We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
lowestoft england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great for price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

stayed here for 2 nights before going on to safari.
found the room a decent size, clean and had everything you require in a 4 star hotel.

it is right next door to the boardwalk where there are loads of restaurants and a casino.
the hotel has a restaurant called gingers which serves some really good food and wine.
the buffet breakfast was also very nice and in an lovely room.
it is right accross from the beach and pier.

this hotel is in a perfect location and great for a couple nights rest before you carry on with your itinery.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    87
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
36
100
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Stayed one night on our way to Kariega game reserve. It is well located and just 8km from the airport but definately not a place I would spend any longer than a one night stopover. It reminded me of an american style motel. our room was off an open courtyard and the carpet surrounding the courtyard looked stained and old. The door to the room was a bit rickety and the room very basic and old fashioned. The bed was very comfy and although the room seemed clean the fact that is was kind of worn made you feel like it wasnt the cleanest. I must say the breakfast was lovely as one of its positives. It is fine if you arent expecting anything too exciting, it is a 3* standard I would think and fine as a stop gap.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

As such, would not recommend Port Elizabeth for more than a few nights. Reserve more time time at one of the excellent game reserves nearby, instead, and also spend more than just one or two nights along the Garden Route between Cape Town and P.E.

Hotel as such was just about OK, although the people working there were always friendly and very helpful. It had a "romantic" feeling in it, however just barely 3* in quality in the rooms if compared to European standards.

Ginger, one of the three restaurants at the hotel, was an excellent restaurant -- note that the wine list is very expensive compared to general SA prices, but you can find some old (pricy but excellent) vintages from the director's cellar.
Book early if traveling during peak period since the restaurant was booked most nights.

Also the hotel location is great, Boardwalk entertainment complex just a few steps away, and close enough even late in the evening, in case you feel insecure walking out in the evening in South Africa. Lot of shops, restaurants etc. are located at the Boardwalk area.

There's also a beach across the road, but since P.E. is the "windy city", rarely warm enough for people who want to worship the sun. (only one or two days during our stay lasting one week at the end of Decemeber)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

Stayed for one night of our Honeymoon in the Beach hotel before we went onto the Kariega Game Reserve. The hotel itself was ok but only as a stopover option. We had stayed in such fantastic hotels along that way that this hotel was then a let down. Room was ok but would definately not recommend it to anyone. Would have preferred to have travelled on directly to Kariega rather than stopping at all. The only positive thing I would say would be that the restaurant Ginger was great for dinner.
Definately need to revamp the hotel to come up to Garden route standards!!

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — The Bedroom.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed at The Beach for one night on our way to Shamwari Game Reserve. The hotel is in a safe place beside the Boardwalk but is in need of some updating. Our room was clean and ideal for 1 night and you could not fault the buffet breakfast. We ate at El Greco in the Boradwalk and it was good value for money (authentic greek). We would stay at this hotel again as it is easy to find and convenient for the airport.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Stayed for just 1 night, what a shame, had dinner in the crest restaraunt which was brilliant, and visited Ginger the hotels other bar. just across the road from the beach and right next door to the Boardwalk, breakfast was Buffett style, and cooked option . brilliant. highly recommend this hotel, stay for a week you will love the hotel and resort.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

Our family stayed in the Beach Hotel for one night stopover before going on to Kariega Game Reserve. The hotel is in a good safe location, easy to find from the main roads and right beside the Boardwalk entertainment complex which offers cinemas/ restaurants/ casino/ kids fairground rides.

Our family room had a double bed and bunks which the kids loved. However we had a view of the delivery yard on one side and the kitchens on the other- but hey we were only there overnight and we got a good price.

Reception and breakfast service was a bit off hand and I get the impression that this place is geared more to groups who are out all day on coach tours rather than the individual traveller. That said it was clean and comfortable and not a bad size room for a family.

We took some Tripadvisor advice and skipped the chain restaurants at the Boardwalk and the hotel formal place and went across the road to Blue Water Cafe which was excellent value and very relaxed for good food and service.

As a safe and convenient place to stay it was fine, but I wouldn't want to be spending too long there or using it as a benchmark for South African hospitality and service which was much better elsewhere on our trip.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Situated in PRIME POSITION on Port Elizabeth's Beachfront, This four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities, a stunning pool deck and 3 superb restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.