We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way possible :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Highlands (just off N2) | (100 kms from Port Elizabeth), Port Elizabeth 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way possible :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just read a couple of other reviews on here & they're all so true :-) we saw every animal imaginable, lots of up close experiences including watching the white lioness' chow down on a warthog tea & hearing the bones crunching, a mock charge from a baby bull elephant. We got the Head Ranger Johno who was brilliant for us pointing out every species so we never missed anything, telling us interesting facts about the animals & plants & of course sharing fun stories. Amazing place, the politest staff we have ever come across & extremely luxurious accommodation & facilities, gorgeous food. The best bit of our honeymoon in SA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    26
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
188
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just amazing.

We stayed at the Water Lodge for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We were blown away! We stayed at the water lodge in an impala suite which was bliss. The views over the water to the sunbathing hippos were breathtaking.

Food was fantastic for each meal and drinks were plentiful. We asked for a glass of wine to take back to the room one night and were given the bottle. We also ate at the msenge lodge one lunchtime which was nice but Tao us did not have the same atmosphere as the water lodge.

Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Especially our ranger, Jean.

We did a total of 6 game drives while at Pumba. For three of which we had the vehicle to ourselves! We saw 4 of the big 5 during our stay. The missing one being the leopard which we had not expected to see so were not disappointed. We would have liked to see cheetahs and hyenas but cannot be disappointed as we saw so many amazing sights!

We would love to return one day!

Room Tip: Stay at the water lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoyira, Cyprus
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What an amazing trip! Pumba private game reserve is just fantastic, the animals live a natural existence without any human intervention unless absolutely necessary. You are guaranteed to see the big 5 up close and if you get the chance try a bush walk on the wild side, a different experience altogether. I would recommend a stay of 5 to 7 nights as you will have a different experience each day. The accommodation is very comfortable and the food and service are first class.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view over the lake with outside plunge pools and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a place! So many luxurious touches that I am not going to list (it's nice to be surprised and delighted) - everything you want from a safari. Great ranger (Juan), fabulous accommodation, intimate encounters with the animals. The service is outstanding, very friendly and genuine. When arriving in the dark, in seemed novel being briefed that when dark, you had to call for an escort to and from your chalet but when you see how close the wildlife gets to the lodge, it's a good move. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pumba was the final stop on our honeymoon trip along the garden route and we could have stayed forever. We got a free upgrade to one of the wonderful lodges overlooking the waterhole where we saw hippo, giraffe and an assortment of other wildlife. The accommodation was incredibly luxurious with a strong African theme and we were not left wanting. The food was absolutely delicious, and being foody people this was really important, and we really looked forward to every meal.
The staff were absolutely fabulous, so friendly and attentive, and Gladman Veyo who was our ranger and guide during our stay was fantastic. Gladman took us on two drives per day, morning and early evening, and when we told him the animals we wanted to look for he did his very best to find them for us, which he usually succeeded in. His knowledge and understanding of the land and its animals was magical. Each day during the early evening drive we would stop somewhere and set up what we called the 'bush bar,' and assortment of drinks and snacks from the back of the landrover which we enjoyed overlooking the African sunset.
Pumba is a very special place and it gets under your skin. I've found myself looking at their updates on Facebook etc frequently since our return just to get a taste of what's happening there from day to day. The memories of the animals that we saw will stay with us forever and I can't wait until we get the chance to return, which we one day absolutely will.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We started our Honeymoon here in September 2012. We arrived in Port Elizabeth and hired a car. Pumba Game Reserve is about an hour and 15 mins drive from the airport and the roads are well maintained and marked up to the Reserve. From the moment we arrived at reception we were treated like we were royalty. We were welcomed with a hot chocolate and hot towels to refresh us from our journey and then we were shown to our lodge. We stayed in one of the Pumba Water Lodges. It was a very spacious lodge with a fire and large bathtub/whirlpool. It had a wooden deck with a plunge pool and sun loungers and a magnificent view of Lake Kariega where we saw some Hippos in the morning.

Our first game drive was on the afternoon we arrived. Our ranger was Freedom for our whole trip and he was amazing! Very friendly and knowledgeable and made every effort to find the Big 5 for us. It was quite cold on our first game drive but we were supplied with fleece lined capes which were brilliant. We saw the Big 5 during our 2 days here and nothing will ever compare to being a few feet away from the white lions and their cubs!! Having a Gin and Tonic whilst watching the sun go down was a lovely touch too. On return from our drive we were greeted with hot towels and a refreshing cocktail and a lovely log fire in the main lodge.

Food was excellent and so was the service. At night time you need a ranger to escort you to the main lodge and back to your room which adds to the excitement of Safari as you never know what you might come across in the dark! When we returned to our room our log fire was burning and there was hot water bottles in our bed! Perfect after a long day of traveling!

During our time at Pumba I got a urinary tract infection which meant I couldn't go on the long safari drive. The staff were very understanding and made arrangements for me to go to the Spa instead. I was also brought breakfast to my room that morning which was very understanding of them. The nurse on site was very attentive and they went to a pharmacy to collect medication for me. When not on Safari, the loungers on the deck overlooking the lake is a perfect way to relax. There are more adventurous activities available but not sure what they are!

There are so many good things to write about that I can't mention them all. Make sure you visit Pumba Private Game Reserve. It is clean, luxurious and the staff are so friendly and attentive. The main thing i was worried about was bugs/insects but thankfully there was none!! We can't wait to go back one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first safari so we can't compare to others but we found it absolutely awesome. We saw pretty much everything besides leopards ! Special mention must go to our guide Juan. He taught us so much and was an absolute pleasure. All the other staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The lodge room was lovely as was the food. 2 drives a day and also some walks, all fantastic.

Only 2 minor gripes:
1. We arrived in the evening and the signage left a bit to be desired, as we got a bit lost.
2. They have glassed fire pits in the main pumba water lodge and the smoke is too much for some.

These moans aside, we would recommend this hotel/ experience to everyone. It was a brilliant 4 days.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve

Address: Highlands (just off N2) | (100 kms from Port Elizabeth), Port Elizabeth 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wildest Africa in true luxury at Pumba Private Game Reserve & Spa in the malaria free Eastern Cape, South Africa. Our exclusive reserve has achieved gold status for its environmental responsibility, through The Green Leaf Initiative, and a 5-star rating for its exquisite accommodation facilities. With the formalities out of the way, African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve accommodation at one of two intimate and enchanting lodges. Each idyllic chalet is totally private and complete with their own pools framed by timber decks and outdoor showers... only the monkeys and the hippos will be watching you here. Every chalet is designed and decorated using individual and natural fabrics - picking up on different aspects of African nature and wild life, and immersing you into feeling at one with the unspoilt beauty which surrounds you. When dining you'll be treated to an array of gourmet safari cuisine, all prepared by our passionate Five Star chefs, who will cater to all your individual needs. We have additional pampering for the mind, body, and soul, at the Msenge Bush Lodge's Soul Spa - as well as our fully equipped gym surrounded by glass, and extending out beneath a cathedral of trees. Come face to face with Africa’s Big 5 at African Pride Pumba Private Game. Visitors have the chance to experience the wonders of Africa - from the graceful giraffe to the seldom seen leopard. Don’t miss the once in a lifetime opportunity to see the very rare White Lions - 45 species of mammals and other small game. For the bird lovers and twitches the nearly 317 species occurring in our geographical region will never fail to delight you. This is the heart and soul of wildest Africa... this is African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumba Private Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.