We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, people, food and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amakhala Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amakhala Game Reserve
Save
You added Amakhala Game Reserve to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Port Elizabeth, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place, people, food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Amakhala was AMAZING!!
We stayed in the safari lodge, which was beautiful. It was so much nicer than people can describle! The room was huge, a lovely four poster bed, lovely relaxing bath, outdoor showers, your own private plunge pool and underfloor heating!!
The trips were brilliant, we saw all the animals, and two tigers feasting on a zebra! Plus a new born elephant was born on the morning of one of our trips!!
Our ranger Mnoni was fabulous, very funny and made sure we all saw everything we wanted to!
The food, drink and staff were wonderful.
I definatly recommend Amkhala to anyone. A brilliant experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

When asked to fill in questionnaire on how to improve the Amakala I was totally stuck, you can't improve this place, it's fabulous, what an amazing experience. They couldn't do enough for us, I was in total awe of my surroundings and everything that happened in this place, it was magical. The only thing missing was my children they would have loved it, I don't think any other holiday will ever quite match up to this.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We didn't stay at the lodge but did a day Safari. Extremely disappointing! Spent most of the day being driven at high speed over bumy dirt tracks, hanging on for dear life. Guide didn't appear to want to be there. Lunch on the "river trip" was reminiscent of a '70's style cheap buffet - chees on a stick type of thing! They even ran out of drinking water and soft drinks. Perhaps worst of all was the pretence that the Lions were roaming freely in the main enclosure and might be seen at any moment, while all the time knowing they were across the road isolated in a small empty enclosure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

You have got to visit this place simply fantastic.This was are first safari ,carnt wait to return .The staff where excellent through out are stay and couldnt do enough for us and the rest of the guests .Nice small safari groups ,,just couldnt belive the variety of animals seen plus a cheetah kill FANTASTIC.
Your own personal chef who dose his best to cater for everbodies needs.
We stayed at the new Reedvalley Bush lodge what can I say far better than expectedand just got better and better.
Icould spend all day praising this game reserve but that would just bore you.If you want to do or are thinking of a safari ,stay here right in the game reserve with the animals walking right past you, great food ,brill safaris,excellent staff and free entertainment.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — to shrt stay
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

We spent two fantastic days in this beautiful game reserve - more specifically in the lodge called "Safari Lodge". On four game drives, our ranger, Kulani, showed us more animals than we had ever imagined to be able to see in such a short time. So, there was hardly enough time to enjoy all the luxury of the safari huts with double bath, outdoor shower and plunge pool, and the fine meals. Our stay was a truly unforgettable experience, especially for our two children aged 10 and 11. Clear recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Amakhala's Reed Valley Bush Lodge and what a fab experience we had. From the moment we arrived we were very well looked after and all the staff went out of their way to make our stay there memorable. I had special dietary needs and Benjamin the chef was more than happy to adapt his menu for me, well done that man! Our ranger Joahan was most knowledgable and we got to see a family of lions (3 cubs and parents) as well as elephants, rhinos, buffalo ,giraffe's, zebra's and lots more. The accomodation was of excallent standards, our luxury tent was amazing! We would recommend a stay there any time.

Giovanni

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stouty01
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We have just returned from a holiday in south africa and were fortunate to stay in the safari lodge accomodation in amakhala game reserve. We were greeted on arrival with refreshments and your baggage is delivered to your lodge. You are given a tour of the facilities and then treated to a three course lunch of excellant standards before being taken on a game drive. Our ranger was incredibly informative and we were fortunate enough to see four out of the big five. Dinner was a communal affair and the food was truly exceptional. At night the accomdation is lit up by candles and camp fires and all the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. On return from the game drive our room had been transformed and there were candles lighting as well as champagne and chocolates by the bath which was a nice touch. After a good night's sleep in wonderful surroundings we were woken by the sights and sounds of the monkeys jumping in the trees... i really couldn't reccomend this experience to others enough. we left wishing we could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — everything, great overall experience
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhala Game Reserve is an ideal choice for your Big 5 Safari destination. This 7000 ha reserve is renowned for its truly awesome topography, created by the slowly meandering Bushman'€™s River running through it. Not only do we offer the much sought after Big 5, but there are over 16 antelope species, zebra, giraffe and many small interesting species. Our cheetah sightings will be the highlight of your stay. In addition to game drives, we also offer boat cruises and guided walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amakhala Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amakhala Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.