We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kelway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brookes Hill Drive, Port Elizabeth, 6013 | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Port Elizabeth
high peak, derbyshire, uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An OK Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Perfectly acceptable hotel conveniently placed for the beach but the rooms are rather variable in quality. We stayed on our way to and from The Addo and our first room was no more than ok whilst the second was rather nice. Beware however of staying when there is a function on as you won't get any sleep until it finishes!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
13
37
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed at the Kelway for one night while on the way to Knysna. The hotel does face the ocean. The rooms are just ok, nothing special. There is no lift to the 2nd floor rooms, so it is a stair climb. The restaurant overlooks the bay and is very nice. But it gets very breezy at times. The hotel is within walking distance of the casino and shopping complex. I would not utilize the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Kelway offers superb accommodation - try getting the honeymoon room....you won't believe it !!
All rooms spotlessly clean, and well fitted out ...TV even worked here !!
The food for dinner and breakfast was very good and even the wine wasn't too expensive. All the staff were very helpful...and thankfully they helped with luggage up to 2nd floor as no lift !!
Extensive refurbishment being carried out to deck area - which when finished will be fabulous -
As we were advised not to go out alone in evening in Port Elizabeth, it was nice to find that hotel was comfortable enough to settle down for the evening, so that we did not feel we had missed anything by staying in. Especially when we had such a super view of seashore around harbour -

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

For the cost per night (approx 600 rand) the room was excellent value for PE - modern, albeit rather small, and with free Wifi. Although we arrived at breakfast towards the end of service we were not late, but the buffet was decimated, and no effort was made to provide us with items that were empty. Rather than prepare omelettes with the requested ingredient (stated as available), they were substitued with leftovers from the buffet. Whilst we were told of this, it suggested a lack of service towards customers if it inconvenienced staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Echoing most of the other comments this hotel is a bit shabby. The tiles in our bathroom were cracked and the bottom of the bath moved! Best part was the restaurant in the hotel, food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Downside apart from the shabbyiness was that it's way out of town (so it's just as well the food in the hotel is good), there are planes going overhead, noisy traffic struggling up the hill outside the hotel and there appeared to be a foghorn going off all night! Having said that PE is a big city so you would expect a fair bit of noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 2011 en route to safari in Eastern Cape. The hotel is ideally located near the beach and very close to the airport. Reception staff very friendly as were the staff in the restaurant and bar. We ate in the restaurant on the 1st night and the dinner and service was excellent. However, as we were the only diners it was a sombre experience - ditto a drink in the bar. We had adjoining rooms. They were small and the bathrooms have definitely seen better days. We also had a weird experience with a man and woman claiming to be lost and ringing phones in each room and knocking at each door. I suspect they may have been thieves checking occupancy of room even though the night receptionist didn't seem to perturbed when we reported it. Breakfast was very very good and very plentiful. The strawberry pancakes were a huge hit. There isn't much to do in the area at night. We went to the Boardwalk centre which is close by hoping for a good shopping experience. What a let down. Very few shops, very few places to eat and a very intimidatory feel to the place - complete with security guards armed with machine guns. Definitely don't recommend a trip there. The Kelway is ok for a night or two en route somewhere else. Not our best SA experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We'd booked to stay New Year's Eve and New Year's Day in two of their connecting 4* rooms and were really looking forward to it. We were extremely disappointed. It was not what we'd call 4* standard! The hotel is dated, the whole place could do with redecoration, the carpets were worn and looked as if they could do with being replaced or cleaned. Our rooms were not sea-facing as advertised in their website. The manager on duty was very helpful - it's not his fault the info on the website misrepresent the place. We decided not to stay and got some of our money back after a while.

We went to the Radisson Blu down the road instead. Suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Address: Brookes Hill Drive, Port Elizabeth, 6013 | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelway Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.