We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria and Alfred Guest House to your Saves list
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 186 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Friendly and Helpfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Arriving in PE I needed a room for only a few hours, after having called a few G/H no one was willing to sell me a room for 3 hours. I callded Nico and he came to my rescue he also offered me a hourly rate which was great as I will willing to pay the full price. He also gave me breakfast at no extra cost. So to Nico and his team thanks you and well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
31
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Located just down the road from PE airport. Nice room, good and plentiful food that they left in my room for me as I arrived late, tea and coffee in room. Pretty pool in inner courtyard. A pleasant start to my trip to SA!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The receptionist did not know about restaurants or a hiking trial in the area; I walked past 2 restaurants and found a hiking trail close to the guest house. The room floors are dirty, the towel rail fell on my foot and a bad shower. Also a noise of "machinery" during the night which kept me awake.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was excellent. This questhouse has a fast, functioning and free WiFi so we could communicate with our grandchildren through Facetime. Thank you V and A for that. The next morning we had to leave to catch a plane very early, nevertheless the kind young lady from the reception was there with a fine breakfast. Next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thank you for a good stay at your Guest House. The rooms were just what we wanted. We were travelling with a toddler which is not easy, but you helped in lots of ways, from providing a cot to delaying the cleaning until he woke up. Your breakfasts were great! Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

NIco and his staff were attentive, informative, helpful and yet not overbearing. The garden view room was quiet, clean and well maintained. Great breakfast and a lovely pool. The location was a little to far to walk to the seafront however parking was aplenty and taxis cheap and readily available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our stay at the V&A Guesthouse was truly an awesome experience. The rooms were very clean and kept clean. V&A offers extra service to their guest by doing their laundry with no extra cost –this we found AWESOME! Our sincere thanks and appreciation goes to the management team & staff of V&A for their EXCELLENT hospitality and EXCEPTIONAL FRIENDLY customer service.
We will most definitely visit V&A again when we make a turn in PE.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria and Alfred Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Address: 63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria and Alfred Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavishly restored 15 en-suite bedroom 'Victorian Era' house with modern facilities and 3 conference venues promises the ultimate in luxurious surrounds to satisfy both corporate guests and tourists. Our elegant dining room overlooks the pool and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria and Alfred Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria and Alfred Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.