We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Colchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed at The Beach overnight before travelling on. We were driving ourselves and found the hotel easily. Our bedroom was delightful, overlooking the sea with a balcony area, it had been newly decorated and was light and airy with a four poster bed and a comfortable sitting area. It also had a very large bathroom also affording views of the sea!

The restaurant was a disappointment, quite large and gloomy and the food was a buffet style which was not very interesting but the staff were professional and we were well looked after.

We had needed an overnight hotel and The Beach was ideal with easy access and safe parking.

  • Liked — The room was delightful
  • Disliked — Gloomy restaurant, no natural light
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    51
    10
    10
See reviews for
32
83
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We enjoyed the food and the staff were pleasant. The rooms around the courtyard need some attention but the rest looked OK. The location is good - next to the Boardwalk shopping centre with some nice restaurants. It is a distance from the city centre but there is little to recommend a trip there.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

This hotel is in a great location next to lots of restaurants and shops. Our room was lovely(room3) and overlooked the pool. The pool was very nice and the staff helpful. Breakfast was ok. It is a typical seaside hotel and we would definatley go back

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Co Dublin Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in mid-December. It was a welcome respite from the heat and humidity of Zimbabwe, where we visited Victoria Falls.

We found the hotel bright, airy and spacious - as was our room with full bathroom. The hotel has a 1930's feel with some lovely stained glass windows.

The staff were helpful and courteous. Really good breakfast and a wonderful dinner for only 125 rand!!

There is a lovely veranda on which to sip your cocktails with the ocean just across the road.

The Boardwalk - an entertainment complex next door had a good variety of restaurants, gift and clothes shops etc.

We had a most relaxing time there, and it set us up for our drive along the Garden Route to Capetown.

We would stay there again.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

Spent there a few days for business. The food was average, the service was average. The room hadn't been renovated for ages.
The room had sea-sight, unfortunately the window was so dirty that it was quite hard to see the sea.
Not a good choice if you ever go to that nice place of the world

  • Liked — close to the beach
  • Disliked — room cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Every evening a member of the staff will knock at your door to see if everything's ok, just get used to that :-/
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

What a place......Maybe we were spoilt in the other places we stayed in South Africa, but we couldn't wait to get out of this place. Staff were only as helpful as they really had to be, room was average, there was a smell of food all day in the foyer. How its a four star is beyond me. Must be the beach front location. The place actually turned me off Port Elizabeth....

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

We stayed for one night and the room was really spacious and very clean.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was amazing. The 1930's decor of the breakfast room was very nice.
There is a big entertainment complex nearby that offers plenty of restaurants for dinner if you don't want to dine at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Situated in PRIME POSITION on Port Elizabeth's Beachfront, This four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities, a stunning pool deck and 3 superb restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.