We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We rang to reserve but computer system down so we had to arrive and then work out with staff which rooms were available- just one of those things. However we did therefore look at three rooms so can comment that rooms on ground floor at back are not very nice. We were offered first floor with balcony overlooking the sea which was a nice room but on walking back down to reception we were told it had been taken. We ended up in room 2 - ground floor overlooking sea. Nice enough but a bit tired. Ate in hotel restaurant-ginger. This was lovely and we only had to walk back to our room afterwards.

Breakfast was good-but self service. I had expected a hotel of this level to have done hot breakfast to order.

Room Tip: Definitely stay at the front for the light and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    45
    9
    9
See reviews for
32
73
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Not much to say other than an average commercial hotel, mix of business, family and travellers, needed a nights accomodation after travelling the Garden Route to get a flight to Durban, 10 minutes from airport. Staff friendly and breakfast food average. Nothing to see or do that we could find, as I said a place to get your head down for the night. PS if you are on the ground floor there is a door in your room which leads to an outside patio, check this as ours was left unlocked on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Hotel in February. We were given a lovely room, with a balcony, that looked out on the ocean. The breakfast each morning was very good. We thought we would try their seafood buffet which was a big disappointment - basically Hake done three different ways. The onsite restaurant had excellent food and I would highly recommend it.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. We did request a wake-up call on two separate occasions and both times we did not receive the wake up call. The location beside the boardwalk was excellent. I would highly recommend staying at the Beach Hotel if you visit Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Had an upgrade to a sea view room with balcony, was great. Food was excellent, staff very helpful, next door to the Boardwalk centre, no noise or problems, great place to have a walk in the evenings. Ignore people who say the Casino is noisy, its not!

Room Tip: Ask for an ungrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We arrived at the Beach Hotel after some problems with missed flights etc. We had missed our first night at the hotel. The check in was quick and much to our surprise we were given a one bedroom suite on the ground floor with a view of the water. The hotel is an older hotel but our room had obviously been renovated. The bathroom was amazing with a huge glassed shower, beautiful soaker tub etc. Breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. It was really nice to sit on the patio at the bar looking over the water. The location is great for walking up and down the beach.
THE STAFF are amazing!! The company we had booked a tour with didn't show up and we couldn't seem to contact them. The ladies at the front desk took it upon themselves to try to contact someone for us. The manager saw us sitting there and also stepped in to help even offering us a drink while we waited. They made calls for almost an hour finally getting something sorted out for us. They went above and beyond to help us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

On a last minute business trip, I decided to make a trip of it and took my mother along for a bit of a treat. As a person in the media industry that travels a lot, Ive stayed in numerous hotels.
The staff are extremely helpful and make you feel at home. The location is amazing but sadly the room was such a disappointment, i was frankly shocked! The room looks more like a relic from the 1970's than a 4 star hotel.
The tv was old and akward pushed in the corner. But the biggest disappointment was the bathroom it is small, outdated and tacky.
I had phoned a head of time to make the front desk aware of the fact that my mother has health problems and that they should take that in account when booking us a room. They did give us a room on ground floor it was on an extension of the hotel with a court yard that looked so tired and badly kept, leaves and dirt everywhere and a broken fountain in the middle.
We were astounded to find no fridge in the room, this was a first for us as my mom is a diabetic this was rather distressing as we had no where to keep her insulin over night.

The breakfast was lovely but unfortunately I kept wondering how this hotel got a 4 star rating with rooms that are so old, tired and outdated. ( I assume all the rooms have a shower in the bath with a tacky shower curtain) Our toilet also refused to flush and needed strong arming.
The box sheet was ill fitting and the bedding old, the comforter at the end of the bed was dirty. The curtains also need to be washed and updated.

Overall the friendly staff and view made the experience pleasant but as i drove away from the hotel, I couldnt help thinking what a great disappointment it was.

Sadly I wont stay there again but will definately be back for a cocktail on the terrace.

Room Tip: Dont stay at the court yard area it looks sad, old and outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West,England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here two nights, and found it most agreeable . . . has 3 restaurants also, only tried Ginger, but that too was .. The hotel arranged bike hire for us, which was nice, and biking is easy on the flat sea front. The views were great, and the staff friendly. The room was clean, and couldn't have asked for more with brekky

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Situated in PRIME POSITION on Port Elizabeth's Beachfront, This four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities, a stunning pool deck and 3 superb restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.