tsegi

Address: P.O.Box 1543, Highway 160, 10 Miles West Of Kayenta, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Anasazi Inn At Tsegi Hotel Kayenta
Anasazi Hotel Kayenta
Anasazi Hotel At Tsegi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anasazi Inn at Tsegi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.