We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff in The Friendly City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff in The Friendly City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We visited this hotel on what has to be one of the busiest weekends - Ironman SA, so had no great expectations but we couldnt have been more wrong! The Beach Hotel has without doubt The friendliest and most helpful staff of any hotel we have ever stayed. This started from the minute we arrived with a handshake from the Porter to every single member of staff, whether they were serving in one of the restaurants, cleaning the room or simply passing by in the passage - very impressive! The rooms are well...hotel rooms, but spotlessly clean and in our case thankfully not sea-facing but nicely tucked away in a courtyard, otherwise we wouldnt have got any peace with the festivities taking place on the beachfront. The bufet breakfasts were extremly good and we ate in the hotel restaurant Ginger both nights. The wine selection is good, the steaks were sublime, the calamari could be spiced up a bit more, the Lamb shanks succulent and once again suberb service - what more could one want!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    51
    10
    10
See reviews for
32
83
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very typical old style city hotel. Excellent position overlooking the sea, and the food was very good, as was the service.

Room Tip: Ideally sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked this hotel as the last one on our tour, purely from a practical point. It is situated in an area where we could do a lot of last-minute activities, close to the airport, and not too expensive. After 2 weeks in SA staying in 4 to 5 star guest houses and lodges, and after reading the reviews on trip-advisor, we were not expecting too much of the hotel, but all our fears turned out to be unfounded.

The reception staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The rooms decorated in typical "hotel flair" were all clean and comfortable. We were lucky in that we all had ocean view rooms.

The hotel has a good bar outside on the terrace, and even though it took 40 minutes for our cocktails to arrive we had a good time sitting there watching people and traffic passing.

Although the hotel as a swimming pool, it is located in the front part of the hotel where all the other high-rises look down on. It is also not very inviting. Although it is clean, it doesn't seemed to be used often, only 3 plastic deck chairs standing around, and no towels provided at the pool itself.

Breakfast is a generous buffet.

I could not really recommend the hotel for more than 2 nights though, but it is perfect as a stopover.

One place to avoid though is the in-house restaurant, Ginger. Over priced food, snotty service and badly cooked meals, ruined our last night on the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, the other rooms look out on other buildings and even a building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We rang to reserve but computer system down so we had to arrive and then work out with staff which rooms were available- just one of those things. However we did therefore look at three rooms so can comment that rooms on ground floor at back are not very nice. We were offered first floor with balcony overlooking the sea which was a nice room but on walking back down to reception we were told it had been taken. We ended up in room 2 - ground floor overlooking sea. Nice enough but a bit tired. Ate in hotel restaurant-ginger. This was lovely and we only had to walk back to our room afterwards.

Breakfast was good-but self service. I had expected a hotel of this level to have done hot breakfast to order.

Room Tip: Definitely stay at the front for the light and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Not much to say other than an average commercial hotel, mix of business, family and travellers, needed a nights accomodation after travelling the Garden Route to get a flight to Durban, 10 minutes from airport. Staff friendly and breakfast food average. Nothing to see or do that we could find, as I said a place to get your head down for the night. PS if you are on the ground floor there is a door in your room which leads to an outside patio, check this as ours was left unlocked on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Hotel in February. We were given a lovely room, with a balcony, that looked out on the ocean. The breakfast each morning was very good. We thought we would try their seafood buffet which was a big disappointment - basically Hake done three different ways. The onsite restaurant had excellent food and I would highly recommend it.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. We did request a wake-up call on two separate occasions and both times we did not receive the wake up call. The location beside the boardwalk was excellent. I would highly recommend staying at the Beach Hotel if you visit Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Had an upgrade to a sea view room with balcony, was great. Food was excellent, staff very helpful, next door to the Boardwalk centre, no noise or problems, great place to have a walk in the evenings. Ignore people who say the Casino is noisy, its not!

Room Tip: Ask for an ungrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Situated in PRIME POSITION on Port Elizabeth's Beachfront, This four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities, a stunning pool deck and 3 superb restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.