We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunzi Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thunzi Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Thunzi Bush Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Maitland Road | Maitland, Port Elizabeth 6018, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I booked in for two nights after our wedding day. We were very sorry not to have booked in longer! We had such a lovely stay. Chalet Nerina is very private, and the scenery and birdlife is stunning! The monkeys were a surprise, but ammusing. We could have used a warning not to leave food out though, perhaps that could be included in the rules and regs? The chalet is perfectly equipped, and very comfortable. We would definitely come back! Thunyi also allowed us to take some wedding photos on the premises, which have turned out beautifully. They were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are happy that you had a wonderful stay and managed to capture some special moments.
A we are situated in a nature reserve setting monkeys are sometimes a problem if food is left out and we will be making signs to inform guests of this.
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    29
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
88
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We live in Port Elizabeth and recently spent two nights at Thunzi just before the start of the new work year. We went with another couple and stayed in the 2 bedroomed Hornbill cottage. We could not have asked for a better end to our holiday! The weather was great and we were able to braai in our private braai area on both nights and also cool off in the pool on both days. The rest of the time was mostly spent reading, chatting and relaxing on the deck. We were at least not too lazy to explore the walking trail across the property and it was well worth the bit of effort. When we woke up on our second morning it actually felt like we had been there for a week already, since we were so relaxed. The chalet was very comfortable with everything one may need and we will certainly return. In fact we cannot wait to return now that we have discovered this gem right on our doorstep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning to experience more of what Thunzi offers. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Five years ago Thunzi was the 1st proper destination on our honeymoon. It was by far the best stop then and over the last few years my wife always mentioned she would one day love to go back there. So for the 5-year celebration we did. Thunzi got even better! What a great place! So much to mention: The confection oven (much better and healthier than a microwave oven), the plunger coffee (awesome!!!), the complimentary bundle of wood and fire-lighters (awesome!), the towel heating rack, the array of cook ware, utensils, cutlery and crockery (my wife says it was put together by somebody who knows exactly what is needed in a proper kitchen), and everything else. Thunzi is a birding paradise, and we saw the Turaco twice! The lazy lizard pool is a winner! The forest walk was legendary again! There is just a magic touch in a little chocolate on the bed on arrival! We missed Betty's gourmet food, and the border collie who greeted us on arrival last time, but we actually prefer the self-catering. For the price there is little competition (and that in peak season!). My wife and I managed two top destinations of the world, and we have seen many other, and we rate Thunzi as a top destination. I would say for birders, this could compare to the very best! Well done and thank you for making our anniversary-celebration very special!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are always excited when our guests return to Thunzi and enjoy their stay even more than the first time! Thank you for taking the time to write the review and for all your wonderful compliments. We look forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family of four stayed in the Hornbill Chalet for one night and had a nice experience. The chalet was fine - a clean and cozy cabin that wasn't too buggy. The deck looks out across a narrow drainage to a hillside…so not much of a view. However, it is nice for all of the bird and creature sounds in the wetland. The pool is nice but with limited seating. The grounds are well maintained. We were disappointed with the advertised "fishing available in the stocked dams". It was the main reason we chose Thunzi, as my son is a keen fisherman. I had several email communications with staff about our desire to fish and despite these inquiries and responses, was never forewarned that the dams were too overgrown with vegetation to fish. AND we were told upon arrival that the fish have most likely been eaten by the seals that come in with a food tide. Thunzi is close to an amazing beach and dunes but that is really the only "wow" we got for an expensive night's lodging.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and informing us of your stay. We have taken note of your complaints and suggestions and are in the process of rectifying any problems that affected your stay.

As we do not use insecticides/pesticides/weed killers anywhere at the lodge our ground staff have to do all the weeding by hand, this also includes the 4km forest walk and dams. This is a very labour and time intensive job and unfortunately this summer the forest and wetlands grew at a rapid rate which we could not keep up with. I am happy to say that we are currently clearing the dams and making room for the canoe and row boat. Please follow us on Facebook for current pictures.

I did investigate the comment about the seals coming in with the food tide as I was shocked to read this as it definitely does not occur. We are 3km from the ocean and in no way can the sea or seals reach us. I can only assume that there was a miss communication with the language barrier and that the staff member was trying to explain that we sometimes have floods which wash the small fish out of the dams. We do have otters in our dams but they are not a hazard and will not be able to clean out the dams.

I hope this has cleared up the queries in your review and that we can offer you accommodation if you are in Port Elizabeth again.

Regards, Thunzi Bush Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We so enjoyed the peace and listening to the sounds of the bush. The bird life is wondrful our highlight was the Knysna Lourie 3 of them right in the tree over our verandah. We would however have enjoyed seeing a few more clearings in the reeds in order to possibly see more game coming down to drink as it is very dense.
The staff were lovely and most accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and compliments. Just to inform you that we are in the process of clearing the dams in order that they are more open and accessible. Please take a look at ur Facebook page for updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Five years ago Thunzi was the 1st proper destination on our honeymoon. It was by far the best stop then and over the last few years my wife always mentioned she would one day love to go back there. So for the 5-year celebration we did. Thunzi got even better! What a great place! So much to mention: The confection oven (much better and healthier than a microwave oven), the plunger coffee (awesome!!!), the complimentary bundle of wood and fire-lighters (awesome!), the towel heating rack, the array of cook ware, utensils, cutlery and crockery (my wife says it was put together by somebody who knows exactly what is needed in a proper kitchen), and everything else. Thunzi is a birding paradise, and we saw the Turaco twice! The lazy lizard pool is a winner! The forest walk was legendary again! There is just a magic touch in a little chocolate on the bed on arrival! We missed Betty's gourmet food, and the border collie who greeted us on arrival last time, but we actually prefer the self-catering. For the price there is little competition (and that in peak season!). My wife and I managed two top destinations of the world, and we have seen many other, and we rate Thunzi as a top destination. I would say for birders, this could compare to the very best! Well done and thank you for making our anniversary-celebration very special!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are always delighted to have return guests who enjoy their experience even more than their first visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and for all your wonderful, positive comments. It is always good to know that we are keeping our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room was very nice with a breathtaking view. We enjoyed our picnic on the balcony very much even though we couldn't walk to the picnic spot due to rain. We also enjoyed a lovely full body massage in our chalet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Next time we'll order in better weather so that you can enjoy your picnic in the forest! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunzi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunzi Bush Lodge

Address: Maitland Road | Maitland, Port Elizabeth 6018, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunzi Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunzi in isiXhosa means "in the shade," describing a typical lazy afternoon in the forest valley. This tranquil sanctuary of coastal forest can be found 20 minutes West of Port Elizabeth and is nestled at the base of a 44 hectare private valley overlooking a pristine and lush river wetland. Luxury 4* Self-catering Chalets are fully equipped and have their own private boma's nestled under a milkwood/acacia tree in the indigenous forest where family and friends can gather and enjoy a few drinks and braai (barbeque). Added extras for your convenience include various DSTV select, dressing gowns, air-conditioning, tea/coffee amenities, mini chocolates, heating, hair dryer, daily housekeeping service and laundry facilities. There is a free Wi-Fi hotspot at the reception area and cellphone reception throughout the estate. Guests can enjoy bird watching, bass fishing, forest walks, spa treatments as well as beach walks and sand boarding at the Maitland Beach only 3km from Thunzi. Gourmet picnics are on offer Tuesdays to Sundays and you don't have to be an overnight guest to enjoy this - day visitors more than are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thunzi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunzi Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.