We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria and Alfred Guest House to your Saves list
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 192 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We has the easiest check-in. The gates were opened almost before we got to them. Friendly and prepared staff.
Most affordable, especially given the time of the year and the quality of the facilities.
I was able to get a halaal breakfast at the last moment with no trouble. My husband managed to scoff enough of the full English breakfast to beg off food for the rest of the day.
The building is set up as a quad, and if you score a balcony, you will have a view of the pool.
There are some rooms set up on one level at the back of the property - they are therefore wheelchair friendly.
Our room was big and clean. There was excellent lighting, additional indoor seating and a desk. The balcony had additional chairs and a table.
The bathroom is modern and large. Fantastic tub.

There is WiFi, but you need a voucher from reception.
Location is great.

Some niggles-
The shower takes a while to drain, so you find yourself ankle-deep in water for a while before it suddenly drains.
The gutter above the balcony was a bit clogged. We were treated to a constant drip all night.

Overall - good experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
37
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Central location - Easy to find on Villiers road.
Check-in could not have been easier. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Great value for money in peak season.
Full english breakfast (they're happy to rustle up something halaal for the wife)
Pool is large and in good condition.
Great big beds. The luxury double room gets you a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The tin roof sounds cool when it rains,but the gutter was too full and there was an awful drip drip drip for long after the rain had stopped.
Modern and spacious bathroom. Shower takes a while to drain. Giant ball and claw footed tub,which had to be foregone due to water restrictions.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We flew to Port Elizabeth, to start our trip on Garden Route. Location of the hotel, 3 minutes drive from the airport, is really an advantage.
The staff were friendly and helpfull. The room was clean. Breakfast was good. We ate also dinner at the hotel and it was fine, homemade-tasting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

After a few days of 'formal' B&Bs in south Africa, the V & A was a godsend: big rooms and lots of character, as you'd expect from an Edwardian house. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, arranging a dentist for a broken tooth and fitting us in for an evening meal (these two things aren't related!).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

In a quiet area close to airport and beach/ center a spacious guest house with quality beds. We only spend a night as we had to travel back home. Not very special but certainly value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had a brilliant stay at the guest house. The breakfast was amazing especially the hot muffin. We stayed there last April. Staff is so friendly. We were there for the ironman weekend and it PE was our first stop in our 2-week SA trip. we have a big bike box and the staff kindly let us leave the box in their conference room so that we could pick it up on the way back. Very helpful. Not to mention, the double bed was huge and comfy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Victoria and Alfred Guest House for one night before our departure of South Africa. Among all the hotels we stayed during our three weeks stay, this is definitely one of the modern one. The hotel has a gated entrance to the parking lot. The room is spacious and very clean. The water pressure is excellent for the shower. It even has a phone in the room! We chose this hotel as we have an earlier flight to catch and this hotel is about within 10 minutes drive to the airport. The hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful. Before she left for the day, she called in to check to see if we needed anything for the night to ensure we were all set. She also directed us to the nearby restaurants for dinner. One thing I want to mention was that I left the ceiling light on inside the car and the staff knocked on the door to let us know. Couldn't ask for a better service! The bonus point is that the room provides you with freshly made cookies upon your arrival and the breakfast was excellent. The location is convenient to gas stations and quite a few restaurants, e.g. Indian, Chinese, Italian & etc. If we come to visit Port Elizabeth, we will definitely stay in here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to check-in before 6PM. For breakfast, you can request the kitchen staff to make tradition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria and Alfred Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Address: 63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria and Alfred Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavishly restored 15 en-suite bedroom 'Victorian Era' house with modern facilities and 3 conference venues promises the ultimate in luxurious surrounds to satisfy both corporate guests and tourists. Our elegant dining room overlooks the pool and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Victoria and Alfred Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria and Alfred Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.