We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic period restuarant and accomodation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House

Save Saved
You added African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Port Elizabeth
East London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic period restuarant and accomodation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a very old colonial period establishment that has been lovingly restored and the buildings heritage fully preserved. There are antiques throughout the entire establishment, including a very rare drop down candle chandelier in the main dinning area. One feels a subtle transition to the eighteen hundreds just by walking through the double story accomodation. The culinary delights enjoyed by the visitor whilst dining will certainly be another highlight to be savoured, along with superb service from the staff. A memorable visit.

Room Tip: All upper floor units are individually furnished in a tasteful manner, so as to preserve the heritag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
34
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

As the name suggests, this is a true Country House hotel with period furnishings and decor and old fashioned good service. The rooms are lavish, and we had the most comfortable bed I have slept in for years. Food is superb - the only problem is eating too much! Good selection of wines and staff are knowledgeable about their selection. Staff can't do enough for you. It is a shame that modern faceless hotels are becoming popular - give me this style of hotel any time.

Room Tip: The rooms with front balcony are fabulous in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

A lovely hotel, with a Colonial ambience. Rooms were extremely spacious and tastefully appointed. Much attention to detail with many room extras including comprehensive coffee machine, fruit basket and homemade shortbreads. We eat in the hotel restaurant - don't eat anywhere else - it was superb and great value for money. The breakfast was the best throughout our trip. Only stayed one night prior to our flight home but would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a nice stay here - room was beautiful and spacious, tennis court and swimming pool were great to use. The service was hit or miss, upon early arrival we were very pleased to find our room was ready. However, we never received our 'welcome basket' even after asking 4 times, lunch service was slow as a business group took priority over us and we never received any information on the area, meal times etc.. However the big redeeming factor was one of the best dinners I have ever enjoyed in my entire life. The food was truly delicious, service very quick and friendly and we dined on the veranda overlooking the pool - very romantic. Overall a great place to stay if you visit PE/Walmer or even just connecting through the airport (very close by but no noise disturbance).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

But a mix of a would-like-to-be high quality guest house and museum of the British Colonial Empire..... Still as they call themselves a 5 stars luxury hotel then this review will be made using this qualification. It is also part of the African Pride "chain" but having been to another AP property recently (Crystal Towers in Cape Town) then this one falls way behind a real 5 stars hotel...

The place itself is an old Victorian style manor in a residential area. It has its style - rooms and common areas being decorated with "things from the past" including porcelain and cuttlery. Sometimes nice but most of the time not appealing to me. Bathroom was not a bathroom but a fairly large room that was turned into a bathroom with a small shower in one corner. Water pressure in the shower extremely weak and temperature could not be adjusted properly due to the lack of hot water. Sometimes worn out carpets on the floor, even in the bathroom - has anyone thought of people who are allergic to dust, mites and mold (I am)???? Good on demand breaksfast and nice food and wine list - still nothing neither special nor extravagant. Small car park, small swimming pool (was not cleaned until early afternoon when we were there) - do not expect to play any tennis on their court..... Stall friendly and attentive to your needs.

In short if you are not a fan of the British Empire good old days then look for another place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

A wonderful experience. As a dedicated road worrier which spend a lot of time in hotel rooms, this was a very pleasant experience. It was personalised, the room was awesome. My supper was amazing. Will come back again and again

Room Tip: Any one - only 8 rooms to choose from. I stayed in the Elazabeth Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deganwy, North Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Hackwood Hill was just a stop over on our way to Shamwari Game Reserve, but how we wish we could have stayed longer. Michael greeted us so well, the Hotel oozes olde world charm. Our room was spotlessly clean and the little touches that the hotel provided made us feel so special. We ate in the restaurant that evening, the food was excellent and Iwan was the perfect host. The Location was very convenient for the Airport. Thank you for giving us a very special stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House

Address: 152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a lush country garden abundant with birdlife, discover serenity, luxury and privacy at an elegant Victorian Country House in the leafy suburb of Walmer. One of the few remaining Victorian Manor Houses in Port Elizabeth, African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House offers every comfort and a stylish dining experience with its cordon bleu cuisine, impressive vintage wine collection and an authentic wine cellar. Winner of an American Express Fine Dining Award the beautifully appointed restaurant boasts period pieces, silver service and magnificent brass candelabra that takes the diner back to an elegant bygone era whilst they dine on five-star cuisine. A sparkling pool with secluded lounging areas for sun lovers and a tennis court, add to the relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff are on hand to cater for your every need. Superbly decorated and furnished with antiques, fine fabrics and beautiful paintings for the discerning GUEST. Spacious air-conditioned bedrooms offer every comfort in the classic country house tradition, each leads onto a private balcony overlooking the garden. The elegance of the Victorian era is continued in the large bathrooms with feature bath tubs, separate showers, heated towel rails, terry towel bathrobes and romantic candles. Indulge in a game of croquet or have fun playing board games in the sun. Outstanding beaches, coastal walks, picnics horse riding, scuba diving, bay cruises, yachting, historical tours and golf nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacklewood Hill Country House Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hacklewood Hill Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Hacklewood Hill Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.