We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Port Elizabeth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in Port Elizabeth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nicely situated with clean rooms, friendly staff and good restaurant. With Hobie beach directly across the road and the Boardwalk entertainment centre and casino next door, you will not find a better positioned Hotel in Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    51
    10
    10
See reviews for
32
83
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When I arrived at this hotel I was not expecting much. It is a little off the track for me, as I normally stay at well known chains.
On arrival, I was expecting a very average stay ... 1st impressions eh?
How wrong was I! The staff are amazing, the decor is wonderfully thought out, the location is wonderful for a holiday or a business trip, the rooms are big, clean with perfect amenities.
The hotel had such a soothing effect on me, i really did not want to go and do any work.
One of my per peeves is Internet access at hotels, well The beach Hotel had some of the best connectivity I have ever had at a hotel.
I really cant fault it, and highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Check in was efficient and quick. Although everyone seems to want a copy of our identity nowadays. Room is spacious, neat and clean. Aircon, LCD TV, bar fridge, desk, lounge chairs. The toilet is dripping which might be annoying this evening.

It is close to the beach and the casino. Which is convenient. But I am in room 1 which is also close to the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for. One on the first floor. Better view if see facing and more 'above' the traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxim, MS
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location, but too old, rooms and lobby needs a urgent renovation. Staff good, everything was clean. There are too restaurants inside the building. Parking and Internet are free. In front of the hotel there is a park, where you can walk. Not a bad choice, but I would look for a newer hotel next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Compared with other hotels we stayed in during out holiday in South Africa the Beach Hotel felt quite ordinary. Having said that, our room was perfectly adequate, reasonable size, comfortable bed and we could just about see the sea from our window. The breakfast was good with the option of selecting cooked breakfast from a menu. Well located across the road from the beach and pier and with a modern retail area next door. Plenty of eating places near by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from lengthy stay in South Africa which included 2 day stay in Beach Hotel. This hotel has a nice comfortable feel about it. It doesn't look very big from the outside however this is fairly deceptive. Bedrooms well appointed, spotlessly clean, food very reasonably priced. Ginger Restaurant which is very popular in the resort is actually part of the hotel. The location is great, next to the new convention centre, full of restaurants and fast foods, shops and casino and middle of beach area. The outstanding thing for me was the staff. The General Manager is constantly about, talking to the guests, his staff are so friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel, is not all glitzy and fancy that some other hotels have, this is comfortable and friendly.

Room Tip: Book Ginger Restaurant in advance. Don't just turn up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgmond, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is our second visit to beach hotel. It is just as good as we remembered. It has sea views a beautiful veranda for snacks and the most beautiful view.The rooms have everything you need. The staff are so helpful. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Situated in PRIME POSITION on Port Elizabeth's Beachfront, This four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities, a stunning pool deck and 3 superb restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.