We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve

Save Saved
You added African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Highlands (just off N2) | (100 kms from Port Elizabeth), Port Elizabeth 6065, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were located at the Water Lodge. If you have a chance, visit this place! We found it to be one of the best holiday locations for safari yet, the staff cannot do enough for you. I must say we were treated very well, with everything at hand day or night. The accommodation and views were breathtaking with the animals sometime at arms length was unreal. We did consider other safaris but looking through the books, website and viewing various clips on youtube we were very happy that we chose this location. Although we stayed for five nights, other guests only had two to three days and although they had an excellent time, I felt that I wanted a little longer and to be totally honest Five days was about the right time to see everything and have the time to relax and soak up the atmosphere. I cannot say enough about this place, it was just fantastic.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter! they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    26
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
178
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We visited Pumba Game Lodge in April this year. We were blown away by the whole experience! From the stunning comfortable warm inviting accommodation to the friendly helpful staff to the passionate beyond the call of duty game ranger....it was an amazing once in a lifetime trip!! We took our 13 year old daughter and our 10 year old nephew we all loved everything!! I know this sounds too good to be true but on top of this we saw the game all day everyday! Herds of elephant, rhino,hippo every type of antelope etc etc we scurried past the most amazing animal life on our way to even more spectacular finds...white lioness and her cub making a kill !! And... The hot water bottles and the early morning coffee and rusks mid morning game drive and the sundowners and biltong on the evening game drives!! Do it people you won't regret it!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Much more then I expected. After each safari you arrive back with hot towels and hot choc in the morn and hot wine in the evening. Rooms where lovely with a coal burner if you go in the winter like us, even though the temp was in the 20's in the day it was lovely to have the fire going at night making our room cosy.
Food and spa is amazing and service is unbeatable. As for the safari twice a day we where very lucky, we saw wht lions, cheethas, zebras, elephants, rhinos etc. could want to see more. Our ranger freedom was very informative and made the rides enjoyable.
We love it so much we are planning our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Location: We were debating on going to Kruger National Park because it's said to offer the biggest & best safari experience, but since the eastern cape safaris were so much closer to Capetown and rated well (and malaria free!) we decided to go there. You have to fly into Port Elizabeth (30 mins from Capetown by plane) and then drive about 1.5 hrs from the airport to Pumba. Very easy to find!

Rooms: We stayed at the water lodge vs bush lodge. Our room looks just like the photos on the site. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE with separate tub & shower, there were always snacks in the room and amenities included binoculars, robes & slippers.
Pro: Water lodge rooms all overlook a watering hole and have beautiful verandas that offer great views and privacy...and an outdoor shower!
Con: And this was a BIG one for me. There were SO many little bugs in our room that came out at night. They were innocuous bugs, but they'd somehow get all over the bed, which as a city girl, totally freaked me out and kept me up all night. I later learned they reside in the thatch roofs and fall onto the bed. The bush lodge rooms have nets over the bed, which I think is key - especially if you're going during the summer season when there are more bugs out and about.

Safari: The safari was wonderful. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we got to see all of the big 5 except for the elusive leopard. It was so beautiful, it's hard to put into words. We stayed 3 nights and got 6 safari rides in total and I think it was the perfect amount. The grounds are large but not as large as Kruger so if we stayed longer, I think it would have gotten a bit redundant.

Food: AMAZING - and I know food! Every meal, we got to eat overlooking the watering hole. Breakfast menu was the same everyday, but really good. They make this great interpretation of eggs benedict. Lunch menu changed daily and you would get to sample everything! Dinner menu changed daily as well with seafood and game options. Excellent meat! Desserts were equally delightful. Unlimited alcohol, which is always a plus!

Service: Every staff person was incredibly helpful and nice. They really went out of their way to help you and make you feel comfortable. Even during my semi-embarrassing bug scare, they tried their best to help solve the situation.

Other: The property provided us with other great amenities and experiences. The water lodge had a small pool overlooking the watering hole, which was great. We got to practice archery and they take you on nature walks. One the of the most memorable evenings, they took us all down to the dock on the watering hole at night after dinner when the stars were out and shut all the lights off in the main cabins. Best star gazing I have and probably will ever see. We saw the MILKY WAY! Gorgeous!

Overall: Despite my war with bugs on this trip, I'd stay here again.. I would just stay at the Bush Lodge instead.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Not sure where to start with this one as its honestly the one place I've ever visited that has beyond surpassed my expectations of accommodation and also of activities.

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in April. I was extremely apprehensive about going on safari as I'm not the outdoor type and are more used to ''city living'' but my husband always wanted to go.

Its about 1.5hrs from PE airport. When we first got there I got the immediate feeling of isolation and had a mini panic attack when I saw the insects (not that there were many) etc, but that soon faded when I saw the main lodge and the water lodge that we were staying it - it was AMAZING. I've showed family/friends the photos since then and they were in awe. We had a balcony with a pool etc and a massive bed and room. It was huge. 10/10.

The fact that a ranger needs to bring you to / forth from your room at night kinda freaked me out, but after a little bit, that was fine! We are in the wilds I guess..

Then came the drives! We had 2 per day (7am and 3.30pm) for approx 2 - 3hrs each. These were again, far far better than I would have imagined. We saw so many animals and I even found myself really enjoying it and getting into it big time. We saw the white lions which were brilliant to watch - again, something I'd never even think about, but was great.

Food wise - its absolutely beautiful. There is a great variety to choose from and you will always find something to eat - in fact, we ate more on this than anywhere else! The bar is fully stocked too, which is a great addition! When we were on the drives we would a brekkie and early evening picnic complete with full bar - again a fantastic experience!

However without doubt what made our trip was definitely the staff. They were fantastic!! Shipo et al were so lovely and they would come and sit and talk to us which was lovely getting to know them. Felt like they were our friends at the end of it. Dean was our guide for the 4 days and he was brilliant - he made the trip great fun as well as tell us so much about the place and the animals - he left no stone unturned in finding them! Was great getting to know him also and he even brought us fishing! Such a personal and luxury service all round.

After every game drive we were greeted by smiling staff with hot towels and drinks - super! They also had the fire lighting too, which was so warm and cosy.

The spa was super too - Cindy was so nice. I got to visit the bush lodge with Rob (where the spa is) and its very nice too and more modern, but the views in the waterlodge are way nicer.

We actually and ironically (coming from me) didn’t want to leave! We also toured parts of SA and Mauritius on this trip and this was by far the best place - ever. 3 nights is a lot, but nice.

So all I can say for those that are a little weary of wildlife like me - trust me on this one. Its fantastic. Dean and the other rangers are so experienced, that if I can do it - anyone can!

Its pricey but worth it (far more than Mauritius was!). Would 110% recommend it.

Room Tip: Waterlodge all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We recently did a three-day safari here and what a treat it was. The animals we saw were numerous but amongst them were a white male lion (who was only 2ft. away from our jeep), the white lioness and her cub who took a warthog while we were watching them. Our ranger, Justin, said that in 4 years he has only seen this happen a handful of times, so we were very lucky.
During our trip we also saw a herd of giraffes, rhinos, elephants, impalas, buffalo, wildebeest, kudu, many birds including the most beautiful sunbird and lots of other too numerous to mention.
Our game drives were great fun and we enjoyed our 'sundowners' immensely. We originally thought this would be a one-off experience but I wouldn't be surprised if we go back there in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Water Lodge which, in my opinion, was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

If you like bouncing around in the back of a landrover in wonderful scenery and seeing a dazzling array of animals ad bird or sitting by the lake as the sun goes down with a cold glass of Chablis then this is the spot for you.
This is a truly lovely place. The accommodation is superb, the restaurant is excellent and the staff are friendly, helpful and charming. A particular thanks from us to Peter our guide, and all the reception staff.
If you hand in laundry however make a list and check what comes back as items can go astray!!
Other than that everything was spot on. We are to return in October

Room Tip: Choose the water lodge. The lake made it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve

Address: Highlands (just off N2) | (100 kms from Port Elizabeth), Port Elizabeth 6065, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wildest Africa in true luxury at Pumba Private Game Reserve & Spa in the malaria free Eastern Cape, South Africa. Our exclusive reserve has achieved gold status for its environmental responsibility, through The Green Leaf Initiative, and a 5-star rating for its exquisite accommodation facilities. With the formalities out of the way, African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve accommodation at one of two intimate and enchanting lodges. Each idyllic chalet is totally private and complete with their own pools framed by timber decks and outdoor showers... only the monkeys and the hippos will be watching you here. Every chalet is designed and decorated using individual and natural fabrics - picking up on different aspects of African nature and wild life, and immersing you into feeling at one with the unspoilt beauty which surrounds you. When dining you'll be treated to an array of gourmet safari cuisine, all prepared by our passionate Five Star chefs, who will cater to all your individual needs. We have additional pampering for the mind, body, and soul, at the Msenge Bush Lodge's Soul Spa - as well as our fully equipped gym surrounded by glass, and extending out beneath a cathedral of trees. Come face to face with Africa’s Big 5 at African Pride Pumba Private Game. Visitors have the chance to experience the wonders of Africa - from the graceful giraffe to the seldom seen leopard. Don’t miss the once in a lifetime opportunity to see the very rare White Lions - 45 species of mammals and other small game. For the bird lovers and twitches the nearly 317 species occurring in our geographical region will never fail to delight you. This is the heart and soul of wildest Africa... this is African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumba Private Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.