We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my 1 night here with helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
Windermere Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Humewood Rd, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my 1 night here with helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I agree with others, that this is a true gem on the inside. I stayed here 1night on my own and the staff were delightful. Sadly no evening meals available and, as I was travelling on my own, I did not manage to find somewhere suitable in walking distance where I felt safe walking around the area at night. Huge rooms, up-today's magazines in the rooms and an outside area to sit and relax. They could do with updating their material in the rooms as it is out of date and include restaurant reviews please.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
41
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My travel agent booked this boutique hotel for me. I stayed there one night, though I could easily have stayed longer. I loved the location near the waterfront. I enjoyed the intimate feel of the hotel, which has only eight guest rooms. The hotel is formed of three houses joined together. My room was spacious with a king-size bed and elegant bathroom. The carpet was a bit worn, but clean. I arrived in Port Elizabeth on a late flight from Jo-burg, so I did not feel like going out for dinner even though there were numerous restaurants within walking distance. Still, I was dismayed to find that there was no dining room/restaurant in the hotel. The attendant offered to make me a pot of tea. The room had a minibar with bags of chips and chocolate bars. Nothing substantial. My stay included a full breakfast, which was delicious. I had a tasty vegetarian omelet--served hot. After a walk along the waterfront and sightseeing, I relaxed in the courtyard--a very pleasant garden area. Staff brought me a pot of tea. The manager was friendly and helpful. She came out to introduce herself and inquire if I needed anything. I felt safe and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent one night in the Windermere. We drove in from St. Francis Bay and spent the night before an early flight out to JNB. The staff were so lovely upon arrival, made coffee and tea for us, booked a table at the wonderful restaurant and took great care of us. We did have a rental car and were able to park in the garage behind the hotel. The room was huge, so huge the kids were afraid to sleep that far from us so we split parents and kids. Bathroom was the size of small house! Shower was actually too big so I used the lovely tub. We recommend King cab had a great ride home from Ginger restaurant. Enjoyed it and would recommend to folks traveling with kids!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Cold and unpersersonnal. Eg No music in the lounge....because they have been wating 6 months for someone to come and fix it....
no dstv channels other than what u get at a 2star hotel. Half eaten packages of chips in minibar. Carpets dirty. Couches dirty. Primitive tv set. No parking other than in the street....because it is full while we were here since morning. Truelly dissapointing. Could have had much more for much less...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were abit sceptical from the outside and the 'area' but were pleasantly surprised once we stepped in. We were warmly greeted by the host who made us hot chocolates and coffee and lit the fire just to warm us from the cold outside. Our room was a lovely, spacious suite that the kids really enjoyed! Breakfast is not a spread but nevertheless quite delicious. The one thing that stands out is that you can order tea, coffee, hot choc anytime and it comes to you wonderfully laid out with biscuits at no extra cost!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wow - this place was total surprise. Not at all what we expected when we looked at it from the street. It's difficult to find and I would suggest getting landmarks from the management before you head to the Windermere. But it was a fabulous retreat in Port Elizabeth. The room was huge and the bath area fantastic. The property is lovely and welcoming as are the staff. It's a very short drive to the airport and a short walk to the waterfront area. This place is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was one of the nicest places ive stayed in my life. The staff were very kind and friendly and did everything they could for us. Rooms were fab. Spacious and comforting. Bathrooms were massive and very clean. Breakfast was so nice, fruit salad was very fresh. My family and I didnt do much while in Port Elizabeth so that gave us more time to sit on the relaxing couches. Brilliant recommend it to everyone. Staff were just amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hotel

Address: 35 Humewood Rd, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windermere Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere is a hip, stylish boutique 5 star hotel which brings the historic Indian Ocean port city of Port Elizabeth a new sense of style and occasion. Situated in the trendy beach suburb of Humewood, a short walk to Kings Beach and the "Blue Flag" status Humewood beach. Designed with elements of contemporary chic and decorated with custom made fittings and furniture, the defining feature of the hotel is the tranquil courtyard, cosseting one away from the busy outside world! The nine large luxury rooms provide spacious sitting areas, mini bars, satellite TV, DVD, air conditioning and heating, safes and a dedicated IT port (the entire hotel is also wireless compatible). Enjoy breakfast al fresco in the courtyard or indoors, a room service menu is available for light lunches and dinners, however most guests enjoy the luxury of choice – some of the city’s top beachfront restaurants are within walking distance! The Windermere has an ideal location – walking distance from beaches, restaurants and McArthur pools, close to Boardwalk complex, 4km to airport and 5 minutes away fro Humewood Golf Course (this historic course being the only true links course in S. Africa – the great Bobby Locke once remarked "that if the British opener had to b played outside of the British Isles –Humewood would be the ideal location!"). Apart from the many aquatic/marine activities (scuba diving, kite boarding, wind surfing, surfing, yachting, angling), there are various other activities available, all of which can be booked by the hotel, these include golf – city and township tours (Port Elizabeth was the landing place of the British settlers of 1820, as well as being at the crucible of the Anti Apartheid movement, so there are many significant historical sites), marine safari to the bird island group as well as day safaris to various game reserves including Addo, Schotia, Pumba, Kwantu & Amakhala (all within an easy 1 hr drive). Being close to the airport, The Windermere is the ideal starting or end point to the "Garden Route" and the ideal springboard to the Eastern Cape’s great game destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.